• Thread starter Strike_Force
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

S

Strike_Force

Which footy player has the highest IQ?

This is a tough question.

I reckon Peter Bell as he uses his brain when choosing where to kick and all that shite. He is a smart guy-i've met him in person when i visited Melbourne.

John Barnes, oops wrong topic. Seriously I would say Manton, he is a very smart guy, just a pity he still has that big chip on his shoulder about the Bombers getting rid of him. Anyway, I enjoyed his little witticisms on the footy show.

------------------
mantis

Matthew Clarke and Andrew McKay will both soon be completing Doctorate's in Veterinary Science.

Benny Gale has a Master's degree and is currently studying for a Law degree.

Nick Holland and Peter Bell are both studying to be lawyers.

Matthew Liptak (now retired) is a Medical Doctor.

Other past players include Mike Fitzpatrick, Brent Crosswell, Peter Moore, Richard Loveridge.

I thought Andew Demetriou was clever, but then he blew it by taking a job at the AFL
biggrin.gif

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

[This message has been edited by CJH (edited 22 November 2000).]

Ben Holland is also a podiatrist

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

BSA,

I tend to also notice a difference between the intellect of your average union player against the average league player.

Union players always seem more articulate. For that matter, some of the Kiwi League players (such as Stephen Kearney) are quite articulate.

------------------

Think one of the Wakelins will be a pharmacist. And everyone knows Whoosha is one.

Believe it or not, Fraser Gehrig is supposed to be pretty smart too.

It's hard to tell since they all do commerce degrees now.

Does the type of degree determine how clever you are? Not sure that it is a good starting point in assessing someones IQ. Medicine degree versus Sports Management degree?

How about differentiating between
‘Football smart’ pertinent to both on and of the field footy knowledge
As opposed to
‘General smart’ pertinent to knowledge outside football. In other words, ACTUAL smartness.

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
CJH I don't want to patronise you, so before I start ranting can I ask if you know much about the relationship between Rugby Union and Rugby League ?

Actually I don't really know a whole heap about the league/union relationships and cultures.

I am now quite familiar with the rules / strategies
biggrin.gif
of League as I've been watching it on Foxtel since the Super League day's.

I've also watched a fair bit of Union and have a general grasp of the rules.

What else I do know (I think!) is:
  • League evolved from Union as the working class man couldn't break into the gentleman's game of Union. (Not unlike what currently occurs with English cricket)
  • Union players tend to be your Public School/University Types.
  • League players don't!
  • League is a simplified version of Union (who's rules are every bit a complicated as cricket!)
  • League and Union players can easily cross between the codes (ie Brad Thorn, Fifita Moala)

Now feel free to patronise me!
biggrin.gif

------------------

yeah no worries CJH I just didn't want to rant on about a whole heap of stuff that you may already know about ...

Its no accident that Union players come across as a bit more articulate and 'with it' than their League counterparts. For most of the games history it has been a bastion of the establishment. Union was the game played by the professional classes because it was the Professional clasees that had the spare money to indulge in this 'amateur' fantasy world where Doctors, Lawyers, Dentists and Army Officers would congregate to play rugby and rub shoulders with each other.

Often in this scenario the actual rugby was of seconday importance to who you could rub shoulders with on the sidelines or in the dressing rooms. Many a big-business deal was concluded at a lineout or in a scrum ! So like the Spring Racing Carnival or the Sydney-Hobart yacht race, the actual sport was not as important to the participants as the personal and business contacts you could cultivate by moving in those circles.

thats why traditionally elitist occupations have been drawn to the game like Bees to Honey. These days Union is fully professional so you get alot of guys in the game who are just pro-footy players, nothing more, nothing less. Before that though it was no surprise to see an entire Wallabies team made up of Bankers, Lawyers, Stockbrokers, Teachers etc etc.

Thats why Union players come across on the TV as a little more, errr, 'sophisticated' than thier League counterparts.

Rugby League existed only as breakaway, fully professional, adjunct to Union. It all started back in the 1880's when Rugby was booming on the playing fields of English Public Schools. Lower class (their words, not mine OK ?) people, mainly residing in the industrial north wanted to play the game too because they could see that playing Rugby was not only jolly good fun, but also a passport into a world of wealth and privilege. The already southern-upper class dominated Rugby Football Union said no - mainly because they were a bunch of snobs that took exception to a pack of Northern Coalminers trying to take over the 'gentleman's game'. The result was the breakaway Rugby League, at first the rules were the same, the only difference was that League players were paid to play, Union players were not. Then gradually over time League evolved its own set of rules to subtly distinguish it from the Union game.

One particulary good example to illustrate these important differences between the two is the story of Graeme Mourie.

Graeme Mourie was Captain of the New Zealand All Blacks from 1977-1982. It is usually regarded as one of the most prestigous jobs in world rugby. Anyway before he was captain, Mourie was a Taranaki Dairy Farmer with half an Arts Degree and a few good ideas about how to play modern, running rugby. He was approached by both the NSW Rugby League and the University club in Paris to come and play for them.

The Rugby League people (it was Cantebury-Bankstown I think) offered him a reasonably
good salary, in line with whatever the market could bear in those days.

The University (union) club in Paris said this by way of a counter offer : 'Look we can't pay you to play rugby because that is against the rules, but we can offer you an Associate Professorship in Physical Education at Paris University, a house, a car, and all expenses paid etc etc

It doesn't take a rocket scientist to work out which offer Mourie chose.

I use this as way of explaining the differences between the two codes, the types of people who play them and how the 'amateur' Union game is sometimes not what it appears.

Of course this is all nonsense nowadays, as I said before both codes are fully professional now so these differences are largely academic.

cheers

That rugby story reminds me of something I heard about an English (MCC) cricket tour of Australia.

The amateurs (mostly batsmen) stayed in different hotels than the lowely profesionals (mostly bowlers).

The profesionals were payed to play, the amateurs were not. BUT the amateurs were paid "expenses". And guess what? The "expense" payments were much higher than the wages paid to the profesionals.

BSA,

Rugby is played to a certain degree in some of the schools and Universities around Melbourne, though not to the same extent as in Sydney and Brisbane. (A chap I once worked with about 10 years ago (Scott Nielson) went up to Sydney to work and pursue rugby at a higher level - he played for Randwick and also was good enough to become only the second Victorian to represent the Waratahs')

Probably a better equivalent in Victoria is Amateur football. Most of the clubs that make up the VAFA are University teams, and Private School's Old Boy teams. I played for a few seasons with Clayton Amateurs - a side with liberal sprinklings of professional people - doctors, lawyers, architects, teacher and police.

The amusing thing was that I also played cricket for Clayton Youth who shared the same ground and clubrooms as the Amateur's football club. The cultural difference between the two clubs couldn't have been more marked.

Once cricket training started, rusty utes replaced the BMW's and overalls the suits. The language became a little more colourful as well!

Both clubs sstil drank like fish though
biggrin.gif

------------------

The highest IQ