The Game....

STOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRK

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Watts and Natanui.

I'll take beautiful skills over wank factor any day of the week.

I can't comment fairly on his overall game but that kick inside 50 of Peake's in the last few minutes when he could have continued running was frustrating. He is such a good runner of the footy and to deliver inside 50 like that with the room he had in front of him unfortunately gave our forwards no chance.

I'm hoping we don't win another !!
I hope we get number 1 and use it properly...

Nah I hope we never have another number 1 pick in our entire history.

Avoiding the dreaded spoon is way more important than getting first pick. There's still plenty of potential superstars waiting to be picked up from pick 2 onwards.

I'll take beautiful skills over wank factor any day of the week.

Nah I hope we never have another number 1 pick in our entire history.

Avoiding the dreaded spoon is way more important than getting first pick. There's still plenty of potential superstars waiting to be picked up from pick 2 onwards.

Agree wholeheartedly with both of the above sentiments.

Forgot to add;

Broughton = Hayden Mk2 !!!!

Oh for anyone who wanted to know broughton today had

17 Kicks
14 Handballs
31 Disposals
8 Marks
2 Tackles
13 Contested Possesions (The most in our team today) :eek:
87% Effective Disposal
1 Clanger
8 r50's
5 Bounces

What a ripper this kid is ;)

Oh for anyone who wanted to know broughton today had

17 Kicks
14 Handballs
31 Disposals
8 Marks
2 Tackles
13 Contested Possesions (The most in our team today) :eek:
87% Effective Disposal
1 Clanger
8 r50's
5 Bounces

What a ripper this kid is ;)

Easily, by so far it ain't funny - easily our best player today. Those couple of marks he took in the last spoke volumes about his guts as well - especially the first one with Fev thundering out on the lead. ****ing awesome. :thumbsu:

Happy's last game in purple. I watched my buddy pretty closely and he didn't do one thing that gave me that 'yesss' reaction.

Zac Clarke will be everything Tony Micale predicted.
Frodo will find the ring and have a great journey.
Elvis played excellent today.
Wounded knee should be very happy with the new body in No8.
Broughton is a very good player.

Randoms thoughts

I thought Kepler howed abit in the first half anf is safe. Delivery was do bad its difficult to tell in the second.

Gilmore is no good, is tackle on Judd was great but he is well below average. Delist m or trade to Port..

Peake has no concept of time (needs a flux capicitor) and is borderline to be kept (this has been a good year as well for him!)

Clarke will be better than Warnock. There was a 5min part of the game when he was composed and skilled. Great mark.

Suban and Matt DeB are angry and good. Suban knockers please hold off for the rest of the year. He is hard and skilled and just what we needed.

Sandi is elite

Broughton is f'n great

Balla's will be an interesting player to watch, is just what we needed, and will justify the pick.

We need a pp so all in all not a bad day.

10. If we don't win another game for the season, we could end up with the spoon. We will probably lose to Melb in Melb and that would put them on 3 wins... so unless we win another game other than that.... we could finish last :(

What are your thoughts? on mine or Add your own!

I don't think so, your team is miles ahead of Melbourne this year, and I'd say West Coast also.

Despite the loss I am pretty happy

Suban and DeBoer an phsycos and good footballers. All the earlier starting youngsters are visibly growing in confidence every week.

Balla and Clarke were much better this time round obviously knowing what to expect this time. Balla is exciting and Clarke is one cool cat under pressure esppecially for a ruckman. These 2 will be good to watch as I expect them to be even better in the next few games

Ballantyne looks like he is going to be a very exciting player for you guys. Plenty of positives for Fremantle in todays game.

Well congrats to Carlton, in the end were just better than us on the day.

A Couple of things i'd like to discuss;

1. Even though we lost I''m not all that disapointed. In the end i think we just didn't have the legs to get up over them.

2. I think with all the kids and crabs being played our tackling pressure has dropped right off and this probably also has a little to do with the first one in the fact that we are just run off our feet in the end.

3. Expect more 4th quarter disasters to come with all the kids being played.

4. Geez i'm really impressed with some of our younger players, Hill, Suban, Clarke, Ballantyne all had solid games.

5. Even though we don't like them expect to see more of; Gilmore, Bradley, Head, Campbell, Murphy etc. before seasons end.

6. Would not be suprised if we don't win another game unless we start to get some players back. (Crowley/Palmer - Season. Pavlich/Johnson/Solomon/Mayne/Hayden i would expect to play before seasons end)

7. Good on them for winning, but i still hate <injunction>tank.

8. Ballantyne showed us all that he has some excitment about him. Although probably should of hand passed to Peake instead of going to McPharlin. 3 goals and setting up a couple is a good effort for second game.

9. Suban must take Angry pills before each game... LOVE IT! :D

10. If we don't win another game for the season, we could end up with the spoon. We will probably lose to Melb in Melb and that would put them on 3 wins... so unless we win another game other than that.... we could finish last :(

What are your thoughts? on mine or Add your own!

Scope, you trying to hijack my 10 point positives thread??!?? Grrrr...

Seriously, glad someone could find some positives - I'm all done with finding happy thoughts at the moment.

Suban is by far my new favorite player SS!
I love his anger :)
Des..... I dont know what to say really. Was good a one point and the shizzle for much of the other points.... Wasn't a sterling effort by DJ today.
On the plus side:
Broughton was great and has a fair amount of courage going back with the flight.
Suban... ANGRY ANGRY man!
Sandi was dominate b4 getting injured.
Ballas live up to the hype today
Clark did some real good things and seems to have a bit of pace for a bigger player!

