The Great Injustice - The Grand Final Contract thread

Oct 27, 2016
Packers, Raptors, Renegades
Well short sighted government as usual out this way in WA.

Thats a definite no to the idea of moving the grand final a week before because two WA team got in. GTFO. The Grand Final should be bid on and set in stone years in advance. Perth will be upgradeable to 70-80, Adelaide Oval has the grass hill which could be upgraded to fit another 20k and then Sydney has an 88k stadium. A grand final should be played in all of these cities regardless if both teams from the state are in the GF. Come make the trek over here for a grand final week. You'll have heaps of fun like when interstaters go to Melbourne each year. Bring the game and the entertainment that comes with it to the fans in each of these states that can't afford to go across to Melbourne for the Grand Final.
Well in that case maybe in the not so distant future (maybe very distant but let's hope not) where almost every major AFL Stadium in each state can hold from 80k - 100k then it might be possible to have a roster as to which ground hosts the Grand Final. Somewhat like the Superbowl in the NFL, the AFL will pick a Stadium to host a GF no matter which teams play. I doubt anything like this will ever happen but if it were I reckon it would keep it fresh instead of the annual scramble to buy plane tickets because you're team is playing an interstate GF.

The issue with 80-100k stadia in each state is outside the gf, how often can you actually fill it

Tbh i dont think they would build a 100k mcg today if not for the legacy of the current.

Sep 8, 2011
Well in that case maybe in the not so distant future (maybe very distant but let's hope not) where almost every major AFL Stadium in each state can hold from 80k - 100k then it might be possible to have a roster as to which ground hosts the Grand Final. Somewhat like the Superbowl in the NFL, the AFL will pick a Stadium to host a GF no matter which teams play. I doubt anything like this will ever happen but if it were I reckon it would keep it fresh instead of the annual scramble to buy plane tickets because you're team is playing an interstate GF.

Realistically if the game left the MCG you wouldn't need more than 80k because you don't have to give 30k+ seats to the MCC. You would also be able to shrink the AFL membership allocation and try and give more to the fans.

Couldn't think of a better way to grow the game and get return on your investment than hosting a whole grand final week and game in Sydney. Even in footy strongholds like Adelaide and Perth it would do wonders at connecting the game with the fans and mott importantly the impressionable kids.

wadistance

Sep 17, 2011
Hamburg, DE
BvB, Boston Celtics
Well short sighted government as usual out this way in WA.

Thats a definite no to the idea of moving the grand final a week before because two WA team got in. GTFO. The Grand Final should be bid on and set in stone years in advance. Perth will be upgradeable to 70-80, Adelaide Oval has the grass hill which could be upgraded to fit another 20k and then Sydney has an 88k stadium. A grand final should be played in all of these cities regardless if both teams from the state are in the GF. Come make the trek over here for a grand final week. You'll have heaps of fun like when interstaters go to Melbourne each year. Bring the game and the entertainment that comes with it to the fans in each of these states that can't afford to go across to Melbourne for the Grand Final.

Adelaide oval will never get rid of its grass bank. Those Moreton bay figs are heritage listed.

Interestingly enough tho, is Adelaide oval the only ground in Aus where the pitch runs the same direction as the Footy field?

Sep 8, 2011
Adelaide oval will never get rid of its grass bank. Those Moreton bay figs are heritage listed.

Interestingly enough tho, is Adelaide oval the only ground in Aus where the pitch runs the same direction as the Footy field?
Adelaide will definitely get rid of the grass bank if a Grand Final once every 4-5 years was on the cards.

So we are talking 2037 when the final one at the MCG under the current deal takes place + about 20 years for The Adelaide Oval Redevelopment and Management Act and section 4 to be changed. It will be a 20 year s**t fight with the Adelaide Parklands greenies and the SACA members before the politicians approve an amendment to the Act.

And Turnbull is more likely to have a tax policy that lasts more than two days than any of that is to happen :)

Sep 8, 2011
Yep 2038, thats the magic year. Maybe you won't do it initially, but after the SA Government sees how much money is injected into the WA and NSW economies, SA will have a candlelight vigil and either a) relocate the trees (highly possible by 2038) or b) burn the mother *ers down. What is 6 trees in the grand scale.

Jul 2, 2010
Realistically if the game left the MCG you wouldn't need more than 80k because you don't have to give 30k+ seats to the MCC. You would also be able to shrink the AFL membership allocation and try and give more to the fans.

You would however need to find the revenue that 25,000 MCC members pay to enter the Grand Final. In 2012 it was reported that under an AFL-enforced levy, the MCC must pay $258 into the gate for every member who attends the match. (In 2011 the fee was $208.) Thats 6.4 million + you have to make up right off the bat.

In addition the 5,000 Medallion Club members at Docklands who are guaranteed access to a grand final ticket for a fee (Ive been unable to find it). Then theres reserved seating fees for the other 18,000 AFL members as well.

Then theres things like corporate boxes. The MCG has 2500 seats dedicated to VIP suites. Adelaide oval has 34 VIP suites.

(By comparison, some 5000 of the 80,000 seats at the ANZ Stadium in Sydney's Olympic Park, which has 110 private suites, are allocated to corporate sponsors.

