The Jamarra Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dogwatch

Will Jamarra ever play senior footy for the Bulldogs again?

• Yes

Votes: 46 14.6%
  • No

Votes: 228 72.2%
  • Unsure / Don't care

Votes: 42 13.3%

I have not seen a lot of that. I’m not on Instagram or any social media apart from Bigfooty so images of JUH doing things that I would not do when I played amateur footy at a lower level is informative.

Trust me, nothing like a grog (or your method of disassociating) to relax any day of the week, I can relate to that.

What I am seeing is a player either deliberately damaging to our club, or immaturity at a level I have not seen for a 22 year old who is managed by professionals.

It is every members right to criticise this bloke. Most of us fork out substantial money to support our club. To watch a grown man live not give a f**k, possibly in not a state to come to work, in a Elimination Final after my family have paid significant money (relatively) to watch a player with real talent will cause posters to be angry like myself. Add the recent updates on his ‘progress’ will cause emotions that may not be palatable to those who think JUH will come good.

I am not one of them. I want him off our list.

The power a player now has over clubs has gone over the top. I know it goes both ways but JUH is trashing our brand, apparently still getting paid. He has cost us a lot of resources, draft picks, money, time, bad press and club disharmony.

If you cannot comply just walk away.

OK - enough of the Jamarra pile-on.

Many Bulldogs supporters (including me) are unhappy with the situation and with Jamarra, but this relentless public flogging is unseemly and not what the club needs right now. Not to mention how tedious and unoriginal it gets to read endless slagging off on Jamarra.

Please try to be balanced and add something to the conversation if you post in this thread.
You know that Im not one to advocate for the shutting down of any discussion.

But I really have wonder what this particular one is adding to the board, especially over the last few pages. Once again it seems to be backsliding into more of the same. People mindlessly speculating, handing out medical diagnosis's, reading what they want into social media posts and casting aspersions on things and circumstances that they have no real idea about.

I have not seen a lot of that. I’m not on Instagram or any social media apart from Bigfooty so images of JUH doing things that I would not do when I played amateur footy at a lower level is informative.

Trust me, nothing like a grog (or your method of disassociating) to relax any day of the week, I can relate to that.

What I am seeing is a player either deliberately damaging to our club, or immaturity at a level I have not seen for a 22 year old who is managed by professionals.

It is every members right to criticise this bloke. Most of us fork out substantial money to support our club. To watch a grown man live not give a f**k, possibly in not a state to come to work, in a Elimination Final after my family have paid significant money (relatively) to watch a player with real talent will cause posters to be angry like myself. Add the recent updates on his ‘progress’ will cause emotions that may not be palatable to those who think JUH will come good.

I am not one of them. I want him off our list.
I agree with pretty much all you've said here Brisdog. I'm not in favour at all of suppressing the facts and I too want to know what Jamarra is up to. I'm also more than pissed off at his behaviour and wish the club could just cut him loose if that's what they think is best for the club.

I also know from decades of bitter experience where these kind of discussions about such important and polarising topics usually lead though. I'm just calling for a litlle calm and a measured and thoughtful discussion on here, rather than a pile-on against Jamarra or fighting between Bulldogs supporters.

But I really have wonder what this particular one is adding to the board, especially over the last few pages. Once again it seems to be backsliding into more of the same. People mindlessly speculating, handing out medical diagnosis's, reading what they want into social media posts and casting aspersions on things and circumstances that they have no real idea about.
Insightful observation Norm.

But I really have wonder what this particular one is adding to the board
I think it's main purpose is to stop the other threads being so full of Marra discussions.

It's an alternative to clogging up the Trade and List Management thread, which has some value I'd have thought.

Cmon Norm. We all have the power to choose whether we venture in here or not knowing full well we'll likely be irritated, bored, bemused, faux outraged or all of the above by the content and it's a tremendous outlet for the virtue signallers amongst us.

I’m not sure talking about indiscretions is a pile on. Besides the odd post everyone is talking about stuff he’s currently doing. Not like people are bringing up things that aren’t relevant (as far as I can tell).
You can't see the posts that have been deleted.

