Review The Grand Final Disaster of 2017.

Did you say that in 1997 when Adelaide got a home semi-final against Geelong despite the Cats finishing higher on the H&A ladder than the Crows? :rolleyes:

Finals are played at the MCG. Always have been since 1897, always will. Geelong have played 118 finals in their history and 96 have been at the MCG (for 9 flags) and only two have been at their home grounds (one at Corio and one at KP). Playing finals at the MCG didn't stop Geelong winning in 2007-09-11. It didn't stop Adelaide winning in 1997-98. It didn't stop Richmond being totally crap for 35 straight years either. If you're the good enough on the day you win; if not you lose. Footy is as simple as that!

Speaking of unfair advantages and "gifting" wins, Adelaide and Geelong didn't have to play Richmond at the MCG during the H&A season yet Richmond had to play both teams away. The Tigers only got one home game against the other top 5 teams (vs GWS). Yeah the Tigers really got an advantage there! :rolleyes: Richmond missed out on finishing on top of the ladder by just 2 points because by your own 'logic' the Tigers missed out on a certain 12 points vs Adel, Geel & Port at the MCG if we had a truly fair H&A season. So, again by your own 'logic', Adelaide and Geelong only finished above Richmond on the ladder due to the "gift" of home ground advantage thanks to the unevenness of the draw. Whinge all you like but you can't have it both ways.

So all those home games at the G didn't give you an advantage Grand Final day even though we finished top? We travelled to Simonds, Tasmania, Darwin and Perth this year so it wasn't all easy with our fixture. Congrats on the flag though, you did play well despite the umps raping us in the first half. ;)

Well you ain't allowed to tackle and knock someone out , sloane was fortunate that danger got up with minimal effect , Cotchin was going for the ball in the contest , which he won , was incidental contact .shiel played on , was bumped again and was then spelled . There were a couple of other incidents that we were pretty lucky with

Dangerfield was no where near knocked out - he is a flog who plays up any heavy contact he receives, mostly so he doesn't have to get up an chase. Got to see him do that for seven years. In the case in question he turned into an almost stationary Sloane and got a touch high. Free kick at most

Cotchin chose to bump when he tucked his arm - that is the critical. The AFL also chose to ignore the obvious physical signs immediately after the bump that suggested the player was concussed - GWS should have also been held to account on that. That fact that he won the ball has no bearing on the type of contact he chose to inflict.

MOD NOTE:

Hey look, people arguing about rubbish after the fact like it's the main board, not the Adelaide board.

Which is funny, because being disrespectful to Adelaide or Adelaide posters on the Adelaide board, would be an infraction-worthy offense.

Hint, Hint.

Anyway, I don't this argument going to get solved today, just like it hasn't since the VFL decided to see if it could go bankrupt and signed up other states to join a wholly-compromised national competition, so let's leave it alone, huh?

i think i have the major reason for our performance on saturday. being too good and dominant can be a detriment. we didnt play enough uncomfortable 'pressure games' where we were under heat for 4 quarters. we either won games early and downhill skiied under no pressure afterwards or got beaten early where we played for pride for the rest of the game under no pressure. that it why it is no surprise we capitulated and early. i attended a few and watched the rest of the games. here is our season:
round 1 gws: pressure game til half time, comfortable after half time
round 2 hawthorn: under pressure all game, rate the win
round 3 port: under pressure all game, rate the win
round 4 essendon: game over very early
round 5 gold coast: game over very early
round 6 richmond: pressure game til quarter time, game over midway 2nd quarter
round 7 north: got jumped on early, game over, played for pride with no pressure
round 8 melbourne: pressure game til half time, played for pride with no pressure 2nd half
round 9 brisbane: started slowly but players were comfortable pretty much the whole night
round 10 fremantle: game over very early
round 11 geelong: game over midway 2nd quarter, played for pride with no pressure rest of the game, both teams coasted
round 12 st kilda: game over very early
round 14 hawthorn: under pressure all game, we lost though, it is why hawks fans rate this win, good learning experience
round 15 carlton: under pressure all game, underrated win
round 16 bulldogs: pressure game til half time, comfortable after half time
round 17 melbourne: comfortable all game
round 18 geelong: under pressure all game even though we jumped them, rate the win
round 19 collingwood: coasted for a half, rode the momentum to see where it could take us under no pressure, only under pressure in the dying minutes
round 20 port: game over very early, port played with no intensity
round 21 essendon: comfortable all game
round 22 sydney: under pressure all game, we lost though, it is why swans fan rate this win, good learning experience
round 23 west coast: dead rubber, lol
qualifying final gws: comfortable after quarter time
prelim final geelong: game over very early, comfortable for the rest of the game

and then compare us to richmond. richmond players were under pressure in games for 4 quarters against collingwood, west coast, melbourne, bulldogs, fremantle, gws, essendon, sydney, carlton, port, gws 2nd time and geelong. in both their finals, they were under pressure much longer than us. fantastic experience for them in large crowds as well. that is why richmond have better consistent application and are less likely to choke.
imagine if all our wins were by 2-3 goals and all our losses were by 2-3 goals, the grand final would be a much closer result

west coast in 2015 either won by heaps or lost by heaps (remember our first quarter in our home game against them). it is a big reason why when hawthorn turned up the heat, the eagles turned to water.
sydney over the past two years have often lead teams early and then grounded them into submission under no pressure. chris scott even said that sydney play in a certain pattern. it is no surprise when hawthorn or geelong jumped sydney, sydney players panicked as they rarely experienced scoreboard pressure before.

