Is this the Crows greatest off season EVER

119others

2026 - The Crows are still coming
We looked like up and coming world beaters in 2023 and then totally sucked in 2024. We all know the reasons why, well broadly any way.

I would like to propose that we have just witnessed the greatest ever off season from our club (with the exclusion of the initial couple of years from inception with massively generous draft and list concessions which we nailed)

Why? Just so many reasons but here goes:

Players in:

3 x first 22 players traded in, none of them marginal. Likely all top 15 with ANB and Peatling top 10 IMO. All deals were very palatable re trade currency

Peatling - could be anything from B- to an A grader. Pace, agility, finds the goals, unique ability to draw high free kicks. We BEAT 6 other teams for his signature. Seriously, has this ever happened before? Massive tick not just for the now but for future precedence showing we can now do this re beating out other teams. Are we the most DESTINATION club in the land in the last 4-5 years? Certainly top quartile IMO
ANB - absolute quality team mate, finished 3rd in Dees B&F. Not far off winning it (1%). Straight into leadership group, replaces Murphy and a good 4-5 years out of this ultra professional
Cumming - probably the most question marks with injury but fast, courageous and great kick. When fit plays every week with positional flexibility

Drafting Draper - the one I really wanted and our team most needed. The explosive mid. SA boy. Future captain. Time will tell if he is B+ only to A+ but many thought he could go number one. As exciting a draft pick since…Curtin the year before!
Welsh - confident will be the biggest bargain since Johncock in the 50-60 type range. Inflated weight saw his draft position drop and from being billed as a top 10 player at the start of the year we pick up a bargain. Already showing signs with pace and ability to use strength (pushing Worrell over early in the game). Magnificent kick to complement what may arguably be the AFL’s greatest ever forward line in terms of kicking for goal accuracy with Tex, TT, Fog, Rankine, Rachele, ANB and even Keays is much improved. Will kick 17 goals 6 in a final soon enough to prove this up.

So 5 great ins….but wait there’s more

Just when we all acknowledged our ruck cluster #### Reidy pulls a late swiftly and we get McAndrew. Great work and big step up. Thanks to Kieran for self sacrifice.

No decent outs. That’s many years in a row now that the culture (Nicks does deserve credit) that players want to play for us. And that’s before the on field success even starts.

Thebarton

Now proceeding. Years of pain. Not necessarily first choice but it’s happening at last.

Off field

Balme - at last. Gallagher a very pleasant surprise. You don’t work at Macquarie (average non clerical staff earn over 1m per year so he is super smart) and previous Saints list Mgr who recruited NWM. Both great Board appointments

Murray - just won a flag with Lions. Seems like an alpha on the track. Nicks should be nervous. Great appointment

Logo

Looks great. Surely no complaints here

Finances

4m operating surplus IIRC but if I have the number wrong very happy to stand corrected.

We are building our new future at long last at Thebby. We have possibly the best squad we have had for decades with more elite youngsters than anytime since the early 90’s. Reidy and Hamish have completely nailed the last 4-5 years after a disappointing few years before hand. We have excellent Board appointments, Lions Murray, excellent recruits (inc a non SA boy choosing us over 6 other teams for perhaps the first time ever). Even Nicky’s has a Harvard qualification yay (joke - stop the abuse with this one)

The future is bright. We are entering one of the longest premiership windows of any modern AFL team over the next 7-8 years (or more) and I would be disappointed if we don’t win at least 2 flags in this period.

The clubs finally got its shit together.

Our best ever off season IMHO

The Crows are Coming

We looked like up and coming world beaters in 2023 and then totally sucked in 2024. We all know the reasons why, well broadly any way.

I would like to propose that we have just witnessed the greatest ever off season from our club (with the exclusion of the initial couple of years from inception with massively generous draft and list concessions which we nailed)

Why? Just so many reasons but here goes:

Players in:

3 x first 22 players traded in, none of them marginal. Likely all top 15 with ANB and Peatling top 10 IMO. All deals were very palatable re trade currency

Peatling - could be anything from B- to an A grader. Pace, agility, finds the goals, unique ability to draw high free kicks. We BEAT 6 other teams for his signature. Seriously, has this ever happened before? Massive tick not just for the now but for future precedence showing we can now do this re beating out other teams. Are we the most DESTINATION club in the land in the last 4-5 years? Certainly top quartile IMO
ANB - absolute quality team mate, finished 3rd in Dees B&F. Not far off winning it (1%). Straight into leadership group, replaces Murphy and a good 4-5 years out of this ultra professional
Cumming - probably the most question marks with injury but fast, courageous and great kick. When fit plays every week with positional flexibility

Drafting Draper - the one I really wanted and our team most needed. The explosive mid. SA boy. Future captain. Time will tell if he is B+ only to A+ but many thought he could go number one. As exciting a draft pick since…Curtin the year before!
Welsh - confident will be the biggest bargain since Johncock in the 50-60 type range. Inflated weight saw his draft position drop and from being billed as a top 10 player at the start of the year we pick up a bargain. Already showing signs with pace and ability to use strength (pushing Worrell over early in the game). Magnificent kick to complement what may arguably be the AFL’s greatest ever forward line in terms of kicking for goal accuracy with Tex, TT, Fog, Rankine, Rachele, ANB and even Keays is much improved. Will kick 17 goals 6 in a final soon enough to prove this up.