The Sydney Cricket Ground, which seats 48,000, has 113 outdoor corporate boxes as well as 73 suites and 10 function rooms, while nearby Allianz Stadium, which seats 44,000, has 106 outdoor corporate boxes, 57 suites and six function rooms.)

Yep 2038, thats the magic year. Maybe you won't do it initially, but after the SA Government sees how much money is injected into the WA and NSW economies, SA will have a candlelight vigil and either a) relocate the trees (highly possible by 2038) or b) burn the mother gooses down. What is 6 trees in the grand scale.
No they wont. You have absolutely no understanding of Parklands greenie politics in Adelaide. The Parklands Conservation Society or whatever they call themselves these days, reckon the Adelaide Parklands are more sacred than the Jews think the Wailing Wall and Jerusalem is sacred. The Parklands greenies allowing this to go thru is less likely than the Jews handing over the Wailing Wall and the rest of Jerusalem to the Palestinians. These people have powerful connections, governments are reluctant to take them on and the last time the SA Government had absolute control of the upper house was over 40 years ago. Money and opportunity is irrelevant to these people.

Sep 8, 2011
No they wont. You have absolutely no understanding of Parklands greenie politics in Adelaide. The Parklands Conservation Society or whatever they call themselves these days, reckon the Adelaide Parklands are more sacred than the Jews think the Wailing Wall and Jerusalem is sacred. The Parklands greenies allowing this to go thru is less likely than the Jews handing over the Wailing Wall and the rest of Jerusalem to the Palestinians. These people have powerful connections, governments are reluctant to take them on and the last time the SA Government had absolute control of the upper house was over 40 years ago. Money and opportunity is irrelevant to these people.
Oh well, your loss. We'll have your quota of Grandys out here then :sunglasses:

BTW things can change in 20 years. Theres a high chance the whole world will be run by "Alt Right" Politicians.

Sep 8, 2011
You would however need to find the revenue that 25,000 MCC members pay to enter the Grand Final. In 2012 it was reported that under an AFL-enforced levy, the MCC must pay $258 into the gate for every member who attends the match. (In 2011 the fee was $208.) Thats 6.4 million + you have to make up right off the bat.

In addition the 5,000 Medallion Club members at Docklands who are guaranteed access to a grand final ticket for a fee (Ive been unable to find it). Then theres reserved seating fees for the other 18,000 AFL members as well.

Then theres things like corporate boxes. The MCG has 2500 seats dedicated to VIP suites. Adelaide oval has 34 VIP suites.

(By comparison, some 5000 of the 80,000 seats at the ANZ Stadium in Sydney's Olympic Park, which has 110 private suites, are allocated to corporate sponsors.

The Sydney Cricket Ground, which seats 48,000, has 113 outdoor corporate boxes as well as 73 suites and 10 function rooms, while nearby Allianz Stadium, which seats 44,000, has 106 outdoor corporate boxes, 57 suites and six function rooms.)
The money would be made up by the cities bidding on the GF. I know the corporates give money etc etc, but moving the GF like the NFL does with the Superbowl is the only right option. The unfair advantage these teams are given is ludicrous and respect the fans in other states.

Jul 2, 2010
Yep 2038, thats the magic year. Maybe you won't do it initially, but after the SA Government sees how much money is injected into the WA and NSW economies, SA will have a candlelight vigil and either a) relocate the trees (highly possible by 2038) or b) burn the mother gooses down. What is 6 trees in the grand scale.

Its not just the trees, its the parklands themselves. Building on them is a big no no here.

Not to mention, the Great Southern Stand will need to be redeveloped before 2037, and that negotiation with the AFL could be a touch interesting with far reaching effects.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1

Couldn't think of a better way to grow the game and get return on your investment than hosting a whole grand final week and game in Sydney. Even in footy strongholds like Adelaide and Perth it would do wonders at connecting the game with the fans and mott importantly the impressionable kids.

The MCG 2016 on average in home & away games was not 1/2 full, only 7 games out of 46 drew 60k+, & the Pies were involved in 4 of those 7 games.
No game at the G involving a non Victorian club pulled a 50k + crowd - memo to the Ember, you need fans from 2x competing clubs to get more than a 50k crowd in Melbourne, including MCC & AFL members.
You are kidding yourself, the size of the new Stadium is appropriate as is Adelaide - half full stadiums, not a good look, and what would it do to the Eagles - drive down membership?

Sep 5, 2013
West Coast Wonders, GSW Bandwagoner
I'm happy with the capacity of the stadium, but I think its important for the growth of the game as a national sport for the grand final to be shared around, even if its not every year. In the big picture the growth of the game is of greater benefit to the AFL than the loss of revenue an interstate grand final would generate

A hundred percent. RussellEbertHandball hit me up in 2035 and I'll poison those mother ****en trees. As much as I love trees, I hate the fact the game is in Melbourne each and every year and 6 trees is **** all.
Haha the Parklands greenies probably already have it set up now to stop people doing that so by 2035 they will be well and truly prepared, but it will be interesting from about 2032 onwards to see the political games played around where the GF's will be played post 2037.

You blokes are absolute *******s if you'd be happy to poison some 100+ year old trees just so you can pull your dick every 5 years to watch a grand final in Adelaide that your teams probably won't even make
Erh its a west coast supporter who first volunteered to do it in 2035.