The Good Old Days

ptw

Oct 31, 2000
Port Adelaide
One thing I did whilst back in Oz was buy a couple of Vid's of significant (for me anyway) games....namely the 1980 and 1984 SANFL Grand Finals...both Port v Norwood.

Thought I would share some observations:

1. Blues
The game was much tougher physically in terms of hip & shoulders / shirt fronts...just plain punch him in the face. Don't realise how clean today's game has become. Classic was Balme fighting Evans during the national anthem. Those days they played the anthem with the players in positions...but can anyone imagine say James Hird running over to the Melbourne line up during Advance Australia Fair and snotting say Farmer in the snout ?

2. Taggers
Very few taggers and players basically played to position. Got to see a lot more of the skills of the great players of the time compared to today.

3.Anthem
In 1980 the anthem was still God Save the Queen (puke).

4. I could not pick a noticable difference in skill level...no obvious decrease in "clangers" etc. Although fitness has obviously improved. In '84 Port were stuffed at 3/4 time and got run over.

5. Michael Aish was a class player....as was Gary Macintosh (sp?)...its taken me 15 years to be able to write that.

A mate of mine (who helped me drink copious amounts of booze whilst watching the televisual feast - thanks Pretty Boy) made an interesting comment...that when old timers say "remember the 1931 grand final" we tend to look at the funny and shuffle them back to the home....but now days kids could say the same thing about early '80s games...but when you look at the footage (which we don't have for the 1930's) there is not a lot of difference.

I am interested in anyone else's observations on how the game has changed.

ptw

[This message has been edited by ptw (edited 16 January 2001).]

Your observations regarding fitness and how 'clean' the game is spot on, the scientific techniques used today literally have turn out elite athletes. The players of yesteryear cannot claim a title anywhere near that.

Also the video reporting, more umpires and such, mean what was the norm years ago, just cannot even be contemplated now.

On skill level, the greats would be greats no matter when they played. Imagine guys like Ken Farmer, Bob Quinn, Lindsay Head in SA, Teddy Whitten, Daryl Baldock, Ian Stewart
from Vic & Barry Cable, Polly Farmer and Stephen Michael from WA & 100's of others if they played with the benefits of today's training methods.

They would be champions in any era, but the imagination really fires up when you think of yesteryears greats playing today.

------------------
Chris

(Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus)

[This message has been edited by Asgardian (edited 16 January 2001).]

Ahhh, the good ol' days. I still pine for 'em! Those automaton-free days when players played and umpires umpired.

Note the lack of scragging; the lack of packs and ball-ups; the players playing in their positions instead of having 20 players swarming all over the ball; the use of the torpy; and the occasional bout of violence!

Those were the days, my friend. I wish there was a way we could bring 'em back.

Originally posted by Asgardian:
Your observations regarding fitness and how 'clean' the game is spot on, the scientific techniques used today literally have turn out elite athletes. The players of yesteryear cannot claim a title anywhere near that.

Also the video reporting, more umpires and such, mean what was the norm years ago, just cannot even be contemplated now.

On skill level, the greats would be greats no matter when they played. Imagine guys like Ken Farmer, Bob Quinn, Lindsay Head in SA, Teddy Whitten, Daryl Baldock, Ian Stewart
from Vic & Barry Cable, Polly Farmer and Stephen Michael from WA & 100's of others if they played with the benefits of today's training methods.

They would be champions in any era, but the imagination really fires up when you think of yesteryears greats playing today.

"Scientific Football " a term used quite regularly in the 1890's when describing new methods of play.

We went to Adelaide once for our end of season footy trip. This would have been in 1986. We went too see a semi final at Footy Park between Port Adelaide and Woodville (? I Think).

This was an eye opener!

Firstly we were looking forward to seeing Port's Magarey Medallist and rising star Greg Anderson as big things were expected of him. We were out of luck this day! Anderson was snotted basically at the start of the game and didn't see any further play.

The other thing that stood out was that it was generally dirtier than the VFL at the same point in time. When players fought, it was fair dinkum and I don't think a few were beyond using their boots as well!

I was also surprised at how small Football Park is. I walked in basically expecting another Waverley - that is what it looked like to me when watching on the telly - but didn't realise that it is only just over 1/2 the size.

