Society/Culture The internet or flushable toilets?

Flushable toilets or the Internet

• Internet

Votes: 8 30.8%
  • Toilets

Votes: 18 69.2%

Flushable toilets are necessary for effective large scale sanitation systems, you dummy.
I did not know that. In any case there has been this invention in the past fifty years called bottled water so getting rid of flushable toilets isnt all of a sudden going to force people to drink water contaminated by human waste.

All of that toxic masculine poop percolating away in the hot summer sun mere inches away from your back door, I don't blame you one bit.
Dozens of hairy tradies whose diet consists of pies and iced coffees? Yeah, it ain't cool. Particularly for apprentices when they go in there and people decide to place a forklift against the door so that they can't get out again :tearsofjoy:

When we had someone doing our kitchen, one of the tradies used the ensuite, my wife hit the roof and the builder got the worst call of his life. Let’s just say the whole thing was a horrorshow - bacon and egg rolls and Dare iced coffees don’t make a good diet.

Wat?

http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mf/3310.0

You're a troll, but I give you credit for being a unique one at least.

The internet is great, but effective sewerage systems keep people alive. Good luck enjoying a happy and healthy life in a city without one...
I agree it was incorrectly worded. I will rephrase. Studies show that divorce rates are lower for couples who meet online compared to couples who dont. Therefore, all else equal, meeting online reduces divorce rates.

Sanitation would be greatly better than it was 100 years ago when flushable toilets first became a thing. Dont assume that getting rid of flushable toilets takes us back to the early 20th century in terms of sanitation.

The best one I saw was afghani labourers who squat on the shitter and their aim was not always accurate. One of the boys got to the job early and smeared petroleum jelly all around the seat.....

I usually like Seeds posts because he has some alternative thoughts. But I'm not a fan of random unrealistic hypotheticals. In what scenario might I be asked to choose between these two things?

People are talking about septic tanks like it's ancient history. I built my house 10 years ago. Town sewage was not available at my site so I got a septic. My house has flushing toilets!

I usually like Seeds posts because he has some alternative thoughts. But I'm not a fan of random unrealistic hypotheticals. In what scenario might I be asked to choose between these two things?

People are talking about septic tanks like it's ancient history. I built my house 10 years ago. Town sewage was not available at my site so I got a septic. My house has flushing toilets!
Yes this is more a silly GD thread than an SRP thread. Those GD guys just bore me to tears though so I couldnt go through with it.

Advantages of having an internet:

Dont have to go into banks. I never had to before the advent of the internet, we were getting paid via direct deposit well before that and ATMs were around a long time before.
Can buy products from overseas. So? We couldn't really before but we never knew any better.
Uber is vastly superior to the taxi monopoly. Nothing wrong with taxis back when I needed them most, in the 80s and early 90s. I could always get one, you could smoke in them and the drivers knew where they were going.
Can save significant time by booking services and purchasing goods online. Yep, you can.
Airbnb. Never used it, I stay in hotels, motels and caravan parks / camping grounds.
Can go on overseas holidays without having to use travel agents. Can also choose more exciting things to do on my holidays. Wouldn't it be more exciting if it was spontaneous?
Easier to get laid than having to go to a pub. I'll take your word for it, I'd stopped going to pubs / nightclubs before the advent of the internet.
Meeting people on Dating sites are leading to lower divorce rates. Is it, haven't read that anywhere. (apart from you in this post of course)
Free overseas phone calls thanks to skype. Never needed to call anyone overseas back in the day, 5th generation Aussies.
No longer have to go to libraries to access journal articles. Anyone who went to university before journal articles were online will know how much of a pain this was not to mention how limited the range of material you had compared to know. I used to love going to libraries as a kid back in Geelong, there was one on the way walking home from the local swimming pool. It was beautiful and cool and quiet, I loved reading in there.
Much easier to find new types of music and tv shows thanks to downloading sites. Before the internet I was playing / training for sport 6 to 7 days a week, my spare time was spent socialising, much better than now.
Emails has greatly improved communication. This has particularly improved office work life. Also made it much easier to organise group meet ups. email has enabled managers to micromanage and overwork people. People can now pull the most insignificant data (think that it's important) and create more work. When you used to have a meet up before emails, before you finished that one, you just scheduled the next one.
The internet enables me to not only work from home but live in a different country to my work colleagues. I've never had a job where it's really been practical to work from home.

