The Jamarra Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dogwatch

Will Jamarra ever play senior footy for the Bulldogs again?

• Yes

Votes: 46 14.6%
  • No

Votes: 228 72.2%
  • Unsure / Don't care

Votes: 42 13.3%

Might want to check that before looking like an idiot.

He is training, but not consistently.
So what is he training for? To get back in the team? Or to put in a basic appearance for some other reason? Do they get paid per training session?

I have not attended training this year, however, one would need to ask: "What is the quality of that training"? Is it full on, participate in the drills, be present for the entire session type training? Or, is it jog a few laps, have a few shots on goal, have a chat with a few team mates 'training'? If it's more like the latter, then it would be difficult to see the point. I have no first hand idea so maybe those who have seen him recently could elucidate.

I'm agnostic on this.

I've heard rumours from other sources, as probably many here have. I'm not prepared to repeat them because they are just that ... rumours. Unsubstantiated.

Who knows what's correct? Some here might. Most don't. It's obviously complex, unusual. Maybe unique. For my part, I'd prefer to hold fire until there are some official announcements but I can understand the angst of fans when it appears very possible we will lose a highly talented young player who we put years into as a teenager and effectively mortgaged our 2020 draft hand for. This coming right on top of the disturbing Bailey Smith saga.

The plain fact is we can't restrain ourselves from speculating, commenting, fulminating. Pointing fingers. There were over 160 posts in the 10 hours between 9:30 and 7:30pm today and I reckon 90% of them were about JUH. One every 3-4 minutes. And that's just in the Trades/List Management thread. There would have been plenty elsewhere I'm sure. And the footy media remains latched on so there's no escaping it.

It's making this board borderline unreadable.

Since we're so obsessed here's an overdue thread to let it all out. And hopefully to allow us some breathing space to discuss other topics in our regular threads.

Fire away. It'd be nice if you could keep all your JUH discussion to this thread.
Mate can you add a poll:

We Marra ply for the dogs again?

1. YES
2. NO

It woukd be interesting to see what the silent forum members think. Cheers.

Where did I indicate that?

I responded to someone who said " The club is not responsible for how he is acting, but is responsible to us the supporters who pay their wages." which as I pointed out is not true as members nor the club pay his wages,

A 2 year 750-800k contract whilst a lot of money to you and me isn't lucrative and in fact shows the club had done their due diligence not to lock him up long term
Where did you get the 750-800 from? I heard 900 per year.

If anyone caught Agenda Setters tonight, another couple of partying social media clips over the weekend.

Riewoldt said JUH was taking the piss. He said it twice. Hard to disagree.

Exhibit A on how to torch an AFL career in six months and watch all these 'mates' flee when the career and cash dries up.

Sad.

As frustrated as we are as a supporter group, this is perhaps going to be the saddest part. There may be some terribly difficult life lessons coming for JUH.

It's so frustrating as a supporter to see. But unfortunately it appears that Jamarra has the Smith mentality that he is greater than the club and will waltz into another club and continue on his merry way. Not giving a **** about us.

Was chatting to a Brisbane supporter at the game on Saturday and we both mentioned that Jamarra could have an armchair ride along side Darcy/Naughton for 10 years but has basically torched it.

It's so frustrating as a supporter to see. But unfortunately it appears that Jamarra has the Smith mentality that he is greater than the club and will waltz into another club and continue on his merry way. Not giving a **** about us.

Was chatting to a Brisbane supporter at the game on Saturday and we both mentioned that Jamarra could have an armchair ride along side Darcy/Naughton for 10 years but has basically torched it.
I'm not sure the two situations are really comparable. Smith is pretty much footy obsessed but wanted a bigger club / profile. No one has ever accused him of not putting in on the track (still an F wit).

Jamarra seems to not really want to play footy and just party. The suggestion seems to be he'll play with us or not in the AFL at all

I'm not sure the two situations are really comparable. Smith is pretty much footy obsessed but wanted a bigger club / profile. No one has ever accused him of not putting in on the track (still an F wit).

