Strategy The future...

• Thread starter Thread starter beetz

I reckon we are too nice.

Seriously we need to get rid of these underperforming good blokes and bring in some arrogant flogs into our team.

Arrogant players are unlikely to choke because their always full of confidence. Why do you think Hawthorn are so bloody good for so long?

Pav, Fyfe and Sandilands in the forward line at all times, despite the dysfunctional midfield. Taberner dropped to WAFL until serious improvement. (Apeness new Man)

Griffin permanent ruck unless injured. Barlow and Mundy purely in and unders, De Boer full time tagger and Hill, Bennell, Morabito and Sheridan outside burst and forward entry specialists.

Silvagni always plays regardless of conditions, and minimum of at least 3 Peel primers in at all times.

**** the new shoot out or blow out AFL policy. Choke the ball, create the turnover, apply the pressure and play the brand of Footy every wanknut hates. Concede 8 and kick 10 on GF day and give the Middle to every pasty Victorian neckbeard in the stands.

Pav, Fyfe and Sandilands in the forward line at all times, despite the dysfunctional midfield. Taberner dropped to WAFL until serious improvement. (Apeness new Man)

Griffin permanent ruck unless injured. Barlow and Mundy purely in and unders, De Boer full time tagger and Hill, Bennell, Morabito and Sheridan outside burst and forward entry specialists.

Silvagni always plays regardless of conditions, and minimum of at least 3 Peel primers in at all times.

**** the new shoot out or blow out AFL policy. Choke the ball, create the turnover, apply the pressure and play the brand of Footy every wanknut hates. Concede 8 and kick 10 on GF day and give the Middle to every pasty Victorian neckbeard in the stands.
Unfortunately some of our best weapons have been blunted.

Can't allow the ball to go out of bounds without making a reasonable effort to keep it in - limits our ability to create boundary stoppages.

Can't "guard the mark" any more. If we try to bring the manic pressure we used to bring we will be conceding 50 metre penalties all over the place.

The tackler is no longer rewarded, it is quite acceptable to throw the ball out of a congested stoppage, so again while we are all pressuring the ball carrier they only need to get it out "somehow" and they are clear.

No sub rule and interchange cap means that we just can't tear from end to end of the ground creating outnumbers - that is exactly why the AFL introduced these rules. If that doesn't stop the "flood" they will reduce the cap further until they do. The teams who can make the ball do most of the work (i.i. skillful teams) will be able to score very heavily when the game open up due to fatigue. If we are not one of those teams we will be easy to beat. Mark my words, 80 points will rarely beat a good team with the new rules.

Our biggest weapon - Sandi - is not allowed to touch an opposition ruckman for fear of hurting them (had to throw that one in).

I hate this unaccountable style of footy they are building, but that is what is coming. If we think we can continue to play test cricket in a T20 world we are dreaming.

Brisbane kicked the so called magic 100 points against WC. Didn't help them.
West Coast kicked 166? from memory. I have always said the 100 points per game average is a crock, but if the rules allow teams to score more, we have to score more - preferably at least one more than the opposition!

Even with us bringing the average down there were 1,748 points scored this week versus 1,558 round 1 last year - up by 12%.

I think you will see this trend continue and probably even increase as teams get used to the new rules. We need to learn to adapt and I think that is why we were so bad on the weekend - it is a huge change from our old game plan to a more relevant one.

Can't allow the ball to go out of bounds without making a reasonable effort to keep it in - limits our ability to create boundary stoppages.

Can't "guard the mark" any more. If we try to bring the manic pressure we used to bring we will be conceding 50 metre penalties all over the place.

The tackler is no longer rewarded, it is quite acceptable to throw the ball out of a congested stoppage, so again while we are all pressuring the ball carrier they only need to get it out "somehow" and they are clear.

No sub rule and interchange cap means that we just can't tear from end to end of the ground creating outnumbers - that is exactly why the AFL introduced these rules. If that doesn't stop the "flood" they will reduce the cap further until they do. The teams who can make the ball do most of the work (i.i. skillful teams) will be able to score very heavily when the game open up due to fatigue. If we are not one of those teams we will be easy to beat. Mark my words, 80 points will rarely beat a good team with the new rules.

