SS11

Oct 4, 2000
Victoria Park
You guys are so petty its funny...
Its water off a ducks back for any Collingwood supporter....HATED BY MANY, FEARED BY ALL

we are the least Bandwagoner team in the league, we have copped it left right and center since the league started, but we are resilient. Our fans are vocal, passionate and proud, we would die for the black and white....We still turn up to the footy, even though our team has finished 16th and 15th, id like to see other teams fans do that but alas they do not have the commitment we have (example: Melbourne in 1997, compared to this year)

AND OBVIOUSLY EVERYONE WHO BARRACKS FOR ANOTHER TEAM IS JEALOUS AT THE BEST SUPPORTERS OF THE GREATEST TEAM IN AUSTRALIA...

Sabre
You've got to feel sorry for Bluey, the poor guy must have blisters on his fingers from all the typing he's had to do. I think it's time we all tried not to put so much vitriole
into our posts, as hard as that is when people really get up your nose.
Hurry up footy season.

------------------
Mantis

Being a Melbourne supporter, I'd have to say that the Dees have the best supporters.
Go the Dees!

We dont have to flood this board of basicly the same topic if bluey didnt close all the threads on us!

------------------
Magz
Colonial Stadium will never be the home of me or the Colllingwood football club coz its owned by the bloody Afl & its a shit hole!

Black And White Forever

Essendon supporters are thebest supporters.

* The most in number.

* The most enthusiastic.

* Most likely to attend when doing poorly.

You want to see big crowds no matter where you are on the ladder. Have a look at Essendon as a case study. I would observe that the "enthusiasm" of the Essendon segment of supporters outweighs the enthusiasm of any other supporter group.

icon26.gif
icon26.gif
icon26.gif
icon26.gif

To Dans Little Comment

* The most in number. (Yes Only When U Are Winning!)

* The most enthusiastic.
That last one is full of crap coz ur not very enthusiastic.The only u lot "enthusiastic" is when u are winning! And when u loser u are a bunch of sore losers! Take The Bulldog Game For Explain!

smokin.gif
ukliam2.gif

------------------
Magz
Colonial Stadium will never be the home of me or the Colllingwood football club coz its owned by the bloody Afl & its a shit hole!

Black And White Forever

Mags
Please don't take this the wrong way, but can you please learn to spell, it is very hard to understand what you're talking about.

------------------
Mantis

To Dan24

You said

Essendon supporters are the best supporters.
* The most in number.

* The most enthusiastic.

I dont know about the first two , but I was going to the football in the seventies when Essendon had the last extended lean spell and they were certainly not attending then in the same numbers as the big boys of the time, Carlton Collingwood and Richmond. it was only when they started winning again in 1981 that things turned around. And it needed a 15 game winning streak to do it.

Magpie Greg,

I can tell yo without shadow of a doubt that Essendon supporters outnumber Collingwoods.

And as for our "lean spell" in the 1970s, I recall getting 77,000 to Waverley agaisnt Carlton in the mid70'ds when we were missing the finals. We have always had big support. it didn't just "happen" in 1981.

In 1997, we finished 14th, yet played in front of nearly a million people (averaging close to 50,000 over 22 weeks).

I can't really explain the enthusiasm to you. You just have to go to an Essendon game to see it. There is so much Essendon merchandise that is purchased and worn by the supporters. It has to be seen to be believed. Everyone wears red and black.

Dan24

Sorry to be pedantic, but that 77,000 that you recall in the mid-70s, firstly:

1. Wearn't you born in 1975/76? So, either you had a great view from your mother's womb, or had an exceptional memory for a 1 year old.

2. That was only one match. In the same way that you argue that one match (ie the Grand Final) doesn't prove that a team is the best, therefore the attendence at one game doesn't prove that a team has the greatest support of all time.

3. And so, how do you know that most of the support wearn't Carlton fans?

That was the first game my Dad took me to Dan I was 4, the noice scared the shit out of me. It was a record crowd back then for a H&A game.

Dan you can't say most enthusiastic, it's unmeasurable, so it can't be claimed. You may feel we've got the most enthusiastic but it's just that - a feeling.

Cheers

------------------
RED & BLACK BACK to BACK 2001!

[This message has been edited by RICE80SF (edited 06 October 2000).]

Dan Shinboners is right.

That game was the Anzac Day game of 1975. I remember Pat Wellington playing well for Essendon in the 3rd quarter.

But it was only one game. If you go to the attendances at the end of the season, they trailled off.

Mate, I was there watching Essendon Collingwood games. We had one big one on Queens Birthday 1972 at Vic Park when McKenna kicked 13 but it was Tuddy's return game and we all wanted to kick his arse which we did and did consistently then.

It all ebbs and flows. Dan, you are starting to sound like the Collingwood supporters of old, when we had the bragging rights for 50 years. Mellow out pal.

SB

I seem to recall there was about 70-80000 at the Kangas-Ess match Rd 17 1999

Of course they were all Ess supporters though!
wink.gif

Dan we gotta get some sort of ooomph back into this board - even though this is covering old ground!

Cheers

Gonzo

Originally posted by Dan24:

* The most in number.

* The most enthusiastic.

You want to see big crowds no matter where you are on the ladder. Have a look at Essendon as a case study. I would observe that the "enthusiasm" of the Essendon segment of supporters outweighs the enthusiasm of any other supporter group.

The first point? Maybe ... according to the Morgan Gallup Poll (check out roymorgan.com) Collingwood and Essendon are about the same.

The second point? I would not know a single non-Essendon supporter who would agree with this statement. I attend a lot of Essendon games on account of the fact that I married an Essendon supporter (I love her despite this flaw) and I would say that Essendon fans make considerably less noise than their Collingwood and Richmond counterparts. If you want a per-capita comparison - North and St Kilda supporters are much more enthusiastic than Essendon supporters.

The third point? I doubt whether Essendon's core support is as strong as Collingwood's or Richmond's, and may be less than Carlton's, Adelaide's or the Eagles's. According to that same Gallup Poll Essendon's core support is less than 25 years old, and hence has climbed on the Bomber Bandwagon in the past 10 or so years.

They ain't called the Bandwagon Bombers for nothing!

Too right Gonzo....at that game in '99, even though I was in North gear and cheering for North, according to the attendence statistics, I was in fact, an Essendon fan
eek.gif
eek.gif
eek.gif

Funny how there was 15,000 or so less at our first meeting of that season though.....must have been all those North fans jumping back on the bandwagon, hey? You know, the North fans that according to many don't actually exist.

In fact Dan24, technically Sydney, West Coast, Brisbane and Adelaide are more popular than Essendon.

And Collingwood is more popular than Essendon in Victoria.

0 from 3, I'm afraid...

On the Roy Morgan poll for the most supported team in the AFL, Sydney won - but of course thats not the fairest indication considering they dont have a full membership, so Essendon isn't really the 'most in number'.

If you took a survey throughout Australia of the team you support then Essendon or Collingwood would probably win since they have large support bases not only in Melbourne, but in Perth, Adelaide, Tassie, ect.

Then again, if you go by membership which is what bluecrow did, Adelaide would win hands down.

THE GREATEST FANS