So 5 great ins….but wait there’s more

Just when we all acknowledged our ruck cluster #### Reidy pulls a late swiftly and we get McAndrew. Great work and big step up. Thanks to Kieran for self sacrifice.

No decent outs. That’s many years in a row now that the culture (Nicks does deserve credit) that players want to play for us. And that’s before the on field success even starts.

Thebarton

Now proceeding. Years of pain. Not necessarily first choice but it’s happening at last.

Off field

Balme - at last. Gallagher a very pleasant surprise. You don’t work at Macquarie (average non clerical staff earn over 1m per year so he is super smart) and previous Saints list Mgr who recruited NWM. Both great Board appointments

Murray - just won a flag with Lions. Seems like an alpha on the track. Nicks should be nervous. Great appointment

Logo

Looks great. Surely no complaints here

Finances

4m operating surplus IIRC but if I have the number wrong very happy to stand corrected.

We are building our new future at long last at Thebby. We have possibly the best squad we have had for decades with more elite youngsters than anytime since the early 90’s. Reidy and Hamish have completely nailed the last 4-5 years after a disappointing few years before hand. We have excellent Board appointments, Lions Murray, excellent recruits (inc a non SA boy choosing us over 6 other teams for perhaps the first time ever). Even Nicky’s has a Harvard qualification yay (joke - stop the abuse with this one)

The future is bright. We are entering one of the longest premiership windows of any modern AFL team over the next 7-8 years (or more) and I would be disappointed if we don’t win at least 2 flags in this period.

The clubs finally got its shit together.

Our best ever off season IMHO

The Crows are Coming
Good to see some positivity!

Very happy with our off-season.

Hopefully transitions in to some on field success too.

What about that one we all went on a camp and reinvigorated the culture and everyone was like super fired up and keen to be part of it and Charlie didn't just leave us (I am still salty, I love you charlie) and stuff

There is a lot of mayo on top of what has been said here, and a long way to go, BUT yes, it's been a hell of an off season.
Let's hope we look back on it as the THE off season.
Definitely a couple of drops of mayo haha, can’t deny that. But still an exceptional few months. If at the end of August when we were depressed (again) about our season if I told you that come Feb we would have Peatling, Cumming, ANB, Draper, Welsh, upgraded ruck, Balme, Gallagher, Lions Murray, retain Burgess (fears he wanted out), started digging at Thebby, great new logo and we wouldn’t lose anyone of importance then I reckon we would have taken that every single day.

But hey, like everything, time will tell, let’s just hope we don’t suck again…

Nicks last chance

In 1995 we

• Traded in four premiership players (Jarman, Bond, Caven and Koster)
  • Drafted Simon Goodwin in the pre-season draft who became a 5x All Australian and 2x premiership player
  • Drafted Kane Johnson who became a multiple premiership player
  • Also drafted Shane Ellen who was a 2x premiership player

Will be hard to beat acquiring seven premiership players in one off season

We also drafted Brent Williams who was part of the trade for Nathan Bassett, and we re-drafted Scott Hodges who was part of the trade for premiership player Aaron Keating

For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.
Still leveling out from last years complete mess.
Troll Fail GIF

In 1995 we

• Drafted Simon Goodwin in the pre-season draft who became a 5x All Australian and 2x premiership player

We also drafted Brent Williams who was part of the trade for Nathan Bassett, and we re-drafted Scott Hodges who was part of the trade for premiership player Aaron Keating
Some fair points here but Sugar Kane and Goody played a combined 2 games in 1996. I suppose it depends on whether we look back in 10 years and see what Welsh, Draper etc ultimately become which is what you are doing here with Goody and Kane (both had exceptional careers but clearly less regarded than Draper is)

You did also fail to mention we lost one of most elite talented youngsters in Wellman as part of DJ trade. Over 200 games, multiple AA’s. Was he a massive loss? Absolutely. But would you do the deal again? Every single day

In 1995 we

The alternative pick to Hodges was apparently Brent Harvey.........

In 1995 we

I remember 95, listening to AA in the arvo. They just dropped in one after another.

excited andy samberg GIF

With this squad in mind, it's hard to argue against 2021s off season being the peak. Trade in Dawson, draft Soligo, Rachele and Nankervis and got in more coaching reinforcement.

Even 2022 off season had Rankine coming in which is way more important then everything that happened in 2024.

Still, it's another good preseason and we've strung together a few of them in the last 4-5 years. Time for them to back it up on field.

