Analysis The Good, the Bad and the Fugly Vs Shemantle round 3

One big negative for me today, the coaching effort. Yes we don't have the cattle but some things were just bad. Not manning up on Hill until they were already 10 goals up. Dropping a man back which allowed Freo to have an extra at the stoppages. When we were already getting killed at the stoppages

The fans at the game cheering on the events that occurred during junk time were nearly just as damning to me as the first half performance. Looks like a very flattering 30 point loss is very acceptable to them and now the club can wheel out the excuses with some justification. Eg. we were good in the second half, outscored Freo after quarter time, LeCras kicked 5 etc.
Yeah, nah.
That wasn't the easiest game to sit through. Would you have prefered if we all left in disgust at quarter time? Sat on our hands and grumbled for the rest of the game? Freo flogs were chanting like they had won a grand final halfway through the first ****ing quarter. Did we just want to sit and listen to them all game, or try and make some noise of our own.

Our first goal was a great chase and tackle to win a holding the ball by Naitanui in our goal square. Sorry for cheering.
Our next goal was an awesome effort by Wellingham from the pocket, type of goal you are lucky to witness once or twice a year. Sorry for cheering.

As for GBU - im sure its all been mentioned already but will add one thing.

Bad
Will single out Lycett. Marking contest on the wing in the 3rd?? quarter. Johnson had fallen down and Lycett was the only one going for the mark. Put in the most weak one handed effort because he was expecting contact. He has dished up 2 rubbish games from 3 starts. If he thought it would just happen for him because Cox finally retired then he better wake up. Really hope he gets dropped. I rate him highly but he needs a kick up the ass.

Yeah, nah.
That wasn't the easiest game to sit through. Would you have prefered if we all left in disgust at quarter time? Sat on our hands and grumbled for the rest of the game? Freo flogs were chanting like they had won a grand final halfway through the first ******* quarter. Did we just want to sit and listen to them all game, or try and make some noise of our own.

Our first goal was a great chase and tackle to win a holding the ball by Naitanui in our goal square. Sorry for cheering.
Our next goal was an awesome effort by Wellingham from the pocket, type of goal you are lucky to witness once or twice a year. Sorry for cheering.

As for GBU - im sure its all been mentioned already but will add one thing.

Bad
Will single out Lycett. Marking contest on the wing in the 3rd?? quarter. Johnson had fallen down and Lycett was the only one going for the mark. Put in the most weak one handed effort because he was expecting contact. He has dished up 2 rubbish games from 3 starts. If he thought it would just happen for him because Cox finally retired then he better wake up. Really hope he gets dropped. I rate him highly but he needs a kick up the ass.

I think that was in the last quarter, and was so pea hearted it was unbelievable

Need to play Naitanui as rover again to improve clearance. The current ingredients do not work!
Redraft Dean Cox again next year and put him at full forward; a bit like the good old Paul Salmon.

Yeah Lycett was bad. A lot of players will look bad against Sandilands but Lycett was soft all around the ground. I think he should play against Brisbane, but they need to light a fire under his ass and let him know that Sinclair is ready and waiting to take his spot if he keeps spudding it up on match day.

What has happened to our once mightily club? The purples have beat us the last 6 times and 15 out of the last 19. I would ask, who would be proud that we out scored them in the last 3 quarters with a shocking record like that?

So ******* sick of the mediocre shit we are served for far to ******* long. Didn't even waste my time watching the game today.

...and **** you Ross you smug ****

I bet someone from the club comes out and says exactly that..and that's what's wrong with this club.

I might have missed it but I don't think anybody has mentioned the fact that ..... They have rooted up the management the gov. When he came back on the field after being injured the first time I thought to myself "self he better not be playing injured especially seeing as we have already lost the game." Sure enough he's fkded now isn't he stupid tossrs. Just another excuse for them not to change the list

I kind of just had a mini nervous breakdown in the shower realising that, in three years, Barlow, Neale, Fyfe, Hill, Blakely, Weller, etc will still be better than whatever midfield we will likely be able to muster up by that time. Sure, they'll have to find a better ruckman, but ****, we might not win a derby for a long time.

Need to play Naitanui as rover again to improve clearance. The current ingredients do not work!
Redraft Dean Cox again next year and put him at full forward; a bit like the good old Paul Salmon.

Actually, Coxy at this stage reminds one more of Scott Cummings. He looks like he ate Paul Salmon :)

I think that was in the last quarter, and was so pea hearted it was unbelievable
He also watched some Freo player put his elbow into Duggans face while he was on the ground in the last and did absolutely nothing about it.

I think we all liked Lycett coming through because he had a bit of aggression about him. You cannot just watch the opposition player do that to a kid on your team and not remonstrate about it. Stand up for your team mate FFS!

I had to walk away a few minutes into the 3rd quarter but does anyone feel Hurn should have stepped up a bit more. I mean he is one of the last guys in the team you would want to critisise but would have liked to have him have more of an impact yesterday.

I kind of just had a mini nervous breakdown in the shower realising that, in three years, Barlow, Neale, Fyfe, Hill, Blakely, Weller, etc will still be better than whatever midfield we will likely be able to muster up by that time. Sure, they'll have to find a better ruckman, but ****, we might not win a derby for a long time.
2015-04-20-07-25-27--24087384.jpeg

Good
Don't care that they took the foot of the pedal, at least it was not 100 points.
Bad
Poor drafting previously has left us in a big deep hole.
Ugly
IMO we only have not counting this years draftees and players on the list who have not played a game, we have 9 untouchables
Lecca-Sheed-Yeo-Nic-Mckenzie-Kennedy-McGovern-Hurn-Darling, everyone else is trade able for the right price and in some cases if other clubs want them for free.

Goes to show you can have all the resources and money in the world, but counts for nil if you can't use it correctly.

Priddis, McGinnity, Masten, Wellingham, Hill (he was okay yesterday, but he's never gonna be a match winner), Butler, Rosa - That's a lot of average footballers to be carrying in a team.
And then you factor in that Gaff wasn't particularly effective, Shuey was poor, Lycett was poor and Naitanui struggled…it's not hard to see why we sucked so much. But the stain of averageness has been on the club for too long. We're a long way off fixing this mess.

I felt super bad for our defence and our forwards (poor Kennedy must have made about hundred repeat leads, knowing full-well that our midfield would screw it up, which they did), because of how utterly disgusting our midfield was. Our backline did the best it could with what they had to deal with.

We easily have the worst midfield in the league. Let's give Duggan a full game, let's blood Waterman soon, let's play Yeo in the middle (frankly, I have no time for the 'we need him down back' excuse, our deficiency is our midfield, and we should be looking long-term), and enough is enough with McGinnity, seriously, it's beyond a joke now. There needs to be some genuine vision for the future in our team selection.

I had to walk away a few minutes into the 3rd quarter but does anyone feel Hurn should have stepped up a bit more. I mean he is one of the last guys in the team you would want to critisise but would have liked to have him have more of an impact yesterday.

Our defense got stretched with Clarke/Sandilands resting forward and Hurn had to spend a lot of time deep trying to cover it, not much he could do.

One big negative for me today, the coaching effort. Yes we don't have the cattle but some things were just bad. Not manning up on Hill until they were already 10 goals up. Dropping a man back which allowed Freo to have an extra at the stoppages. When we were already getting killed at the stoppages

We manned up Fyfe - how many do you want to tag?

If you spend your entire game trying to stop the opposition you lose any impetus you might have yourself.

The only way to stop all of their midfield is to deny them the ball - which is what Hawthorn do successfully.

We simply don't have the cattle

Analysis The Good, the Bad and the Fugly Vs Shemantle round 3