Jamarra seems to not really want to play footy and just party. The suggestion seems to be he'll play with us or not in the AFL at all
The only difference between the two is Smith is footy obsessed. Jamarra isn't.

Everything else is heading in the exact same direction from what I can see. The idea of him playing with us or not in the AFL again is laughable.

I’m of the view that he either plays for us again or not at all.

I just can’t see any other club stumping up the financial deal that he would actively seek a trade. If you’re an opposition club what are you offering right now?? 2 years at 500k per year at most to see if he turns his life around?

Meanwhile it seems he can be paid 900k a year for the next 18 months in a holding pattern of him not playing at all and we not being able to sack him.

And if he chooses the latter and this pattern remains, he’s going to go 2 years without any level of football and will fade into obscurity. With the very likelyhood that he’s nowhere near AFL standards of fitness and commitment.

His management must be tearing their hair out.

I’m of the view that he either plays for us again or not at all.

I just can’t see any other club stumping up the financial deal that he would actively seek a trade. If you’re an opposition club what are you offering right now?? 2 years at 500k per year at most to see if he turns his life around?

Meanwhile it seems he can be paid 900k a year for the next 18 months in a holding pattern of him not playing at all and we not being able to sack him.

And if he chooses the latter and this pattern remains, he’s going to go 2 years without any level of football and will fade into obscurity. With the very likelyhood that he’s nowhere near AFL standards of fitness and commitment.

His management must be tearing their hair out.
Yep but even more. Clubs would certainly offer 3-4 years at 500K+. These days that's barely even mid range. So many players in that range are a bust, but he's also a proven (and young developing) gun in the most valuable position. They'd just include contract clauses that link some of $ to playing/performance. They'll swarm like flies to a carcass to be honest.

And if that happens we probably get shafted with a second round pick. He should be fielding offers of 7 years at over a mill, and us getting pick 1... If he doesn't shape up he's fuked us and himself over.

Yep but even more. Clubs would certainly offer 3-4 years at 500K+. These days that's barely even mid range. So many players in that range are a bust, but he's also a proven (and young developing) gun in the most valuable position. They'd just include contract clauses that link some of $ to playing/performance. They'll swarm like flies to a carcass to be honest.

And if that happens we probably get shafted with a second round pick. He should be fielding offers of 7 years at over a mill, and us getting pick 1... If he doesn't shape up he's fuked us and himself over.
It’s all well and good that those clubs offer that type of money, but I just can’t see JUH wanting to move clubs for 500k a year with a bunch of clauses when it seems he can be paid 800-900 to do nothing at the dogs. He’s got to agree to a substantial paycut.

Currently I’ve settled on around pick 15 or better to move him on. Pick 15 probably slides to about pick 20-22 with all the academy selections.

Pick 40 is a nothing pick, especially when it’s not a salary dump from our perspective. We have plenty of space with Macrae, Daniel and Smith leaving.

It’s all well and good that those clubs offer that type of money, but I just can’t see JUH wanting to move clubs for 500k a year with a bunch of clauses when it seems he can be paid 800-900 to do nothing at the dogs. He’s got to agree to a substantial paycut.

Currently I’ve settled on around pick 15 or better to move him on. Pick 15 probably slides to about pick 20-22 with all the academy selections.

Pick 40 is a nothing pick, especially when it’s not a salary dump from our perspective. We have plenty of space with Macrae, Daniel and Smith leaving.
Well yeah but only has one more year with us and appears too far gone

Where did you get the 750-800 from? I heard 900 per year.
Players get around 5k for match payments, a 800k contract becomes 900k if he plays 20 games. Nobody ever really knows though. I suspect even Jamarra wouldn't know how much money he has given it's probably being distributed out to his mates as soon as he receives it.

Also alot of other triggers written into contracts like top 5 or 10 in club BnF and such that make pinpointing a figure almost impossible.