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Originally posted by CJH:
We went to Adelaide once for our end of season footy trip. This would have been in 1986. We went too see a semi final at Footy Park between Port Adelaide and Woodville (? I Think).

This was an eye opener!

Firstly we were looking forward to seeing Port's Magarey Medallist and rising star Greg Anderson as big things were expected of him. We were out of luck this day! Anderson was snotted basically at the start of the game and didn't see any further play.

The other thing that stood out was that it was generally dirtier than the VFL at the same point in time. When players fought, it was fair dinkum and I don't think a few were beyond using their boots as well!

I was also surprised at how small Football Park is. I walked in basically expecting another Waverley - that is what it looked like to me when watching on the telly - but didn't realise that it is only just over 1/2 the size.

The only final series Woodville ever played you saw History..........

They no longer exist courtesy of the VFL........

VFL park cap. 70,000

Football Park cap at the time 55.000

largest crowd to see a game.. Port Adelaide V Sturt.....66.897......20.000 turned away at gate....1976 GF.

PA1870

Originally posted by CJH:

This was an eye opener!

The only final series Woodville ever played you saw History..........

They no longer exist courtesy of the VFL........

VFL park cap. 70,000

Football Park cap at the time 55.000

largest crowd to see a game.. Port Adelaide V Sturt.....66.897......20.000 turned away at gate....1976 GF.

PA1870

ahh.. greg anderson ! the former essendon champ! hehe...
remember that year when he was a brownlow favourite... ah..

does he still have that shocker of a mullet?

Originally posted by ptw:
One thing I did whilst back in Oz was buy a couple of Vid's of significant (for me anyway) games....namely the 1980 and 1984 SANFL Grand Finals...both Port v Norwood.

Thought I would share some observations:

1. Blues
The game was much tougher physically in terms of hip & shoulders / shirt fronts...just plain punch him in the face. Don't realise how clean today's game has become. Classic was Balme fighting Evans during the national anthem. Those days they played the anthem with the players in positions...but can anyone imagine say James Hird running over to the Melbourne line up during Advance Australia Fair and snotting say Farmer in the snout ?

2. Taggers
Very few taggers and players basically played to position. Got to see a lot more of the skills of the great players of the time compared to today.

3.Anthem
In 1980 the anthem was still God Save the Queen (puke).

4. I could not pick a noticable difference in skill level...no obvious decrease in "clangers" etc. Although fitness has obviously improved. In '84 Port were stuffed at 3/4 time and got run over.

5. Michael Aish was a class player....as was Gary Macintosh (sp?)...its taken me 15 years to be able to write that.

A mate of mine (who helped me drink copious amounts of booze whilst watching the televisual feast - thanks Pretty Boy) made an interesting comment...that when old timers say "remember the 1931 grand final" we tend to look at the funny and shuffle them back to the home....but now days kids could say the same thing about early '80s games...but when you look at the footage (which we don't have for the 1930's) there is not a lot of difference.

I am interested in anyone else's observations on how the game has changed.

ptw

[This message has been edited by ptw (edited 16 January 2001).]

Well most of this is OK but Harvey was picked to tag Aish so that takes care of two of your points re '84.
MH

Love the Greg Andersen story...

Leaves Bomberland at the end of 92 to miss the 93 flag. Goes back to play 93-96 for the Crows and then retires missing the 97 and 98 flags - don't have to be dead to be stiff do ya?

Basically the inverse of "the great" Leon Baker - two flags in the State comp - comes over to Vic to play in "Seven's Big League" and his first two years are flags - that's 4 in a row! Time to go out and buy a lottery ticket...

The kicking !!! Remember in the good old days when a player would burst out of the backline and just BLAST the kick forward to anywhere. Or a player forced to kick on the non-preferred side ... errr !

The umpiring was more straight forward - all that Mick Martyn / SOS scragging couldn't happen - but I guess that is evolutionary ( as in how the hell do you stop Tony Lockett kicking zillions of goals ? )

The teams are more even now - the last 6 picked aren't as bad as they used to be , and the incredible use of interchange has altered the whole matchup thing. I can't think of another sport that uses the interchange tactic so much.

The Good Old Days