Advantages of flushable toilets:
Going to the toilet is a lot more icky.
Toilet expenses will be quite a bit higher.

Yep im taking the internet. Even if it only gave me half the benefits it does I would still easily take the internet.

I'm still taking the shitter.

I go to an atm maybe 3 times a year now. Im guessing that wasnt the case before the internet. How exactly did you pay off credit cards before the internet?

Yes you didnt know better before. Now you know better now.

What exactly is a spontaneous holidays? In the past most overseas holidays were basically spoon fed to you like you were a little kid by travel agencies. Now you have complete freedom thanks to the net. Sure you could wander around aimlessly and check in to motels you came across each night. Fun for a little while but it would get pretty monotous and you would miss out on a lot of great places and experiences.

Try airbnb. Saves you a fortune compared to hotels and there are some really unique places to stay. Camping is awesome but i wouldnt of found so many great camping places without the net.

My sex life became far better with the net. The options literally fall into your lap.

Libraries are fun as a kid. They are hell as a student or a white collar worker.

How exactly does the internet stop you playing social sport. Sure didnt stop me. I think you will find age and life circumstances probably stopped you. And this is the reason why i think most people choose the toilet over the net. The net wasnt around when you were younger and we remember the past more favourably than it actually was. And we often subconsciously attibute all new things to being partly the cause of things that are less favourable now compared to the past regardless of whether they are. I hear some people with a straight face complain that the net, a medium for communication, has actually reduced communication.

Yes emails enable people much more time so managers give us extra work to do. This is the essence of productivity. We can do more.

Fair enough on the last point. But a lot of people do get to work from home and its game changing in terms of work life balance. Especially when you have kids. Im not sure if i could cope going back to the rat races and doing 40-50 hours a week in an office week after week.

I cant take credit for it. Its the main example used in the debate of whether productivity was higher in the past versus recent decades. I think its a stupid comparison but many intellectuals really seem to care about it.

I currently work in mining and whilst productivity might be continually improving there is massive amounts of money on materials, duplication and superfluous, non production people being wasted every minute, it's actually disgraceful.

Too many planners, work management and coordinator types on big money taking work off each other, duplicating tasks and ultimately no one is held to account. They handball around and around.

I've not long ago moved from Nickel West to Iron Ore, they both waste lots of money, Iron Ore on everything and Nickel West more on projects. Personnel wise, Nickel West runs much leaner and, imo, better. There's direct lines of communication and accountability.

I go to an atm maybe 3 times a year now. Im guessing that wasnt the case before the internet. How exactly did you pay off credit cards before the internet?

Yes you didnt know better before. Now you know better now.

What exactly is a spontaneous holidays? In the past most overseas holidays were basically spoon fed to you like you were a little kid by travel agencies. Now you have complete freedom thanks to the net. Sure you could wander around aimlessly and check in to motels you came across each night. Fun for a little while but it would get pretty monotous and you would miss out on a lot of great places and experiences.

Try airbnb. Saves you a fortune compared to hotels and there are some really unique places to stay. Camping is awesome but i wouldnt of found so many great camping places without the net.

My sex life became far better with the net. The options literally fall into your lap.

Libraries are fun as a kid. They are hell as a student or a white collar worker.

How exactly does the internet stop you playing social sport. Sure didnt stop me. I think you will find age and life circumstances probably stopped you. And this is the reason why i think most people choose the toilet over the net. The net wasnt around when you were younger and we remember the past more favourably than it actually was. And we often subconsciously attibute all new things to being partly the cause of things that are less favourable now compared to the past regardless of whether they are. I hear some people with a straight face complain that the net, a medium for communication, has actually reduced communication.

Yes emails enable people much more time so managers give us extra work to do. This is the essence of productivity. We can do more.

Fair enough on the last point. But a lot of people do get to work from home and its game changing in terms of work life balance. Especially when you have kids. Im not sure if i could cope going back to the rat races and doing 40-50 hours a week in an office week after week.

