The game will eat itself

• Thread starter Thread starter oxx

for me the game is losing its appeal because players are being drafted because they can run fast and jump high, however they couldnt hit a target to save their lives. richmonds problem, and that of most of the other teams in the league, is that 75% of their players can't hit targets over 20 metres, therefore turning games into nothing but unforced errors that is reminiscent of under 10's footy.

clubs (and this will never happen due to the speed of the game and rule changes to continually speed it up) need to start drafting players that, while they might not be the fittest or fastest, can at least kick a ball effectively to a team mate. this will make the game more appealling and score levels will start getting higher again. (back to the days of skills, not speed)

the "rolling zone" would be ineffective against said skilled teams because this zone doesnt necessarily mean man-on-man, and a skilled team would be able to hit an unmarked teammate.

1 last point - the fact that the average age of teams is 23 means that lists are made up of VERY inexperienced players. which means that they arent smart enough to run smart, instead they run like headless chooks chasing the ball. smart running comes with age.

in summary - footballers should be drafted (not athletes that have very basic skills) and teams need to keep players longer than 3 years, as some people are late developers(maybe this is a list numbers issue that the AFL need to look at)

this is only what i have noticed in the last couple of years and i may be totally off, but thats what i think.

I watch nearly every AFL game I can and we are by far the worst for foot skills and sloppy disposal. Even Melbourne can use it better than us at times.. besides, disposal isn't the problem. If you want the real problem at the moment, it's called flooding / zoning. Teams aren't going to be able to run freely and score heavily if there is constantly 20 players surrounding them.

This Zones thing is crap. Its hard for the AFL to control clubs using a 'tactic'. The only way I can think of is some sort of an off-side rule. No idea how it would work though since they flood the middle of the ground.

Well as for the game turning into a non contact sport. Well that is the AFL's fault. The hands in the back the rewording of the 'bump' I mean come on. Some of these 'rules' are just bull shit.

As said above, If we don't win the flag than it has to be the Cats. For the sake of the game.

It is sad, I agree. I turned off many games last year and watched the NAB cup opener this year for 5 mins before getting completely bored and frustrated.

I cannot forfeit my love for the game though. This is mainly due to the fact I play, and every minute of it I am reminded about how great our game can be.

It will change. If the current trend continues and more and more people voice their outrage it will simply not be ignored. Footy in this country will never die. The AFL cannot afford to have the average footy fan walk away from the game.

Well, might as well be hung for a sheep than a lamb, so here goes...

Personally I'd rather go back to 12...but this will be the future:

A summer International Rules League including all AFL clubs...clubs can choose full squads of non-contracted players if they so choose. Each club must design a specific Gaelic Football style guernsey for this comp. (more merchandising opportunities)
The competition will be divided in to a 4 groups of 5 playing each other once in a round robin. Top 2 in each group advance to quarter-finals.

Now have at me if you like, though none of this tops Cogga's assertion that there are currently SANFL teams averaging crowds of 30,000 +.....

Great effort Mario... forgive me, just cut out the bulk to save room, but read the lot and good effort.:thumbsu:

Personally, l dont like the split by zones, but hey, am open to it. I think if we were to create a split in the league and reduce the numbers, l'd prefer to go to a premier league format and have two comps and a relegation/promotion battle. Only thing l cant get my head around with 2 comps, is the draft and how that would work... maybe with free bargaining, it would open this up. :confused:

Being over in London for the last 3.5 years, l reckon l came away with the love for the game and l reckon l enjoyed the relegation battle more than l did for any other part of the game. And l am a MAD Liverpool supporter.

I like the idea of a seperate a seperate comp, rather than the pre-season too. Like the FA Cup style... but not sure if the will to win would be any greater than the Wizzar Cup.

May not agree, but well done, good job :thumbsu:

Now have at me if you like, though none of this tops Cogga's assertion that there are currently SANFL teams averaging crowds of 30,000 +.....