Dangerfield was no where near knocked out - he is a flog who plays up any heavy contact he receives, mostly so he doesn't have to get up an chase. Got to see him do that for seven years. In the case in question he turned into an almost stationary Sloane and got a touch high. Free kick at most

Cotchin chose to bump when he tucked his arm - that is the critical. The AFL also chose to ignore the obvious physical signs immediately after the bump that suggested the player was concussed - GWS should have also been held to account on that. That fact that he won the ball has no bearing on the type of contact he chose to inflict.
Couldn't have been that obvious buddy, he continued playing for another 20 minutes, you're entitled to brace for contact when going for the ball and a collision is inevitable . He didn't go past the ball to make contact , that's the critical piece , the ball was his object

So all those home games at the G didn't give you an advantage Grand Final day even though we finished top? We travelled to Simonds, Tasmania, Darwin and Perth this year so it wasn't all easy with our fixture. Congrats on the flag though, you did play well despite the umps raping us in the first half. ;)
Umpiring was consistent they were letting it go . I recall an obvious free to butler in the sq with front on contact in marking contest , so not much to complain about , funny wearing the yellow jumpers made it much easier for umpires to see when jumper was being pulled , few of them were called

west coast in 2015 either won by heaps or lost by heaps (remember our first quarter in our home game against them). it is a big reason why when hawthorn turned up the heat, the eagles turned to water.
sydney over the past two years have often lead teams early and then grounded them into submission under no pressure. chris scott even said that sydney play in a certain pattern. it is no surprise when hawthorn or geelong jumped sydney, sydney players panicked as they rarely experienced scoreboard pressure before.
The main reason we lost so badly that day was because our gameplan "the web" just did not work on the wider flanks of the MCG. We are still trying to work out the formula;).

We could have played you at any ground in the country and we still would have won. Please don't say it was the venue that gave us the win as that's a cop out for your supposed leaders like Tex, Jenkins and betts who along with most of your team were not up to it when we applied the heat. Best to lose graciously, it's a much better look.

Lol get ****ed you arrogant campaigner. You would never have beaten us at AO.

Couldn't have been that obvious buddy, he continued playing for another 20 minutes, you're entitled to brace for contact when going for the ball and a collision is inevitable . He didn't go past the ball to make contact , that's the critical piece , the ball was his object
Very obvious if you know what you are looking at. And its not like players haven't continued to play after being concussed before :drunk:

You can brace but that typically applies to players who are about to be on the receiving end. Making the choice to bump (which is what he does as soon as he tucks the arm) and making high contact are just about a hanging offense these days. Btw you don't get to brace if you have a legitimate option to tackle.

No, going past the ball isn't critical, it just makes the penalty harsher.

No the bump was - once he knew he was second. Winning the ball afterwards was just a fortunate side affect. Players almost always tackle in Cothins situation simply because the risk of suspension is too high because contact to the head is almost impossible to avoid.

Did you say that in 1997 when Adelaide got a home semi-final against Geelong despite the Cats finishing higher on the H&A ladder than the Crows? :rolleyes:

Finals are played at the MCG. Always have been since 1897, always will. Geelong have played 118 finals in their history and 96 have been at the MCG (for 9 flags) and only two have been at their home grounds (one at Corio and one at KP). Playing finals at the MCG didn't stop Geelong winning in 2007-09-11. It didn't stop Adelaide winning in 1997-98. It didn't stop Richmond being totally crap for 35 straight years either. If you're the good enough on the day you win; if not you lose. Footy is as simple as that!

Speaking of unfair advantages and "gifting" wins, Adelaide and Geelong didn't have to play Richmond at the MCG during the H&A season yet Richmond had to play both teams away. The Tigers only got one home game against the other top 5 teams (vs GWS). Yeah the Tigers really got an advantage there! :rolleyes: Richmond missed out on finishing on top of the ladder by just 2 points because by your own 'logic' the Tigers missed out on a certain 12 points vs Adel, Geel & Port at the MCG if we had a truly fair H&A season. So, again by your own 'logic', Adelaide and Geelong only finished above Richmond on the ladder due to the "gift" of home ground advantage thanks to the unevenness of the draw. Whinge all you like but you can't have it both ways.

Tough draws ? Is it true that the tigers only played one if the top 8 twice ?( gws). If so , that’s a stroke of luck !

Just ask Dylan his thoughts.

We really were stitched up.

Nice editing here. There are a couple of soft ones but the Hartigan kick was a clear shepherd, Rioli flopping better than Lindsay Thomas and Butler's one handed handball after unsuccessfully trying to break a tackle
These were the best 3 umpires in the country

Nice editing here. There are a couple of soft ones but the Hartigan kick was a clear shepherd, Rioli flopping better than Lindsay Thomas and Butler's one handed handball after unsuccessfully trying to break a tackle
These were the best 3 umpires in the country

Pretty sure they were the same umpires who did the same to the Swans last year.