1. I didn't have a credit card before the internet.
2. I wasn't talking about the holiday itself being spontaneous, I was talking about activities within the holiday which was your point I was addressing.
3. I found heaps of great camping places using the Camps 6 book (which is now up to Camps 9) and word of mouth. I don't stay in hotels enough for it or airbnb to make a difference to my life.
4. I'll take your word on your sex life.
5. I never used the library to study or work, pleasure only.
6. The internet doesn't stop you from playing sport, you said that the internet was great for finding new music and tv shows to watch, I said that prior to the internet I had plenty of other things that kept me busy, I didn't need it. Even now I barely watch tv shows outside of news and sport.
7. I work part time, 2 weeks on, 4 weeks off, since I went back to part time, when I was getting back to work after my breaks, I'd have around 800 emails, 100% work related and 98% irrelevant to me, yet I was devoting a significant amount of time to sifting through them, complete waste of time. I have access to it on my phone, so I'm in the habit now, of when I'm on break and the family are in bed, I'll will do a daily clean out. When I get back to work, there's probably 10 to 15 that actually need my attention.
Managers, in my experience, with access to the internet, data bases and email now largely lump people with a lot of work that isn't important. KPIs are set on useless data that someone else has pulled to fulfill their own KPIs and filtered it down and everyone panics about it. I see it every single day that I'm at work.

They built the London sewers because people were dying drinking water. There's an episode on The Seven Wonders of the Industrial World, titled The Sewer King, check it out if you have never seen it.

Flushing toilets, septic systems, sewerage systems, yep, they're for me. No cholera or typhoid for me thanks.

All the things you mention are nice, but none of them are potentially going to be the difference between life and death or have increased my life expectancy.

I thought toilets were non flushable up until the 1950s/60s?

We used to live close to Melbourne and all the homes had lanes behind them. I was told every home back then had outdoor "dunnies" in the backyard along the fence, and every morning someone would come down these lanes and collect all the s**t in the pan from every house. Then eventually they were all converted to septic or mains sewer.

I thought toilets were non flushable up until the 1950s/60s?

We used to live close to Melbourne and all the homes had lanes behind them. I was told every home back then had outdoor "dunnies" in the backyard along the fence, and every morning someone would come down these lanes and collect all the s**t in the pan from every house. Then eventually they were all converted to septic or mains sewer.

Yep, every home in the inner city had a lane at the back for the collection of human waste. A little back shed toilet with a trapdoor to the lane and a collection by a man with a horse and cart. The collection wasn’t always daily.
Human crap was just hanging around the inner city in thousands and thousand of buckets. Imagine summer and the flies.
The dream was to move to the suburbs - the places with back yards big enough to have your own septic tank. No crap to be seen or smelt anywhere.

Yep, every home in the inner city had a lane at the back for the collection of human waste. A little back shed toilet with a trapdoor to the lane and a collection by a man with a horse and cart. The collection wasn’t always daily.
Human crap was just hanging around the inner city in thousands and thousand of buckets. Imagine summer and the flies.
The dream was to move to the suburbs - the places with back yards big enough to have your own septic tank. No crap to be seen or smelt anywhere.

Even in the burbs
iu

iu

I remember being told stories as a youngster that no one ever checked their dunny can (who would want to given the contents)
So they could rust out. The poor night cart man would grab the can, hoist it up on his shoulder and the bottom would fall out of it.
Not pretty.

nothing is real anymore...death is the only exception
we live in peace time
living standards are high.....but something is wrong
suicide rate is higher then ever before
depression is now mainstream

I'm leaning towards life being better before the internet, regardless of the dunny.
Classic irrational thinking. Oh the world was so much better in the past. No it wasnt. It sucked arse in comparison. The fact you are typing on the interent is proof that you would rather have it than not. Instead of being on the net you would be bored stiff watching the crap they had on the 4 tv channels that we had.

nothing is real anymore...death is the only exception
we live in peace time
living standards are high.....but something is wrong
suicide rate is higher then ever before
depression is now mainstream
Depression was always there. We just didnt bother diagnosing it because doctors were too concerned with treating rampant disease and the effects of poverty. People from the past would laugh at us for the way we act now. They dealt with real life and death issues like constant threat of starvation and the impact of war.

Any proof the suicide rates are up. I dont think they are and people used to hide the fact when someone killed themself in the past cos it was frowned upon by religion and was seen as an act that would lead to damnation. Not to mention public shaming of the surviving family.

Classic irrational thinking. Oh the world was so much better in the past. No it wasnt. It sucked arse in comparison. The fact you are typing on the interent is proof that you would rather have it than not. Instead of being on the net you would be bored stiff watching the crap they had on the 4 tv channels that we had.
Seeds logic: you think smoking heroin is bad for you, but you keep doing it right?