Oh... ps.... bwahahahahahaha... what a clown. 30,000... lets see him do his research to back that one up.

One thing Cogga doesnt know... is research. Abuses everyone elses, but then backs his own fictional theories to support a nothing argument.

Clap, Clap, Clap.

:rolleyes:

It's 2009 and our anticipation for the opening season was quenched,supposedly tantalised, by an amoral wench known as the NAB cup.

The NAB cup purely represents a generation of administrative blunders and an overall admission that there is no planned direction,let alone any reality attatched to the conceived future of our game.

The AFL claims that the pre season competition allows them to,"road test" rule changes that the game demands, yet they fail to make any significant inroads on improving what has become an ugly,recreational circus of rolling zones and backward hand-balling.

Andrew Dimitriou has conducted himself in a manner that one would expect a rich yet adversly educated, egomaniac to - making unqualified decisions on matters otherwise vital to the longevity of Australian Rules,treating the game as a product of his own device with clearly nothing more important than his personal agenda$ and foolishly substituting the nurturing of the games soul with revenue raising and corporate advertising.

There are no immediate fixes in sight and chances of long term solutions are diminishing quickly under the current rogue governments scheme, or lack of.

One thing is clear.

The powers that be are powerless and are now idly sitting by,biding their time bathing in ignorance and financial gain while the essence of their professional being flounders at an all time low,consistently deteriorating from a once original, exciting sporting medium into a frenzied talk-back radio topic of dismay and cultural disappointment.

They should be publicly crucified for their inability to resolve the current dilemma,one created by their own obtuse outlook.

Change shouldn't mean total transformation.

End rant.

Eloquent Oxx.... *applause* Well written. :cool:
What the frig has happened to the your old style?
It seems like 'William Shakespeare ate Al Bundy'!!!

Totally agree...I was talking to a mate the other day and we were chewing the fat over the fact that we now have that many rules that as one mass they are actually hurting the game, not making the game more pleasing.

Where's the long kicking? (not a few, many)
Where's the pack mark? (not a few, many)
Blokes getting good at a position, not 22 midfielders!

As a group, the AFL have brought the game into disrepute.

Zones are from other games, why do we need them?
Do we limit guys to certain areas?
Why can't players, play entire games?
The game is fast, but fast at doing what, holding onto the ball? Possession at all costs?

I don't have the answer, but we need a think-tank, other than those morons at the AFL to save the game.

Otherwise, we'll end up cultivating a bastardized version of basketball in this country.
And aren't we loving Basketball in this country at the moment?

------------------------------------------------------------
And bring back the centre diamond.....for the hell of it!

Although I am def no fan of Vlad and the puppet, do you guys really think they are to blame for the way AFL is being played these days?

AFL coaches who need results to keep their jobs are the problem. They only have interest in their own financial security, and not for the good of the game, and who can really blame them.

And a tenacious little prick like Al Clarkson will do anything he can to prove that he can make it, taking anything down with him that he has to..... including the game of Aussie Rules.

I blame Cam Mooney for the whole thing. If he kicks straight, Cats win, and the other 15 coaches (sheep) don't think that zoning is a way to win a flag.

Although I am def no fan of Vlad and the puppet, do you guys really think they are to blame for the way AFL is being played these days?

AFL coaches who need results to keep their jobs are the problem. They only have interest in their own financial security, and not for the good of the game, and who can really blame them.

And a tenacious little prick like Al Clarkson will do anything he can to prove that he can make it, taking anything down with him that he has to..... including the game of Aussie Rules.

I blame Cam Mooney for the whole thing. If he kicks straight, Cats win, and the other 15 coaches (sheep) don't think that zoning is a way to win a flag.

I blame Ottens. He's a ****. :thumbsu:

Point being,zone footy is pathetic and simply not in the spirit of the game.
The afl has had years to develop a rule or ruling that such structured rape of the game not be acceptable but instead have busted out such gems in the pre season rule testing comp as

9 point goal.
No backward kicking.
Touch the man after he marks and be penalised with a 50 metre penalty

and **** knows what else over the years.......