Gotta feel for the Powa - membership drive over recent years marketed on the back of winning the off-season flag and now they’ve choked in that area.

Unsurprisingly, our better off-seasons have tended to follow our worst on-field seasons. Better draft picks, more urgency to make changes, etc.

I like to rate off-seasons not so much by what we get, but rather by opportunities missed. Did we miss a big name we were chasing, did we waste a draft pick, did we fail to get in on a valuable trade, did we fail to get a big name coach we were chasing?

Hard to argue with results this year. We chased several players, landed three of them, and paid relative peanuts for each of them. Got the players we were chasing in the draft, got senior coaching/admin experience into the club. And (touch wood) have managed to avoid major injuries this year, with our only long-term injury in Strachan being turned into a positive with the recruitment of McAndrew.

In 1995 we

Its a good off season hidden by the Jarman acquisition. Outside of that it really went under the radar. This is all under hindsight though. Plus there were less teams means quality players were a little bit easier to get, highlighted by the quality of the Sanfl. In this era where quality player are at a premium due to more teams id say this off season has the potential to blow that one away. If we win premierships of course.

A few obvious additions to our great off season - forgot them yesterday

New leadership group

Have nailed it. Reduced by 3-4 from far too big a group with some obvious players that needed to be, and were dropped. I thought perhaps Hinge may stay instead of ROB but not major. ANB taking his place as virtually everyone had expected. I will even leave FR0GGY $30 in his pocket at this point :-)

Fixture

As soft as its been for many many years. Yes I know things can change but dont tell me playing Weagles and Kangas twice isnt favourable. Our double up teams are rated 9th, 12th, 16th and 17th for the flag along with Pies (5th - looks priced wrong IMO due to their rabid fans bidding down their odds) and Horks (who are likely top 8 but not convinced they should be 2nd fave for flag. Only one 5 day break.
Overall very good fixture - no excuses

Injuries

Virtually nothing. Only minor stuff to Max and Sholl, Rankines flu and now Strachan has retired we are effectively at full strength IIRC. Perhaps Butts and Cumming resilience only queries. And very few injuries all pre season should mean good fitness levels throughout the group. Last year a lot more were impacted - Jones, Soli, Tex etc

Pre-season form

Bigman has convinced me we are close to sure things. Also we didnt look too shabby the other night with important players showing form - Soli, Dawson, TT, Worrell. Rachele etc. Wish we could put money on Crows beating Lions this Thursday. Close to fait accompli IMHO as we have much more to prove (winning away from home, beating the Premiers - only pre season but still has some importance and I think we will be keen for momentum to keep going and expect to win)

A few obvious additions to our great off season - forgot them yesterday

New leadership group

Have nailed it. Reduced by 3-4 from far too big a group with some obvious players that needed to be, and were dropped. I thought perhaps Hinge may stay instead of ROB but not major. ANB taking his place as virtually everyone had expected. I will even leave FR0GGY $30 in his pocket at this point :)

Fixture

As soft as its been for many many years. Yes I know things can change but dont tell me playing Weagles and Kangas twice isnt favourable. Our double up teams are rated 9th, 12th, 16th and 17th for the flag along with Pies (5th - looks priced wrong IMO due to their rabid fans bidding down their odds) and Horks (who are likely top 8 but not convinced they should be 2nd fave for flag. Only one 5 day break.
Overall very good fixture - no excuses

Injuries

Virtually nothing. Only minor stuff to Max and Sholl, Rankines flu and now Strachan has retired we are effectively at full strength IIRC. Perhaps Butts and Cumming resilience only queries. And very few injuries all pre season should mean good fitness levels throughout the group. Last year a lot more were impacted - Jones, Soli, Tex etc

Pre-season form

Bigman has convinced me we are close to sure things. Also we didnt look too shabby the other night with important players showing form - Soli, Dawson, TT, Worrell. Rachele etc. Wish we could put money on Crows beating Lions this Thursday. Close to fait accompli IMHO as we have much more to prove (winning away from home, beating the Premiers - only pre season but still has some importance and I think we will be keen for momentum to keep going and expect to win)
I was banking on being able to retire, bloody afc, can’t even stuff up at the appropriate time.

Last year Dermott Brereton suggested that Hawthorn were playing well a season early because they needed one more year of good draft picks. We are at a similar stage in our rebuild and have received another good draft pick so hopefully this year we are ready to go.

Yep, it's been a very good offseason. Now let's see them turn into something ON field too!
It's a rare thing, but I'd almost say (gulp) this offseason has been bordering perfect? (Touching wood as much as possible right now, I'd hate to be the the curse)

We got our targets trading and in the draft to make the team significantly better, and early signs are good with no significant injuries (sorry Strauchan) that we haven't covered.

There seems to be depth again. Like really serious depth again. That bodes well.

We're primed and ready to go. Now Coach, don't hold us back. Don't royally f*ck up again!

Big Kev - I'm Excited!.jpeg