Mate can you add a poll:

We Marra ply for the dogs again?

1. YES
2. NO

It woukd be interesting to see what the silent forum members think. Cheers.
I'm not generally a fan of BF polls but on request from BrisDog I've created a poll question for this thread as follows:

Will Jamarra ever play senior footy for the Bulldogs again?
  • Yes
  • No
  • Unsure / Don't care
Feel free to vote.

How can anyone be right about something that hasn't happened yet?

Any club that actually takes a punt on him would be offering a contract with so many conditional clauses around training, social media, drinking etc that unless he did a complete 180 he’d break before round one
Agree! A one year contract with potential extensions subject to x,y & z will be the best his manager will get. What good club wants him in their culture?

i certainly don't want to see him play at the dogs again.

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan has been labelled a “fictional character” as his social media activity continues to come under fire.

Ugle-Hagan remains on the sidelines as he continues to try to win trust back with key people at the Dogs following a chequered off-season.

Brownlow medallist and former Bulldogs player Brad Hardie told Wide World of Sports the club had now lost complete trust in the forward after a video emerged of him partying and drinking in recent days.
“Suddenly (Ugle-Hagan’s) becoming almost a fictional character,” he said on 3AW.

“He’s like a cross between Peter Pan and Pinocchio. The club can not do much more; the coach and captain have done everything they possibly can to help him.”

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan has been labelled a “fictional character” as his social media activity continues to come under fire.

Ugle-Hagan remains on the sidelines as he continues to try to win trust back with key people at the Dogs following a chequered off-season.

Brownlow medallist and former Bulldogs player Brad Hardie told Wide World of Sports the club had now lost complete trust in the forward after a video emerged of him partying and drinking in recent days.
“Suddenly (Ugle-Hagan’s) becoming almost a fictional character,” he said on 3AW.

“He’s like a cross between Peter Pan and Pinocchio. The club can not do much more; the coach and captain have done everything they possibly can to help him.”

Hardie also suggested the club has gone down all avenues to first help JUH, then asked the afl about cutting him from the list (afl said no), then cutting his pay (afl said no), due to reasons that are a bit tricky to talk about. Jamarra and his management only appear at WO to meet the bare minimum to collect his pay.

Now not Hardie’s comments but mine: In an obviously totally unfounded way, all this screams to me that Jamarra has another contract agreed to; is aware we can’t cut his pay; and wants to ensure he gets to his next destination ASAP rather than in 2027. He saw his good mate Bailey Smith get the year off before ****ing off and possibly wants the same but without the knee injury.

His management would be freaking out if this was impacting future earnings - but what if it isn’t?

Not something commonly seen in Australian sports but this kind of behaviour is not unusual in American sports when stars want to get their way.

Was watching The Front Bar last night with John Longmire on as a guest. They asked him what the biggest ingredient to success was outside of talent, and his answer was essentially "trust across the entire football club".

Immediately made me think of this situation.

Hardie also suggested the club has gone down all avenues to first help JUH, then asked the afl about cutting him from the list (afl said no), then cutting his pay (afl said no), due to reasons that are a bit tricky to talk about. Jamarra and his management only appear at WO to meet the bare minimum to collect his pay.

Now not Hardie’s comments but mine: In an obviously totally unfounded way, all this screams to me that Jamarra has another contract agreed to; is aware we can’t cut his pay; and wants to ensure he gets to his next destination ASAP rather than in 2027. He saw his good mate Bailey Smith get the year off before ****ing off and possibly wants the same but without the knee injury.

His management would be freaking out if this was impacting future earnings - but what if it isn’t?

Not something commonly seen in Australian sports but this kind of behaviour is not unusual in American sports when stars want to get their way.
You see that Behaviour in the NBA when a star player just sits out and pushes for a trade

We ain’t getting a packet of chips in a trade if he’s getting a million a year somewhere.

I’ll still sleep well at night knowing the club has been fantastic in this situation.