Dessie needs to decide if he wants to play on or not - that effort today was not good enough, especially with a young and fired up Balla there to feed off him.

Suban and Hill need a rest, but something tells me they'd both sooner give up the four fingers from their right hands than voluntarily miss a game of AFL. Just the attitude we need IMHO.

I thought the biggest positive was that it was the same old names that popped up and made the same old bonehead mistakes. Gilmore, Dodd, Mundy, Bradley, Thornton and Peake all did some inexplicably ordinary morale sapping things out there which cost us the game. The kids aren't the problem (albeit if they're lacking in fitness).
IMO, that's good signs for the future. Shame we don't have a few more kids to replace these guys with. Next year we will.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: And not all of our kids lack fitness either - I reckon Broughton, DeBoer, Clarke and Suban all ran that game out really well...

I posed that question a few rounds back, weather DJ would get offered another contract at years end, most said he would but I agree with your sentiments SS...
Like it has been said above Im not against Ruffles, Walter and Pearce being brought in for Bradley, Gilmore and DJ/ Hinkley.

I can't see why we would offer Des anything except a one year contract at minimum pay, given that (a) he doesn't qualify for the veteran's list for us and (b) he has a bad injury record over the last few year. Harsh, 'cause he's one of my favourite Freo players, but you just have to put runs on the board when it comes time to talk contracts...

Greetings and/or commiserations to all on the Freo forum as a new visitor to this site.
2. Certainly agree with this. It was evident last week and again this afternoon that we are certainly competitive for periods of a game but can't play a full 4 quarters at this stage. This is frustrating but something I think will improve.
4. Very impressed with Suban and good to see Ballantyne get more involved than last week.
10. As above, I'm still confident of missing the spoon. 5-6 wins should be achievable in my view.

Hiya melbournedocker!! Welcome, and hopefully you get to see us win in Melbourne soon! On your comments - yep, we do struggle to keep a lead once we have it - and other sides know that, and so seem really eager to run us down even when we are 6 goals up...
Balla was so much better then he was against the Pies - if only some of our mid tiers showed the same improvement!!
And no way will we get the spoon - no way!!

Tackle count was 32 - 55 (Carlton's favor)
Players with 0 or 1 tackle;
Tarrant, Gilmore, Mundy, McPharlin, Duffield - All with 0 tackles.
Sandilands, Grover, Ballantyne, Bradley, Thornton, Hill, Dodd - All with 1 tackle.
Honestly not good enough if we are to win games.

Wow. Just wow. That means we had 12 players with 1 tackle or less. Of those 12, one was a ruckman (Sandi) and 2 were first years (Hill and Balla). So, 10 of our players completed 25 of our 32 tackles (or, put another way, 45 percent of our team did 78 percent of our tackling).

Those 10 tacklers were
Suban: 4
Schammer: 3
Headland: 3
Peake: 3
Clarke: 2
Broughton: 2
DeBoer: 2
Hinkley: 2
Ibbo: 2
Hase: 2
Interesting that of those 10 tackling players, 4 of them, including the top tackler, were first year kids, and another 2 were second or third year tyros. Really shows up the likes of Mundy, Grover, Elvis, Dodd, Thronton and Gilmore. If we'd played Walters, Pearce and Ruffles I think the disparity in tackling would have been skewed even further in favour of the kids...

No point playing experience that won't or can't hit hard.

Does a special someone want to say again how great a tackler Mundy is??

if hinkley puts in any more perfomances like today i think his spot on the list should be scrutinised.
out of all the young talent introduced in the last two years he is the one who could well develop into a dumb ass list clogger if we keep persisting with him.
a couple more games and if nothing changes ,seeya later.

Every week some hack steps up and plays their best game of the year against us. Yesterday it was O'Hailpin, a couple of weeks ago it was Shannon Byrnes. Been happening for years, probably shows our lack of depth.

Most embarrassing of all is Tambling looking like a superstar every time he plays us.

Grover...
Bit harsh there Chops, thought Grover played a very good game. Some of the delivery to O'Hailpin in the second half would have made our Murphy look like a quality FF. Not much a defender can do when the ball is lace out in front of the forwards nose at full speed and there's no-one filling the space in front.
As for Mundy's attempted smother in their F50 at the Subi end, he should be wearing a skirt. Unbelievably pathetic!

Bit harsh there Chops, thought Grover played a very good game. Some of the delivery to O'Hailpin in the second half would have made our Murphy look like a quality FF. Not much a defender can do when the ball is lace out in front of the forwards nose at full speed and there's no-one filling the space in front.
As for Mundy's attempted smother in their F50 at the Subi end, he should be wearing a skirt. Unbelievably pathetic!

Good call. Grover took 19 marks in defence yesterday, a couple of his trademark courageous backing into the pack ones. linked up well, no clangers. He earned his pay.
I notice in a thread on the main board the other day listing an indigenous AA team a large proportion of supporters from other clubs had Grover & Jonno in key positions in the backline. We are very harsh on our own sometimes.

I don't think anyone in defence was poor other than Gilmore. Straight up - we were smashed in the midfield and really needed blokes like Mundy (the soft, weak as piss prick) to step up and counter them.

Mundy was on Gibbs and Gibbs dominated. Mundy should be traded.

I don't think anyone in defence was poor other than Gilmore. Straight up - we were smashed in the midfield and really needed blokes like Mundy (the soft, weak as piss prick) to step up and counter them.

At the gound it looked like he was "on" Carrazzo.
Started at the bounce on him numerous times, but **** me he got near neither of them

The Rash was in defence, he was hopeless !! If he plays he should be in the forward line only !!