In other words they silently endorsed every ploy that ultimately has now ****ed the game by doing nothing but play soggy biscuit in the board room.while roos,clarkson and other self centered egomaniacs ordered death footy.

Oh... ps.... bwahahahahahaha... what a clown. 30,000... lets see him do his research to back that one up.

One thing Cogga doesnt know... is research. Abuses everyone elses, but then backs his own fictional theories to support a nothing argument.

Clap, Clap, Clap.

man, didnt really suggest that SANFL crowds top 30K average. Just suggested that there are quite a few games there that rival games involving the roos and some other shitful pulling crowd. i.e. two top teams from that comp would pull more crowd than tow middle of the road teams,or bottom of the barrel teams from the AFL comp. Unless of course the AFL conjures up fixtures to make the "average" for all teams look good to you fool. I mean, when it comes to the roos v tigers, and the crowd number is 35K, what component of that number are roos? Or you might want to talk about Melbourne or the perennial crowd puller in the dogs. They are all in the same shithole. If you can dispute that then you have NFI. Port Adelaide in the SANFL would average the same as those 3 if they had a team in the comp FFS. ;)

Well, might as well be hung for a sheep than a lamb, so here goes...

Personally I'd rather go back to 12...but this will be the future:

A summer International Rules League including all AFL clubs...clubs can choose full squads of non-contracted players if they so choose. Each club must design a specific Gaelic Football style guernsey for this comp. (more merchandising opportunities)
The competition will be divided in to a 4 groups of 5 playing each other once in a round robin. Top 2 in each group advance to quarter-finals.

NAB expanded into FA cup style midweek comp. that runs until June with a weekend final. 20 AFL clubs & 12 top clubs from lower division will compete in a knock-out format. 1st round will be pre-season. Clubs can recruit non-contracted specialists on match payments specifically for cup and-excluding round one- can play no more than 12 players from previous premiership game , but now fewer than 8 (including interchange)

Main Premiership
20 teams
5 Divisions

BIG 4 Division : Rich, Coll , Carl, Ess
Southern Division: Melb, Geelong , Tassie , Canberra
Metro Division: Haw, St.K, WB, North
Western Division: WCE, Freo, Port, Adel.
Northern Division: Syd, W.Syd, Bris, GC

(A seeding system based on the previous years position would be fairer, however this system insures that all big drawing rivalries are played at least twice.)

This will be a 6 game H& A qualifying round for the Premiership , points & percentage will carry over to avoid dead rubbers. The top two in each division will qualify for the Premiership Group A and the bottom two will be relegated to Premiership group B. These groups will consist of two 10 sides each playing an 18 game H&A season. The top 6 teams of Group A will qualify for the first 6 second chance spots in the final 10. The top 4 in Group B will qualify for the sudden death positions of 7-10 in the finals. The top 2 of Group A will get the first week off...the first week will be 3 v 6, 4 v 5, 7 v 10 & 8 v 9(Go Tiges!:o)

24 rounds + 1 extra week of finals.

Extended bench of 6. Expanded lists of 50 (2 seniors , 2 rookies 2 international development players ...with the international players to be partly funded by the AFL.)

State of Origin re-instated every second year....2 weeks.....Victoriav Allies , SAv WA ...winners to play, final losers to play for 3rd place.

Salary cap socialist crap scrapped after cartel of big clubs win court case. :thumbsu:
Draft lottery introduced for first round. Ascending prize money for respective ladder finishes, second round as per usual, third round positions 20-11 reversed (11th gets first pick, 20th get's 9th...10th -1st as per usual)

First & second round draftees can nominate preferred club. If preferred club chooses draftee they must to pay club that would've picked said draftee the equivalent of standard draftee contract + 20% and give up pick from second or third round to that club for that year and the next. Each club can only do this once every two years.