What actually is the current situation is he making progress? last I heard he was attending training more regularly?

You’ll need to catch the whole segment rather than the small clip they have posted on socials. It sounds like he’s unlikely to be there next year is my interpretation.

True but they haven’t had some of their best young players request to leave either.

Losing Marra would be massive. The guy is a number 1 pick. In his case it sound like it’s a him thing rather then an us thing. Just saying no other Vic club is losing young talent like this so the club would be negligent to not consider if there is something wrong with our environment.
Geelong have not lost one player that they wanted to keep since CottonOn came onboard… Tim Kelly was a family support issue. They are a club that cheats.

I agree. Though empirical evidence given the low number of players involved does not necessarily show there is something wrong with our profiling we do need to look at how we can improve,

Speaking to someone who was involved with Smith from when he arrived at the club to when he left, they noted a significant change in his attitude. Whether that was due to environment, close relationships with the wrong people including internally or other we also do no know.

From the outside looking in we appear to be over supportive at times, however that is mere speculation in my part
For what’s its worth… Smith broke up with his girlfriend 5 months before he left the bulldogs… His girlfriend, who was a very intelligent girl studying law dumped Smith for Will Day (Hawthorn) who is an intelligent kid also studying law or working at a law firm. Smith isn’t the sharpest tool in the shed

Cmon Norm. We all have the power to choose whether we venture in here or not knowing full well we'll likely be irritated, bored, bemused or all of the above by the content.
Sure. Nobody should mistake this place for anything but what it is. A place for people to waste time talking about something they have an unhealthy obsession with on a forum that 99% of the populace wouldn't know existed.

Here's the thing tho, how 'bout people using some of that power and showing some restraint.

Sure, it's a frustrating situation watching one of the more talented players on the list sitting on the sidelines.

But until the full and factual picture behind his absence becomes clear. Then this thread and its recent turn adds absolutely nothing to anybodies understanding of events. Indeed its reflects pretty poorly on quite a few in here who are going to have to eat a tonne of shit if he returns to the squad.

We often chide the media for their lack of accountability when it comes to what they say and when they are demonstrably wrong. When in fact all we are doing is projecting our own hypocrisy.

Geelong have not lost one player that they wanted to keep since CottonOn came onboard… Tim Kelly was a family support issue. They are a club that cheats.

Yet even that doesn't explain how they managed to extort pick 25 out of Port Adelaide for Esava Ratugolea. What is this magic spell they are weaving over competitors?

This is the key... he's 22 bloody years old! If he was 16 acting like this I'd understand more, but the "he's only a young man" excuse has to run out soon
Yep excuses excuses because he's "only" 22.
Me at 20 in 1980. I worked at Melbourne Airport as an equipment driver and freight loader. The money was very good. I did a stupid thing in front on a big boss. Was driving a trailer tug and it was wet. I did a slide in side park. Perfectly executed I must say. But that saw me immediately lose my weekly extras for operating the tugs, scissor lifts, fork lift, mobile stairs and mobile conveyor. $80+ a week gone from my pay for 12 months. You reckon I drove like that again? No way.
Same place, was a smart A a bit too at times. One of the older guys cornered me and warned me that if I don't smarten up I will be dealing with him. He was a man mountain. You reckon I changed my attitude?
You bet I did.
Today that would be classed by the tutu wearing brigade as bullying.
They were all good lessons to me. There were consequences to my actions, I was held accountable.
There were no excuses for me being the dh I was, not my age, not my background.
Watching the young ones today getting away with what they do and hearing its because they're young excusing them and that they need to be nurtured and understood makes me want to throw up.

