The Jamarra Thread

Will Jamarra ever play senior footy for the Bulldogs again?

• Yes

Votes: 46 14.6%
  • No

Votes: 228 72.2%
  • Unsure / Don't care

Votes: 42 13.3%

Honestly and this Feels like an unpopular opinion around here.

I don’t want to see him in another teams colours, and I don’t want to see a redemption story elsewhere. I want him to redeem himself at our club, with our help. I almost look at it as our failure if we cast him aside as a “too hard” when other clubs wouldn’t. It’s a small club mentality.

Why can Geelong redeem all these “bad boys” and we can’t? Why can “Hardwick will set him straight” and we can’t? Why does this feel like to me that we are lumping this in the “too hard” basket.

I’ve gone into my own mental health struggles early in this thread, I hate seeing our supporters dig into a kid the way they have been and want to turf him for “stealing a wage”.

I know I am in the vast minority here but if it was upto me I’d be letting him start the year fresh with us next year.
Agreed.

I’m not so judgmental about Marra. Just cynical about the system and his management.

What? What a crazy blanket statement which isn't remotely true.

Heaps of people with depression go off the rails into a party lifestyle. Chasing a high through partying is seen as a way to escape that feeling, this then leads to comedowns/hangovers/tiredness which leads into feeling more depressed and the vicious cycle repeats.

Some comments in this thread are truly baffling.

Crazy, blanket statement perhaps, but I'm just talking my situation and that of other people who I know that have struggled with their mental health.

I know in my situation I was a wreck that didn't want to leave the house and was very low. The last thing I would've wanted to do was party all night.

I turned up to my job and nobody knew what was going on when I shut the door at night.

Anyway, I get it. Each to their own and everybody handles things differently.

I wish Jamarra well. He's clearly burnt his bridges at our club and beyond that I suppose the club will just move on. Just a shame really.

Shows the importance of having good people who have your back and give you the right advice.

I don’t want to see him in another teams colours, and I don’t want to see a redemption story elsewhere. I want him to redeem himself at our club, with our help. I almost look at it as our failure if we cast him aside as a “too hard” when other clubs wouldn’t. It’s a small club mentality.

Why can Geelong redeem all these “bad boys” and we can’t? Why can “Hardwick will set him straight” and we can’t? Why does this feel like to me that we are lumping this in the “too hard” basket.

I’ve gone into my own mental health struggles early in this thread, I hate seeing our supporters dig into a kid the way they have been and want to turf him for “stealing a wage”.

I know I am in the vast minority here but if it was upto me I’d be letting him start the year fresh with us next year.
Seems Bevo in particular has a low tolerance policy and gives up on people quickly, for better or worse.

My heart certainly agrees with this sentiment, but we don't know enough about what has transpired between JUH and his teammates and between JUH and the club to know whether this is realistic or an idiotic idea.

I think by now it would be too much for the rest of the boys to deal with. They've had the background noise all year. The uncertainty would have taken its toll on trust. Let another club see what they can do. Although the players at other clubs would also have heard stories.

He would need to work hard and consistently to reestablish his reputation. And that's only if he has overcome his mental health problems by then.

We can’t know from outside the walls of the club how things work inside. I am becoming not convinced about Bevo throughout this season. I work with one of our premiership heroes who really doesn’t rate him. I’ve made excuses for him saying things like “everyone is going to be against the coach when you get cut”, “over time you’ll appreciate what happened” etc. Not that Bevo is not good, he’s a legend and obviously a very effective coach. But his ability with larrikins, rouge’s and scallywags is no where near say Mick Malthouse, who was always a great coach of those types at Footscray, West Coast and Collingwood. Mick was a real working class man, Bevo is a middleclass man from the Amateurs. As a tradie from the western suburbs, public schools and the Footscray District Football League, I wouldn’t have been able to comprehend VAFA football and those that participated in it in my 20’s.
Bad behaviour is bad behaviour no matter where you come from. Sometimes bad behaviour to one class is acceptable to the others and vice versa. Great leaders can bridge these differences? Geelong, no doubt do some things better than us, it truly pains me to say this. They would probably be the best club for Jamarra?
This fellow worker has also played many years under Chris Scott, I asked him, is he as miserable as he looks, yes was the answer 😂 But he also said it’s not ‘his way or the highway’, like it is with Bevo. He said Scott had an ability to change (as we can clearly see how he has adapted game plans) and an ability to listen to others. Geelong does have a stronger CEO and administration generally than us, but we are still ahead of most. But Geelong is at the level where they are regularly at the pointy end of the season where as we are at the upper middle area most often.
Again from the outside looking in Dale Morris seems to be the type of leader that can/could bridge these differences? He did so with Aker all those years ago and seems so balanced he would understand all the different types of people coming into footy clubs. He would be the first person I’d be chasing, not to be senior coach, but at least to be an assistant. He is probably doing wonders at Brisbane? Someone like Dale would be great for Jamarra. Because Bevo has now has weeded out any larrikins, there may have been less there at the club that Jamarra really related to? It may have been such a middle class environment that he sought out different types that were so far the other way in their nature that were more harmful to him?

Sounds like to me he's broken trust with the group, not just once, but twice. Once in the final and once when he got out of rehab.