Professionals from the United States will be bought in to help improve the quality of merchandising.

Full mirrored reserves & U'19 comps. will be re-established. To ensure consistancy with the seniors fixtures, this will only commence after the qualifying rounds.

The SANFL & WAFL will merge into the SWFL, which will consist of two divisions in a relegation/ promotion format.

The winners of the SWFL will play the VFL premiers and a new fully professional EFL (NSW& QLD ) in a try series for the AFL 2 Premiership. The VFA, TFL, QAFL & NSWFL premiers will play off for the AFL 3 Premiership. In AFL 3 ...to avoid blow outs common to lower level footy...a catch-up option will be instituted...wher by if a team is ahead by certain number of goals after half time, they must lose two players...the losing team's scoring values will be doubled , the team that is leading will be awarded 4 points and retain it's percentage, if they still win they recieve a bonus point and the winning margin is asdde to their percentage. If the losing team wins they will be awarded 3 premiership points instead of 4.
Delayed coverage of AFL 2 and highlights packages of AFL 3 must be a minimum condition of broadcasting rights contracts.

Professional and innovative merchandise of lower league teams will be heavily pushed onto the public...sold to footy fans and ironic hipsters alike.

All AFL merchandise will be heavily promoted overseas...marketed to sporting fans and hipsters alike.

The percieved hardness and "insanity" of our game will be accentuated to the unitiated overseas punters, as that is what they-particularly the seppos- are attracted to about the game.

gee man, that is some kind of idea. How good are you huh? I mean just do what the NBA do in the US and we are good huh?
I mean we arent doing what the US are doing as we speak, with salary caps and drafts are we? And everything is looking good?
Our population cant sustain something that is a copy of a plan that is geared for a population that is 10 times ours stupid. ;)

man, didnt really suggest that SANFL crowds top 30K average. Just suggested that there are quite a few games there that rival games involving the roos and some other shitful pulling crowd.

As you said to me... do you research and show me the figures clown. Sick of you bloody "suggesting"... come on, lets have em hero. I want 30,000 crowds and on a regular basis... "Suggest", you always suggest. Pfff... "didnt really mean". Sounds like a petty school kid. Next l'll here, "l was only joking dude" ;)

i.e. two top teams from that comp would pull more crowd than tow middle of the road teams,or bottom of the barrel teams from the AFL comp. Unless of course the AFL conjures up fixtures to make the "average" for all teams look good to you fool.

Of course the AFL has fixed the fixture... we play a 22 round competition and its maximised to help everyone financially. Big deal... every club has its requests, even Richmond! We asked to have the opening game against Carlton to maximise gate takings. Melbourne asked for Queens Birthday. Even Collingwood asked to play virtually every Friday night game. Every club has its request and it will continue to happen until we play everyone twice. We sold a game to the Gold Coast FFS! We and other clubs will still average around the 30,000 even playing games on some cow paddock in Darwin where they get about 15,000 people. Stop the rant mate, you're embarassing yourself.

Port Adelaide in the SANFL would average the same as those 3 if they had a team in the comp FFS. ;)

The same Port Adelaide that came into the comp a decade ago and is now the 2nd worst side for average crowds? Ok, look forward to the introduction of a 3rd team in Adelaide... when will that happen, the next 10 years as well?

gee man, that is some kind of idea. How good are you huh? I mean just do what the NBA do in the US and we are good huh?
I mean we arent doing what the US are doing as we speak, with salary caps and drafts are we? And everything is looking good?
Our population cant sustain something that is a copy of a plan that is geared for a population that is 10 times ours stupid. ;)

More abuse... class act Cogga, class act.

Speaking of stupid, how'd your trade ideas go in October last year? What was it, Hamish McIntosh for pick 36 and Kayne Pettifer... or some rubbish like that.

