The "I'm Sorry" Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Pivo

Kelly's effort on Stanton wasn't anywhere near fantastic. No free kick paid either :confused:

And where's our sorry thread? Our percentage took a hammering and we now have loser Hawthorn supporters making fun of us again. 40 odd flagless years and not a shred of humility. Lift Cat fans!

I am also guilty of bagging Kelly but I watched his round 22 2006 game against Hawthorn and I wanted to strangle him...the most unaccountable football I have witnessed.

But he redeemed himself last year and I think he is in for a huge 2008.

Go Kels.......

Kelly's effort on Stanton wasn't anywhere near fantastic. No free kick paid either :confused:

And where's our sorry thread? Our percentage took a hammering and we now have loser Hawthorn supporters making fun of us again. 40 odd flagless years and not a shred of humility. Lift Cat fans!
Free kick? What rule did he break?

I think Kelly is a big part of why we improved so much last season. He still is probably our 4th or 5th ranked midfielder, but it's because he has lifted his game up to a high level, we bat a lot deeper than most other clubs.
So, when Ablett, Bartel and Corey are on the bench, we still have guys like Kelly and Selwood in there playing to the level of the best midfielders on opposition sides.

It means our rotations are dictated more by game-time/rest as opposed to match-ups, which it used to be in the past. Other teams rotations now are all about matching up to us. Great position to be in, I say!

It was a little out of the smart-a$$ book and, personally, I didn't think he needed to do it. A quiet word in Stanton's ear would have done the job. Throwing the footy at him allows the whole stadium to see.

Just didn't think it was required.

could've not even paid attention to who was watching, stadium or not - just an in-game reaction to an opponent fumbling, when he had more than enough time, under perceived, then real pressure, then eventually finding the line. it was a bit like : "here, is this what you were tryin' to pick up?"

it was amusing... although i was very surprised a free wasn't paid to stanton.

could've not even paid attention to who was watching, stadium or not - just an in-game reaction to an opponent fumbling, when he had more than enough time, under perceived, then real pressure, then eventually finding the line. it was a bit like : "here, is this what you were tryin' to pick up?"

Under the same rule by which Milburn had a free kick paid against him last year for throwing his mouthguard at a player?? Unsportsmanship or something like that?
Surely there's nothing written in the rulebook specifically about that!

Actually, the more I think about it the funnier it gets. I know I shouldn't support the act but damn it was good and I reckon I'd probably do the same thing.

Under the same rule by which Milburn had a free kick paid against him last year for throwing his mouthguard at a player?? Unsportsmanship or something like that?

I remember that!! I suspect it is a rule the umpire just pulls from nowhere - a nowhere that everyone knows :D

Was that a free or a 50m penalty?

You know, I really just wanted this thread to be a place where ppl could admit to the world they were wrong about players. :D

Still, it has turned into a very interesting read.:thumbsu:

throwing things. at opponents.

let alone in dead ball situations.

do you even need to f'k'n ask if there is a rule governing this?

Are you talkin' to me? :confused:

If so... no, I'm sure there isn't a rule. However, if a free kick is payable, there must be some reason for it that is contrary to what is written in the rules (i.e. otherwise it is just a free kick because the umpire felt like giving one).
So, my question is, what rule is it? Is there a rule that states a free kick can be given because of 'unsportsmanship behaviour', or 'conduct unbecoming'?

I'm not saying a free kick isn't warranted for unsportsmanlike behaviour, but is that what it is written down as in the rules?

I'm sorry, Mark Blake, that I suggested after the 2007 season that the club should trade you instead of Steven King.*

(*Round 2, 2008: vs Essendon)

Will Kelly be able to keep this form up?

i rate him highly and am thinking of putting him into my dream team and at the moment its 50/50 between him and marc murphy

slightly leaning towards Kelly tho, just wanting to get peoples opinions on what his consistency will be like this year

I was a the game yesterday and was very surprised that he didn't get a free kick paid against him. I liked his aggression but you have to temper that with showing some respect. Calling him a disgrace is going over the top but I wouldn't expect anything less from an opposition supporter.

I think you'll find it similar enough for the umpire to pay a free kick for time wasting. I think players must put the ball down or give it back to the boundary umpire. Throwing it or kicking it away incurs a free kick.

Will Kelly be able to keep this form up?

i rate him highly and am thinking of putting him into my dream team and at the moment its 50/50 between him and marc murphy

slightly leaning towards Kelly tho, just wanting to get peoples opinions on what his consistency will be like this year

I'm trying to decide between Murphy and Kelly too... Reading the comments from the Cats fans here sounds like he is in the squad to stay...

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

I would put in Kelly.

I enjoyed his game and had a laugh when he threw the football. Stanton was rushed when he heard the footsteps and fumbled the ball. I agree that is wasnt the greatest sportsmanship and can understand why Dons supporters didnt like it but I thought it was great and added to the theater!

One thing that was very noticeable though was no Dons players got over and let Kelly know he was out of line and stuck up for Stanton. We are becoming a team that bullies others and as long as we never cross the line, I like it!

I would put in Kelly.

I enjoyed his game and had a laugh when he threw the football. Stanton was rushed when he heard the footsteps and fumbled the ball. I agree that is wasnt the greatest sportsmanship and can understand why Dons supporters didnt like it but I thought it was great and added to the theater!

One thing that was very noticeable though was no Dons players got over and let Kelly know he was out of line and stuck up for Stanton. We are becoming a team that bullies others and as long as we never cross the line, I like it!

Good enough for me! :thumbsu:

So you can see him getting these sorts of numbers every week then?

his act on stanton was a disgrace..if thats the way he plays the game, he deserves none of the success that his teammates thoroughly deserve

That was a bloody pisser, sorry mate!

It was unnecessary, but Stants was fumbling around like a Parkinson's Disease patient and Kel was just rubbing it in. Not much in it.

Anyway, loved his game on Sunday. Several times he just tore the ball free and took off, out of a Bomber's players hands. That just highlights the way he goes about it - tough, no-nonsense, and his use of the ball has improved as well. Top stuff Kel!

So you can see him getting these sorts of numbers every week then?
He had a good finals last year and was very very good in the pre season. I was telling my mates him and stokes looked like they were in for big years and I have been right so far. Is this SC or dreamteam as I think he is suited for SC as his possesions are usually used well. Will dob a couple of goals too (who doesnt in this team at the moment?

I am putting him in my team. I think in a team that loses a lot a payer like Murphy is likely to have more quiet games. Even with other players "stealing" possessions of him, Kelly is still going well.

He had a good finals last year and was very very good in the pre season. I was telling my mates him and stokes looked like they were in for big years and I have been right so far. Is this SC or dreamteam as I think he is suited for SC as his possesions are usually used well. Will dob a couple of goals too (who doesnt in this team at the moment?

I am putting him in my team. I think in a team that loses a lot a payer like Murphy is likely to have more quiet games. Even with other players "stealing" possessions of him, Kelly is still going well.

Cheers. The bold bit is the clincher over Murphy, even in a quiet game he is much more likely to bag a couple of goals, Murphy is the opposite.

Its for DT. :thumbsu: