The Heatwave

• Thread starter Thread starter saj_21

At 11:45am in Melbourne 39 degrees (could well get to 43 I reckon)

At 11:15am in Adelaide 42.7 degrees (nearly up to yesterday's max, I still think it could get to as much as 46 there.)

It's times like these where my dad's obsession with having a really, really, really good aircon pays off. I'm actually almost cold in the house :eek:...but I'm savouring it because I have to go out soon.

Same here in the pi$$ing down factor, tho when it stops the humidity kicks in - steam city.....

I can't believe how much water we are getting at the moment. Fortunately the temps are heading down over this side of the country.

whereas here in Victoria we are looking at the 2nd lowest monthly rainfall in January in recorded history.

I had a crazy arse dream that it was gonna be 50 on Monday with a fierce thunderstorm.

Fortunately I woke up, looked at the weather report and saw it was nothing more than a crazy dream.

Though I'm not sure I'll live past tonight if we're expected to do much running at footy training.

At 12noon in Adelaide it has passed the Max of 44

In Melbourne it is just over 40

Here where I am on the Mornington Peninsula currently 35

I had a crazy arse dream that it was gonna be 50 on Monday with a fierce thunderstorm.

Fortunately I woke up, looked at the weather report and saw it was nothing more than a crazy dream.

Though I'm not sure I'll live past tonight if we're expected to do much running at footy training.
A couple of years ago, didn't it get up to like 47? It was when Australia played England in the cricket. So it might've been 02/03. I think it was one of the hottest Melbourne days ever. Then it was meant to be something like 48 the next day and it only got to 20.

MRobbo said:
At 12noon in Adelaide it has passed the Max of 44

In Melbourne it is just over 40

Here where I am on the Mornington Peninsula currently 35

In Frankston it's 34.5. But 10 minutes ago it was 35. Hopefully it gets higher.

The bad thing about this is there will probably be a power outage and I won't be able to have the air-con on.

A couple of years ago, didn't it get up to like 47? It was when Australia played England in the cricket. So it might've been 02/03. I think it was one of the hottest Melbourne days ever. Then it was meant to be something like 48 the next day and it only got to 20.

Geez mate, don't make shit up! Hottest Jan temp in Melbourne was 45.6 in 1939.

http://weather.theage.com.au/local.jsp

Officially now Adelaide's hottest day for 70 years

at 12:40pm currently 44.7 degrees (112.5 Fahrenheit)

40.2 Melbourne
44.5 Adelaide

geez, how hot can it get to in Adelaide?

I wonder when Adelaide last hit 45?

Adelaide's January record was 46.1C in 1939.

Officially now Adelaide's hottest day for 70 years

at 12:40pm currently 44.7 degrees (112.5 Fahrenheit)

dude, seriously, where are you getting your data?

The Bureau of Meteorlogy site, which by the looks of it is 20 minutes slow, is showing a maximum of 44.5 at 12:35pm:

http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDS60800.shtml

Do you have a site that has up to the minute data, or data that differs from the BOM site?

I don't miss those stinking hot Melbourne days. Especially playing cricket when it's 40 degrees. I remember one day some one brought a handheld thermometer (no idea why) on a hot day and it read 46C in the sun. It doesn't get that hot here in Atlanta (though it is a lot more humid).

On the other hand, I like the heat a lot better than the winter days here where it either barely nudges freezing or doesn't even get there. Already three or four days like that here.

tx mate. i was looking at a "Latest Weather Observations for South Australia" page which appears to be a bit slow, whereas your link is "Latest Weather Observations for the Adelaide Area".

You would have to guess that Adelaide will easily hit 45 today. The max is usually recorded later than now.

tx mate. i was looking at a "Latest Weather Observations for South Australia" page which appears to be a bit slow, whereas your link is "Latest Weather Observations for the Adelaide Area".

You would have to guess that Adelaide will easily hit 45 today. The max is usually recorded later than now.

I agree it could get to 46.