Happy to get the thread and show you if like mate. :thumbsu:

More abuse... class act Cogga, class act.

Speaking of stupid, how'd your trade ideas go in October last year? What was it, Hamish McIntosh for pick 36 and Kayne Pettifer... or some rubbish like that.

Happy to get the thread and show you if like mate. :thumbsu:

dude, why dont you find it and bring it up. Anyway, whats the big deal? Like i guess you rate our 'dangerous" HF and think he is worth more? Waiting for the thread dude. Lets put it this way, for petts? i would have traded for anyone, dont care, just like i would have years ago for another super star, in Fiora, or another of the emreging "elite" in Hyde, or the other "dangerous' on baller in Tivendale, or that cagey, cool headed super defender in Chaffey etc etc etc . ;)

Are you the full quid?!? The endictment is on you thinking that North are that stupid to accept your ridiculous ideas and trade proposals, not me over valuing our junk - FFS we wouldve taken a bag of Twisties for a one-legged Pettifer. And you wanted to trade him for an up-and-coming gun ruckman. What planet are you on?

Of course the AFL has fixed the fixture... we play a 22 round competition and its maximised to help everyone financially. Big deal... every club has its requests, even Richmond! We asked to have the opening game against Carlton to maximise gate takings. Melbourne asked for Queens Birthday. Even Collingwood asked to play virtually every Friday night game. Every club has its request and it will continue to happen until we play everyone twice. We sold a game to the Gold Coast FFS! We and other clubs will still average around the 30,000 even playing games on some cow paddock in Darwin where they get about 15,000 people. Stop the rant mate, you're embarassing yourself.

YOu really dont get it do you man? Read what you posted above and see how ridiculous it is when you have every team, "asking" for x,y,z when the AFL is fixing the fixtures. help everyone finacially? help help help, correct?
So you are saying i am ranting? I mean, here we are with the elite comp in the land having teams in it, that sell home games? And you cant see how ridiculous that is, when you look at all the other elite comps in all the rest of the world? Why would a team like the tigers sell their home game against say a Melbourne or a roos? go on, give it yoour best shot dude...you will make yourself look stupid,without even knowing it.

hang on, lets see, i wont go to the nth degree, with Man U, but i will go to the Victory and see if they are going to "sell"their home games and play in Darwin or Canberra. ;)

YOu really dont get it do you man? Read what you posted above and see how ridiculous it is when you have every team, "asking" for x,y,z when the AFL is fixing the fixtures. help everyone finacially? help help help, correct?
So you are saying i am ranting? I mean, here we are with the elite comp in the land having teams in it, that sell home games? And you cant see how ridiculous that is, when you look at all the other elite comps in all the rest of the world? Why would a team like the tigers sell their home game against say a Melbourne or a roos? go on, give it yoour best shot dude...you will make yourself look stupid,without even knowing it. ;)

1. Still waiting for your research, come on lets have em. I dont want you ducking away from your claims of 30,000.

2. Do you think other leagues like the SANFL, VFL, WAFL dont ask at the start of each season what they would prefer fixture wise? Ie. home game on a public holiday, etc, etc. You live in this fantasy land where the AFL is just a corrupt organisation the overrates its own product. And on the other hand every other sporting code in the world does it fairly and squarely and has crowds coming, not because the leaders have doctored the fixtures, but because the brand and product is fantastic.

Why did Cricket Australia have Melbourne and Sydney as the only two venues for the 3 nation cricket finals every summer, for the last 30 odd years?

DUDE, it wasnt the product. :rolleyes:

Are you the full quid?!? The endictment is on you thinking that North are that stupid to accept your ridiculous ideas and trade proposals, not me over valuing our junk - FFS we wouldve taken a bag of Twisties for a one-legged Pettifer. And you wanted to trade him for an up-and-coming gun ruckman. What planet are you on?

man, maybe you didnt overvalue our junk, but going by what alot here suggest about the player in question, i guess i thought the roos might have been that deluded as well. But I still await you finding the thread, where I suggested it.
Have fun. ;)

Cogga... dont worry mate, l'll do some research for you. 30,000 - you are avin a laugh:

http://www.sanfl.com.au/news/sanfl_news/page_8/574/

Keep "suggesting" mate... your continued rants are factless and boring. Do your research champ.

