The Jamarra Thread

Will Jamarra ever play senior footy for the Bulldogs again?

• Yes

Votes: 46 14.6%
  • No

Votes: 228 72.2%
  • Unsure / Don't care

Votes: 42 13.3%

It's hard to see how this can be avoided in the short term.

Longer term I wonder if it would help if the AFL introduced a rule something like - no more than 50% of any players contract can be base pay, with at least 50% made up of playing fees and performance bonuses. And give clubs more flexibility in managing over/under spends across multiple years.

Players still get 50% guaranteed for their home loans etc. Clubs don't get burned so bad with injuries/health/slackers.

Can do this now to some extent. But would need to be mandated though otherwise the top end players will just refuse them at that percent.
Makes it harder to predict salaries for salary cap purposes. Ned Guy tried something similar with the Pies, had to push bonuses into following years not to go over the cap and then eventually trade some of the players (Grundy, Treloar & Stephenson) for unders to keep the books in check.

Yeah for sure, that's why I said would also need to give clubs more flexibility in managing over/under spends across multiple years.

I have never been a huge fan of Jamarra as a player, he never really looked like he was putting in the effort required and particularly didn’t like his arms in the air and denigrating of team mates when things didn’t go his way. I am not overly concerned about losing Jamarra as a player.

It does irk me that mere months ago Jamarra was defiantly lifting his jumper, pointing to his skin in what was a fantastic gesture of recognition of his heritage, and an f u to those languishing with antiquated and ill-informed perceptions. A moment that heralded a tremendous source of pride for his people, the club and the game in general. In retrospect, and probably cynically I can’t help but view this as an indulgent act of self-publicity. I do not mean to downplay the struggles he has encountered in his life and is currently going through, but by making this very public stance (whether intended or not) he positioned himself as a role-model and bastion for change. Unfortunately, his actions since have to some degree conflicted and diluted this historic moment.

Jamarra seems a genuinely nice, kind-hearted guy, who has hit a rough patch. It won’t be with the Dogs, and may not be on the football field, but I do hope he can get his life together and wish him the best.

At some point he’s going to want the buzz back. You can’t be 22 and be content going to the pub and boxing gym all day. Surely he’ll start missing the crowds, the adulation, adrenalin, team camaraderie and general buzz and excitement.
How did Libba feel when he ran down Hill; when Freija kicked that goal against Collingwood; when JUH himself bombed from 60 against Melbourne last year. I can’t imagine having the talent he has, watching the game on TV and not wanting some of that.
If he doesn’t play again, I think some of the more serious rumours about him must have legs.

Longer term I wonder if it would help if the AFL introduced a rule something like - no more than 50% of any players contract can be base pay, with at least 50% made up of playing fees and performance bonuses. And give clubs more flexibility in managing over/under spends across multiple years.

Players still get 50% guaranteed for their home loans etc. Clubs don't get burned so bad with injuries/health/slackers.

Can do this now to some extent. But would need to be mandated though otherwise the top end players will just refuse them at that percent.

There definitely has to be more protection for club. The balance has gone too far towards the players to the point where players can seemingly do as they please now and clubs get the shaft.

The clubs have complete control over the deals they are offer players. If the club is risk averse on injury or behavioural issues, they run the inverse risk of losing players to better offers. Buyer beware in my opinion, this is all part and parcel of list management. Diluting the model (even with the forced concussion retirements) is a slippery slope that will negatively impact equalisation.

I am also an advocate to scrap priority picks, scrap free agency compo, scrap zones, scrap father sons. You should also be able to trade any damn way you like in terms of advanced years, etc. Define a framework that gives tiered priority to lower ranked teams from the season before and let the thing run itself.

The clubs have complete control over the deals they are offer players. If the club is risk averse on injury or behavioural issues, they run the inverse risk of losing players to better offers. Buyer beware in my opinion, this is all part and parcel of list management. Diluting the model (even with the forced concussion retirements) is a slippery slope that will negatively impact equalisation.

I am also an advocate to scrap priority picks, scrap free agency compo, scrap zones, scrap father sons. You should also be able to trade any damn way you like in terms of advanced years, etc. Define a framework that gives tiered priority to lower ranked teams from the season before and let the thing run itself.

Scrap the NGAs as well. Becoming an absolute rort.

Is there a Jamarra Watch website where people can post sightings? I haven’t seen any reports on when he was last at Whitten Oval. You can go to UFO Sightings Today and get reports but nothing on JUH. Same with pictures of him posted on social media. Seems to me there is a big difference between his friends/ random passers-by posting pictures of him and him doing it himself. But the media doesn’t differentiate. I’d like to think he has taken on board the club’s request to limit his posting but he has little control on others doing it.

I agree. This is the mistake we likely made in my view. It's a judgement error on our (list management) part ... assuming we were diligent and had all the information.... which we may not have ... which is another issue.

Found a few of his comments in this pod interesting, especially the part where he says he never watches footy. Like, i realise not all players are footy heads but it seems he doesn't even like the game. Hes just good at it.

Wow Jamarra’s opening comments about training extra hard to get an edge are pretty ironic now. And 6 minutes 50 in comments...geez

I’ve heard him say this before

Eh…I know we are pissed at his antics, but that isn’t that big of an indictment to me.

I Forget who exactly it was who admitted to adopting a similar mindset. May have been Adsy. Anyway, they clarified that easing up on their Footy obsession actually made them a better player, Physically and mentally.

The general gist of it is that Their whole world is Football. They get up and train, Vigorously break down game film, Scope out the Opposition weakness and strengths and on top of all that they Must deal with the hounding media scrutinising their every move.

I think most players watch 1-2 games a round on average.

BTW - I’m aware the situation is a little different with Marra.

In an exclusive interview with the Sunday Herald Sun, Bulldogs coach Luke Beveridge revealed “we are all concerned about him”, but was adamant there “comes a time when you have to step off the preoccupation with him and make sure you centre your observations and influence on the people who are there”.
“We hope he is connecting with the medical experts and from time-to-time our practitioners and that the penny will drop at some point, and we can turn it around,” Beveridge told the Sunday Herald Sun.
“But if it doesn’t happen over the remainder of the season, then I don’t know. It will probably come to a head.”
The Dogs have thrown their full resources behind Ugle-Hagan to help support his complex “personal issues”, but frustrations are growing amid an ongoing review of his flexible training arrangement.

If you wanna see how poorly run the AFL can be then look no further than academies.

We get Jamarrah, so they change it that if the player gets a bid in the top 40 the club can’t match. The next year Melbourne lose Mac Andrew who goes a top 5 pick. Then all of the sudden Kako is on essendon’s radar so they have a sook and the rules get changed back. So Melbourne lost Mac Andrew for literally no reason. Now you’ve got Port trying to add a 17 year old who is dominating against men in the sanfl, who had a dad who played AFL, to their academy.

You’ve got northern academies that are meant to “grow the game in the northern states” having access to the sons on 300 game AFL players in Luke Hodge and John Blakey. Kids who have been playing for Sandringham or Oakleigh and boarding at top football schools since they were 15. Some of these kids have a footy in their hand before they can talk.

The whole thing is a joke for all clubs.

Imagine if he’d taken one of those “lifetime” deals that were on the table just last year.