The Jamarra Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dogwatch

Will Jamarra ever play senior footy for the Bulldogs again?

• Yes

Votes: 46 14.6%
  • No

Votes: 228 72.2%
  • Unsure / Don't care

Votes: 42 13.3%

Outta curiosity - why would he do a medical?
I assume every player does. Suspect it’s mostly to have a baseline of all their health data, measurements etc before to compare against first day back. Depending on how in depth it is you might also find prior unknown injuries like Brisbane did with Hipwood.

PISS is the keyword here, he has been taken it with the dogs for a long time and now the dogs are saying PISS off. Plus he has been on the PISS and other stuff.

Ralph going with to be traded, if not, we will try and sort a settlement.

So the question then is, why would anyone even bother trading for him if they know we’re not prepared to have him on the list in 2026 under any circumstance?

The only advantage would (possibly) be, avoiding the fight for a free agent and securing his services before someone else might move in. But that’s not that different to the current situation given Jamarra has to ok any trade.

Or maybe the AFL quietly steps in and influences an outcome to avoid the optics of Jamarra being sacked.

Situation is what it is but it’s getting annoying losing so much talent. It just doesn’t happen to the top clubs as much

Very concerning pattern and the list of talent leaving continues to happen.

Smith leaving I could see a mile away, it was obvious his manager was leaking to the press that he wanted to leave that year earlier. Hawks and Geelong were both keen by the sound of it and it's a shame we didn't pull the trigger.

Weren't we okay with a trade to Hawthorn but Smith said no? By that stage he was already a Geelong player in waiting and wanted to make sure that they got him for as cheap as possible, which meant waiting until he was out of contract.

We were the ones blocking those deals from the information I got and pretty sure other in the knows on here said the same. We didn't want to trade him.

Iconic for the year but **** was the only big name to wear it

54Kennedy, Rick198114
54Darcy, Anthony199312
54Sampson, Glen19806
54Barham, Jamie19821
54Cullen, Mark19861
Glen Sampson brings back memories! At the time of his debut, his Mum was our favourite barmaid at the Anglers pub. (And a lovely lady who’d sacrificed heaps to keep up with young Glen’s footy regime)

It's not only the talent leaving its the way we get completely reamed at the trade table for them.

Not sure how we'd even stop it.

Once you want them out of the club or they are out of contract your bargaining power is reduced.

Dunkley out of contract

Smith, Stringer and JUH the club wanted them out or wants them out hence our lack of bargaining power.

Dunkley was a loss. Yet just know that we wanted Smith gone as much as he wanted to leave. Incidents throughout the early part of 2024 meant the club was always going to part ways. It not appropriate to state that details, yet the parting with Smith was mutual and inevitable as the club needs to protect itself and its players.

By the early part of 2024, do you mean the preseason? Was the knee injury genuine?

Have the "incidents" gone away at Geelong, or are they ignoring them while the team is winning?

Agreed. Dunkley the only one that hurts. Yeah it sucks watching Smith in a GF and getting 29 votes in the Brownlow but gotta look after the club first. The others left and failed miserably. I have zero faith Jamarra will turn it around.

Speaking to a C'wood mate, this afternoon, claims to have a bit of inside knowledge. He blames the insipid, post Q1, performance, on Hill. Missing all those H & A games because of family issues but became available for finals, led to divisions among the players. Ring a bell ?