Now, looking forward to the almighty Port Adelaide storming into the AFL on the back of fantastic crowds... 14,000 at a preliminary final is apprently "inspiring".

:D

1. Still waiting for your research, come on lets have em. I dont want you ducking away from your claims of 30,000.

2. Do you think other leagues like the SANFL, VFL, WAFL dont ask at the start of each season what they would prefer fixture wise? Ie. home game on a public holiday, etc, etc. You live in this fantasy land where the AFL is just a corrupt organisation the overrates its own product. And on the other hand every other sporting code in the world does it fairly and squarely and has crowds coming, not because the leaders have doctored the fixtures, but because the brand and product is fantastic.

Why did Cricket Australia have Melbourne and Sydney as the only two venues for the 3 nation cricket finals every summer, for the last 30 odd years?

DUDE, it wasnt the product. :rolleyes:

So in defence of your argument you offer an example of Cricket Australia?
Please point me to any other country where the fixture is doctored in order to get max crowds. Go on fool. USA? England? Germany? anywhere you like dude. ;)

Cogga... dont worry mate, l'll do some research for you. 30,000 - you are avin a laugh:

http://www.sanfl.com.au/news/sanfl_news/page_8/574/

Keep "suggesting" mate... your continued rants are factless and boring. Do your research champ.

Now, looking forward to the almighty Port Adelaide storming into the AFL on the back of fantastic crowds... 14,000 at a preliminary final is apprently "inspiring".

:D

yeah it it is when they look at 19,000 at the elite comp's final.
You see you only look at the figure, not what the figure produced, "record breaking", now look at the what the figure that the AFL final produced, you might see the difference fool. ;)

So in defence of your argument you offer an example of Cricket Australia?
Please point me to any other country where the fixture is doctored in order to get max crowds. Go on fool. USA? England? Germany? anywhere you like dude. ;)

Are the FA trying to bring in a 39th fixture for the season to be played as part of the premiership season that would be played internationally, or are they not? Why Cogga, are the FA considering this introduction over the next few years?

Please tell me they're not trying to increase the frequent flyer points for all the players.

Again Cogga, please... please.... please.... do your research!

yeah it it is when they look at 19,000 at the elite comp's final.
You see you only look at the figure, not what the figure produced, "record breaking", now look at the what the figure that the AFL final produced, you might see the difference fool. ;)

One poor game of 19,000 against year on year "inspiring" crowds of 14,000. You've got to be joking.

Cogga... l've done my reasearch, where's yours? We're still waiting for the holy grail of acceptance. The big 30,000.

Where o where is thou 30,000 o gifted one?

Are the FA trying to bring in a 39th fixture for the season to be played as part of the premiership season that would be played internationally, or are they not? Why Cogga, are the FA considering this introduction over the next few years?

Please tell me they're not trying to increase the frequent flyer points for all the players.

Again Cogga, please... please.... please.... do your research!

why? because they know that the corwds will flock and there is more money to be made. Just like Man U can go and play a practice match against a Jap team and fill the stadium. It has nothing to to do with bolstering crowds dude, its about making more money from the product, because it sells, not because they have to, in an effort to keep clubs surviving. Man you have to be kidding me, you really dont see the difference do you? ;)

One poor game of 19,000 against year on year "inspiring" crowds of 14,000. You've got to be joking.

Cogga... l've done my reasearch, where's yours? We're still waiting for the holy grail of acceptance. The big 30,000.

Where o where is thou 30,000 o gifted one?

incorrect dude. One record breaking low crowd against a record breaking high crowd. ;)