Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Managers/players have too much power in being able to veto any trade if they don't agree to it. I would hope we are in the ear of players who are a year or two out telling them to just wait until their contracts run down and to then request a trade.Hardie also suggested the club has gone down all avenues to first help JUH, then asked the afl about cutting him from the list (afl said no), then cutting his pay (afl said no), due to reasons that are a bit tricky to talk about. Jamarra and his management only appear at WO to meet the bare minimum to collect his pay.
Now not Hardie’s comments but mine: In an obviously totally unfounded way, all this screams to me that Jamarra has another contract agreed to; is aware we can’t cut his pay; and wants to ensure he gets to his next destination ASAP rather than in 2027. He saw his good mate Bailey Smith get the year off before ****ing off and possibly wants the same but without the knee injury.
His management would be freaking out if this was impacting future earnings - but what if it isn’t?
Not something commonly seen in Australian sports but this kind of behaviour is not unusual in American sports when stars want to get their way.
Managers/players have too much power in being able to veto any trade if they don't agree to it. I would hope we are in the ear of players who are a year or two out telling them to just wait until their contracts run down and to then request a trade.
Exactly, North would trade every single shinbone they have to get Jamarra, even with all the hassle. It is BS that the club needs to move him on for peanuts to a club of his choice either this off-season or the nest. The reality is the offers we will get this off-season compared to next year when he is out of contract won't be much different.Would be completely in favour of being able to trade players earning over a certain amount without consent. They need to grow up a bit. It’s entertainment.
I can def see why they don’t let players be traded without consent.Would be completely in favour of being able to trade players earning over a certain amount without consent. They need to grow up a bit. It’s entertainment.
That’s crazy. I’m sure every club had eyes on the number one pick."
Your hatred for Geelong is bordering on obsession levels but I think Geelong will offer him a fairly basic contract as we don't overpay.
We always had eyes on this kid from an early age, right through his Oakleigh Chargers days.
It's a shame the Western Bulldogs have obvious culture issues and are losing players on a seemingly yearly basis.
Had he remained in our zoning to begin with, JUH would be the best young key forward in the game by now."
Lol Geelong flogs
The self entitlement is obvious.That’s crazy. I’m sure every club had eyes on the number one pick.
I’m sure everyone have eyes on Daicos, Ashcroft, Mac Andrew etc. Geelong fans are cooked. Think they’re owed the world. Also acted like absolute babies when Kelly wanted to go for more than legitimate reasons.
This myth from Geelong supporters that he was ever in any kind of Geelong zone refuses to die. The NGA zones were announced in February 2016 (when Jamarra was 13 years old), and we had the South-West region from it's inception (https://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/347386/blues-allocated-region-for-academy). Even with the zones from back in the day, Fitzroy had the Hampden League - the Warnambool area has never been a Geelong football club zoning region."
Your hatred for Geelong is bordering on obsession levels but I think Geelong will offer him a fairly basic contract as we don't overpay.
We always had eyes on this kid from an early age, right through his Oakleigh Chargers days.
It's a shame the Western Bulldogs have obvious culture issues and are losing players on a seemingly yearly basis.
Had he remained in our zoning to begin with, JUH would be the best young key forward in the game by now."
Lol Geelong flogs
LOL has that Geelong Flog forgotten that we have the best young key forward by the name of DarcyHad he remained in our zoning to begin with, JUH would be the best young key forward in the game by now."
This is Bevo subtly pressuring the AFL. We want to suspend or significantly reduce his pay is my guess. I'm not sure we have anything to gain by terminating his contract if salary suspension is an option.What does Bevo mean when he says Jamarra's future is the AFL's hands?
"At the moment the decision-making in regards to Marra's future and what that entails is significantly in the AFL's hands.
"We're waiting on them to do certain things and we're continually interacting with them and working through it to work out what's best for Marra."
Sounds like we want to sack him or suspend his pay, but are waiting for the AFL to tick off on it.
That’s exactly what this is.What does Bevo mean when he says Jamarra's future is the AFL's hands?
"At the moment the decision-making in regards to Marra's future and what that entails is significantly in the AFL's hands.
"We're waiting on them to do certain things and we're continually interacting with them and working through it to work out what's best for Marra."
Sounds like we want to sack him or suspend his pay, but are waiting for the AFL to tick off on it.
Meanwhile you have Geelong being shady clearly trying to tank his value as far as possible and get him for free.That’s exactly what this is.
Posters have mentioned that the club wants to enforce firmer action but are unable to do so because the AFL are worried about optics. The AFL are apparently heavily involved here and the clubs hands are tied around making the best decision for the club.
Because of course only Geelong has the ability to rekindle Marra's desire to play footy and be the person the Bulldogs couldn't get him to be. Right?Meanwhile you have Geelong being shady clearly trying to tank his value as far as possible and get him for free.
And of course, auditing themselves. Nothing to see here.
They're entitled to him. Stop holding him backBecause of course only Geelong has the ability to rekindle Marra's desire to play footy and be the person the Bulldogs couldn't get him to be. Right?
I don't agree that we should receive compensation for this. The situation very much sucks, but it opens up a can of worms - what about players who end up with career ending injuries etc? The compensation is an extra list spot and salary space (assuming we're allowed to cut him early), everything else is sunk.So guessing we either want to sack him or severely clip his wings, while also seeking some kind of compensation arrangement for the fact we will likely lose a guy through no fault of our own that we have poured a lot of resources into from a time, draft capital, financial and general support perspective.
I think when I say compensation, that could be in a myriad of different forms. Just feels to me like we’ve spent years looking after this guy’s development and that cones at a huge cost, and now when he seemingly should be able to fulfill his contractual obligations to a large extent, he seemingly won’t. This is in contrast to a gun player that is forced out of the game through a serious injury. To me this situation doesn’t seem to have a lot of precedent and is very unique requiring a unique handling strategy.I don't agree that we should receive compensation for this. The situation very much sucks, but it opens up a can of worms - what about players who end up with career ending injuries etc? The compensation is an extra list spot and salary space (assuming we're allowed to cut him early), everything else is sunk.
When you aren't at work you generally spend extra, well I do atleast.So guessing we either want to sack him or severely clip his wings, while also seeking some kind of compensation arrangement for the fact we will likely lose a guy through no fault of our own that we have poured a lot of resources into from a time, draft capital, financial and general support perspective.
I wonder if a unique agreement could be reached whereby he is paid his normal salary, but it isn't actually within the salary cap and he is deemed ineligible for selection for the season.When you aren't at work you generally spend extra, well I do atleast.
The club petitioning the AFL to limit his pay to reflect the percentage of time he has spent at the club. As much to protect him as much as the club. The AFL won't sign off on anything to do with reducing pay or terminating a contract, this is due to multiple factors including impact on total player payments and salary cap as well as backlash from AFLPA.