Our biggest weapon - Sandi - is not allowed to touch an opposition ruckman for fear of hurting them (had to throw that one in).

I hate this unaccountable style of footy they are building, but that is what is coming. If we think we can continue to play test cricket in a T20 world we are dreaming.
It does appear as though the goalposts have changed on us. It will be interesting to see how quickly we can adapt. I think that Ross is clever enough to do this.

Me too wafti123, which is why I think all the negativity is a bit over the top. I am backing Ross and the team to make the right changes and hopefully to get us back towards the top this year. Even happy if we slide a little, provided we can see a clear direction that will take us forward.

I think Ross is smart enough that he won't just try to clone the Hawks style, but take the best parts of the football being played by the top sides and create a new Fremantle brand of footy.

I think the problem on the weekend is that they played so badly it was hard to see ANY game style, other than chasing Bullies tail!

Very good summary, it's all driven by the Victorians, in saying that we new rule changes were coming so I hope we set our game plan and drafting to that. This week could tell us plenty.

Me too wafti123, which is why I think all the negativity is a bit over the top. I am backing Ross and the team to make the right changes and hopefully to get us back towards the top this year. Even happy if we slide a little, provided we can see a clear direction that will take us forward.

I think Ross is smart enough that he won't just try to clone the Hawks style, but take the best parts of the football being played by the top sides and create a new Fremantle brand of footy.

I think the problem on the weekend is that they played so badly it was hard to see ANY game style, other than chasing Bullies tail!

They were stuck in the middle of the old game plane morphing into the new plan. I remember our first season under Ross when we where branded un watchable until we gelled and won our first final on the MCG.

Remember that derby when we got absolutely pumped! I thought that was as badly as I have ever seen us play, and from that point on it seemed to all gel and we went on to make finals.

I'm hoping last week was our "derby" game and that the players have learned a lot form that.

I just watched the second quarter of last weeks abomination.
despite the commentators over the top fapping about how good the Dogs were (and they were) we weren't quite as awful as I thought.
There were a couple of absolute howlers that made it looks worse than it was.

Spurr squared a ball straight to them when we were on the attack. ball went back to their end.
Mzungu kicked it over someones head on our next attack. ball went back to their end.
Pav dropped a chest mark and Fyfe was gang tackled on the spillage. ball went back to their end.
Mayne missed 2 set shots after good lead up marks. the second one we were robbed.
Spurr kicked it straight to Suckling from the kick in. He really shouldn't be kicking in.

In general we didn't do too bad a job of it and had we not been 7 goals down after starting the game asleep would have turned even (ish).

Having said that the skills were generally dire and the amount of shots they manufactured on goal is worrying. They have some great young players and our backline hasn't gelled.

The response this week will be fascinating.

Just a thought, is there going to be many Ruck type players coming through this years draft that we will look at targeting?

Sandilands has only got so much fuel left in his tank, Griffin is nearing the same outcome, Clarke has some serious knee issues that has really put him out for long periods of time, and that leaves us with...well, Jack Hannath. Our midfield is going to be a powerhouse for years to come after Sandi takes his leave I think a considerably decent ruckman would really be what pushes our midfield from A-grade to Elite as we've seen with Sandilands in control of ruck divisions.

Just a thought, is there going to be many Ruck type players coming through this years draft that we will look at targeting?

Sandilands has only got so much fuel left in his tank, Griffin is nearing the same outcome, Clarke has some serious knee issues that has really put him out for long periods of time, and that leaves us with...well, Jack Hannath. Our midfield is going to be a powerhouse for years to come after Sandi takes his leave I think a considerably decent ruckman would really be what pushes our midfield from A-grade to Elite as we've seen with Sandilands in control of ruck divisions.

Yep, our ruck brigade is a concern going forward. What I would give for a Blicsav type ruckman. Outside of drafting ruck sticks the other alternative is to just top up yearly like Hawks and Cats did wth guys like Ottens, Hale, Bailey etc..