Me at 20 in 1980. I worked at Melbourne Airport as an equipment driver and freight loader. The money was very good. I did a stupid thing in front on a big boss. Was driving a trailer tug and it was wet. I did a slide in side park. Perfectly executed I must say. But that saw me immediately lose my weekly extras for operating the tugs, scissor lifts, fork lift, mobile stairs and mobile conveyor. $80+ a week gone from my pay for 12 months. You reckon I drove like that again? No way.
Same place, was a smart A a bit too at times. One of the older guys cornered me and warned me that if I don't smarten up I will be dealing with him. He was a man mountain. You reckon I changed my attitude?
You bet I did.
They were all good lessons to me. There were consequences to my actions, I was held accountable.
Watching the young ones today getting away with what they do and hearing its because they're young excusing them and that they need to be nurtured and understood makes me want to throw up.
Bang on mate

A dickhead’s a dickhead no matter the age

Listen I’m happy to be a little easier on those under 18 in the public eye… not gonna shit can a 16 year old child too much at least in public

But if you’re an adult on an adult wage… prepare to be treated like one

Sure. Nobody should mistake this place for anything but what it is. A place for people to waste time talking about something they have an unhealthy obsession with on a forum that 99% of the populace wouldn't know existed.

Here's the thing tho, how 'bout people using some of that power and showing some restraint.

Sure, it's a frustrating situation watching one of the more talented players on the list sitting on the sidelines.

But until the full and factual picture behind his absence becomes clear. Then this thread and its recent turn adds absolutely nothing to anybodies understanding of events. Indeed its reflects pretty poorly on quite a few in here who are going to have to eat a tonne of shit if he returns to the squad.

We often chide the media for their lack of accountability when it comes to what they say and when they are demonstrably wrong. When in fact all we are doing is projecting our own hypocrisy.
Couldn't agree more Norm.
But I've found it's a waste of time pleading for restraint. Some are very good. Others may go quiet for a day or two and then it's on again. It seems some people just can't restrain themselves.

And before anyone jumps in with a caustic "we're not even allowed to talk about it" let me say that some posts on the subject are thoughtful, constructive, original. Well worth posting. Unfortunately there are a lot of others that are unhelpful, ill-considered or simply repetitive.

The only reason I started this thread was because the Jamarra stuff was spilling over into all our regular threads, some of which are actually useful. If we delete this thread it's just going to appear all over the place again.

At least this way it mostly stays in its lane.

Unfortunately there are a lot of others that are unhelpful

Given what I read and seems has now been deleted, this applies to both extremes of the debate dw.

Anyhoo, I made the mistake of venturing in here yesterday to see people on either "side" labelling each other with various put downs. Like the dying days of the "Otherwordly" thread, I'll now be avoiding this one too.

(No reflection on yourself btw, your original reason for creating it I fully supported, but unfortunately Jamarra is such a polarising subject atm, this thread will likely keep veering off constructive discourse and keep Mutt busy - and that's not a dig at any one poster or group. I'll happily potter on in blissful ignorance until something actually happens publicly with JUH's situation. 👍)

This thread is a version of one of those Facebook community pages where some anonymous kids vandalise the park toilets & everyone piles in like it's the the crime of the decade.

There's only so many ways you can say 'personal responsibility' , how many 1000s of words have we wasted ?

There's also only so many ways you can signal you're a fairly conservative man in the pre - post middle age range who has no time for the younger generation. We get it. You are heard & validated.

It's part vent part time wasting....no doubt adds little in terms of information as we all know our information is incomplete.

But our information on every possible subject connected to the club is incomplete....yet speculate and have opinions we do....it's just how we roll.

I have my plate, spoon and napkin ready to eat said sh1t if it comes to that. I like my chances.

This thread is a version of one of those Facebook community pages where some anonymous kids vandalise the park toilets & everyone piles in like it's the the crime of the decade.

There's only so many ways you can say 'personal responsibility' , how many 1000s of words have we wasted ?

There's also only so many ways you can signal you're a fairly conservative man in the pre - post middle age range who has no time for the younger generation. We get it.

No, no, we definitely need more yarns where some ancient bloke that was 1,347,674th best in the country in 1985 for pickin stuff up and puttin stuff down favourably compares the merits of his life experiences to one of the best professional footballers in the country in 2025. They are ideal and valuable analogues for advancing this discussion.

You bet I did.
Your life experience will have a significant bearing on the way you view this situation, wearing the consequences for your own choices being most likely central to it.

There are also 2 parties to this situation. JUH, who put this hand up to be extended on big dollars and the club (list managers) who thought that was a good idea.

Given how it's panning out, consequences for both is fair.