I just see no going back for him. We don't wanna be fooled thrice.
I think this has a great deal to do with it. I think he's burnt so many bridges, incinerated them actually, that the overall wellbeing of the club is taking precedence, as it should.

We can’t know from outside the walls of the club how things work inside. I am becoming not convinced about Bevo throughout this season. I work with one of our premiership heroes who really doesn’t rate him. I’ve made excuses for him saying things like “everyone is going to be against the coach when you get cut”, “over time you’ll appreciate what happened” etc. Not that Bevo is not good, he’s a legend and obviously a very effective coach. But his ability with larrikins, rouge’s and scallywags is no where near say Mick Malthouse, who was always a great coach of those types at Footscray, West Coast and Collingwood. Mick was a real working class man, Bevo is a middleclass man from the Amateurs. As a tradie from the western suburbs, public schools and the Footscray District Football League, I wouldn’t have been able to comprehend VAFA football and those that participated in it in my 20’s.
Bad behaviour is bad behaviour no matter where you come from. Sometimes bad behaviour to one class is acceptable to the others and vice versa. Great leaders can bridge these differences? Geelong, no doubt do some things better than us, it truly pains me to say this. They would probably be the best club for Jamarra?
This fellow worker has also played many years under Chris Scott, I asked him, is he as miserable as he looks, yes was the answer 😂 But he also said it’s not ‘his way or the highway’, like it is with Bevo. He said Scott had an ability to change (as we can clearly see how he has adapted game plans) and an ability to listen to others. Geelong does have a stronger CEO and administration generally than us, but we are still ahead of most. But Geelong is at the level where they are regularly at the pointy end of the season where as we are at the upper middle area most often.
Again from the outside looking in Dale Morris seems to be the type of leader that can/could bridge these differences? He did so with Aker all those years ago and seems so balanced he would understand all the different types of people coming into footy clubs. He would be the first person I’d be chasing, not to be senior coach, but at least to be an assistant. He is probably doing wonders at Brisbane? Someone like Dale would be great for Jamarra. Because Bevo has now has weeded out any larrikins, there may have been less there at the club that Jamarra really related to? It may have been such a middle class environment that he sought out different types that were so far the other way in their nature that were more harmful to him?
Does this chap have the initials LD by any chance?

I was aware that it would be easy to figure out😂 But he really is the perfect person to ask because he has played in Grand Finals under both coaches, not even Bailey Smith can say this…yet. He obviously knows them both very well and can easily compare them. He didn’t want to finish under both coaches. His comments only add to my observations they aren’t the main points I was getting at.

My brother suffers depression and he is a principal at a prestigious school and operates fine with help of medication.

He doesn't use it as an excuse for poor behaviour

How old is your brother? How much life experience does he have, is he in the media eye or the time? Seriously, no comparison.

Cornes actually asks good questions when working off others and not trying to shit stir.

What Morris is saying is more that Gold Coast are the only team that hasn't ruled out, rather than any actual interest. And it's only because Hardwick has a "look at the talent first" philosophy rather than ruling anyone out.

I doubt that GC actually follow through with it.

Cornes actually asks good questions when working off others and not trying to shit stir.

What Morris is saying is more that Gold Coast are the only team that hasn't ruled out, rather than any actual interest. And it's only because Hardwick has a "look at the talent first" philosophy rather than ruling anyone out.

This should be the biggest reality check right now for Jamarra… if he even gives a shit.

I just don’t see why it’s worth the risk for the Suns, they got a good thing going at the moment and the culture looks strong. They don’t really need anymore talent, they just need some more time for their forwards Reid and Walter to develop.

Your not wrong at all. However if they cam get him for essentially no cost in terms of picks that would be used up anyway and wages they would not have to pay, if he doesn't work out what have they lost

Is it a given that if J U H does go anywhere that the Dogs will be paying all or part of his salary?
I’m not a big fan of this unless we can pickup some worthwhile compensation if not can we simply keep him on the books

Is it a given that if J U H does go anywhere that the Dogs will be paying all or part of his salary?
I’m not a big fan of this unless we can pickup some worthwhile compensation if not can we simply keep him on the books
If we offer to pay some of his salary then the other club will offer a higher pick in return, as is common practice. We don't need to offload his salary as we offloaded Macrae and Daniel last year, but we do need decent picks.

My brother suffers depression and he is a principal at a prestigious school and operates fine with help of medication.

He doesn't use it as an excuse for poor behaviour
I have depression and aniexty. I take medication and it keeps me really level and my mindset is amazing. Wish i took It 20 years ago tbh. The thing i have found out is once it works, stay on it as its doing its job.

Its not my fault and tbh its just like any other illness people get. Its not anyones fault, but you have to look after yourself. I am a firm believer of not using it as a mental health card and to put steps in place to make sure you are well.

I have depression and aniexty. I take medication and it keeps me really level and my mindset is amazing. Wish i took It 20 years ago tbh. The thing i have found out is once it works, stay on it as its doing its job.

Its not my fault and tbh its just like any other illness people get. Its not anyones fault, but you have to look after yourself. I am a firm believer of not using it as a mental health card and to put steps in place to make sure you are well.

You’re a legend Cleveland ❤️

Look after yourself mate.