I personally don't think Griff is going to be up to it after this year plus who knows if Clarke will even be here after this season. Hannath I won't even go into.

Current age in brackets.

B Sutcliffe (23) Collins (21) Ibbotson (28)
HB Tucker (19) A.Pearce (20) E.Hughes (20)
C Sheridan (22) Fyfe (24) Hill (25)
HF Weller (20) Taberner (22) Blakely (20)
FF Ballantyne (28) McCarthy (20) Walters (25)

R Clarke (26) Neale (22) Bennell (23)

Int Morabito (24) Langdon (20) Spurr (28) Grey (20)

Updated future team... OUT: Hooker, Suban IN: Hughes, Grey

Errrr are you joking? This is the reason we are in the situation we are – constant fear of the negative outcomes of change, and being happy with a mediocre status quo. Ross Lyon has for far too long persisted with this mentality and it's flawed – his history shows it.

Gee if a 17 win season is mediocre I hate to know what you'd label 0-5.

And to say that Ross doesn't play the young blokes is nonsense. Who has been tearing it up in the WAFL and under 23 and not getting a game the last few years?

I reckon we are too nice.

Seriously we need to get rid of these underperforming good blokes and bring in some arrogant flogs into our team.

Arrogant players are unlikely to choke because their always full of confidence. Why do you think Hawthorn are so bloody good for so long?

arrogance, confidence, and skills are different things. confidence is just mindset and trust. when you know what you can do, you know what your teammate will do, you know where they will be, and what the next steps are, it's simple to be confident. a good system builds that.

being an arrogant flog doesn't make you a better performer or a better team player. just makes you more likely to 'take it upon yourself' when shit hits the fan, and buck the game plan and do your own thing - none of which serve the team, and only accelerates the erosion.

what we need are players who have the skills for the game plan. Or a game plan that suits the skills of the players. We had both in 2013 - players committed 100%, gave great effort, and we had flow. The players haven't lost their skills overnight. They just haven't clicked, and it's causing indecision and mistakes.

Current age in brackets.

B Sutcliffe (23) Collins (21) Ibbotson (28)
HB Tucker (19) A.Pearce (20) E.Hughes (20)
C Sheridan (22) Fyfe (24) Hill (25)
HF Weller (20) Taberner (22) Blakely (20)
FF Ballantyne (28) McCarthy (20) Walters (25)

R Clarke (26) Neale (22) Bennell (23)

Int Morabito (24) Langdon (20) Spurr (28) Grey (20)

Updated future team... OUT: Hooker, Suban IN: Hughes, Grey
To be honest that isn't a bad side to develop for 2-4 more years. Replace tabs with a gun kpf in the draft or a 190cm quick med forward however or bontempelli type and it would look good

Errrr are you joking? This is the reason we are in the situation we are – constant fear of the negative outcomes of change, and being happy with a mediocre status quo. Ross Lyon has for far too long persisted with this mentality and it's flawed – his history shows it.

Football is also unlike Premier League soccer. The future is important. Every club can win a flag in the AFL, unlike the EPL, and no club can just buy million dollar players who are proven, ad nauseam. It is a great quirk of the sport and league. You need to worry about the future – even Hawthorn do.
Leicester city need 1 more win to win the EPL title. Blackburn won it in 1994-5 too.

To be honest that isn't a bad side to develop for 2-4 more years. Replace tabs with a gun kpf in the draft or a 190cm quick med forward however or bontempelli type and it would look good

Yeah, it's a decent core. Obviously there's every chance we'll lose a few more such as Mayne, Clarke maybe Neale etc. Biggest hole is Ruck imo.

Tabs out, Apeness at FF, McCarthy to CHF? Get rid of Balla and throw in Petrovski-Seton :) (or Yarran maybe). Blakely in the middle, Bennell on the wing. Walters to HFF and Crozier as FP. It's not the end of the world for us.

I rather bennell as a forward flanker. People wanted him as a guy in a wing. For some reason a I saw bennell as a ballantyne replacement but again on a flank

Yeah in the middle, on a wing, on a forward flank - it doesn't really matter, we'd likely rotate him around all three throughout a game.