The Jazz bf thread

shustak_thelonious.jpg

Was my hangover cure this morning.

This still fairly new thread slides back 3 or 4 pages while on the front page there is at least 2 kanye west threads, a hip hop thread and 2 JJJ threads. Says alot about music taste on BF and of aussies in general i guess.

The kanye/modern hip hop/rnb fans probably don't even open threads like this, so they'll never even know where most of their favourite loops, beats and samples come from. They think people like Kanye and Jay-Z came up with them...lols

[YOUTUBE]gmooOTmGpMc[/YOUTUBE]

The kanye/modern hip hop/rnb fans probably don't even open threads like this, so they'll never even know where most of their favourite loops, beats and samples come from. They think people like Kanye and Jay-Z came up with them...lols
Nah, I think they realize they're samples, they just don't realize that the original songs are 10 times more mind blowing than what these guys have done with them, or don't want to believe it. e.g. 21st century schizoid, which Kanye samples in Power.

...but then I guess that's really what you're saying anyway.

I don't have a whole lot to contribute but:

[youtube]l2611wR6VLg&feature=fvw[/youtube]

Nah, I think they realize they're samples, they just don't realize that the original songs are 10 times more mind blowing than what these guys have done with them, or don't want to believe it. e.g. 21st century schizoid, which Kanye samples in Power.

...but then I guess that's really what you're saying anyway.

I don't have a whole lot to contribute but:

[youtube]l2611wR6VLg&feature=fvw[/youtube]

I can't understand how people can listen to Kanye and Jay-Z (the two big boys of rap i guess) completely ruin what sometimes is decent music and beats (albeit ripped from true musicians) with their completely shit rapping and lyrics. I mean they're not even rappers, they're producers. I can listen to older wu-tang/rza stuff, or krs-one,chuck D or scarface rap to samples from legendary music because they actually have the ability to sort of blend in and flow with the music. Those guys are rappers first and foremost. Listening to kanye is like listening to bob rock sing. I've never heard him sing, he's a producer and stays where producers should, but i imagine it would be terrible

/rant

Schism i hate shit music as much as the next so can you not turn one of the only good threads into a discussion which could be had in one the thousands of threads on the music board.

[YOUTUBE]cGn5czZ2Zs[/YOUTUBE]

Schism i hate shit music as much as the next so can you not turn one of the only good threads into a discussion which could be had in one the thousands of threads on the music board.

[youtube]cGn5czZ2Zs[/youtube]

If it's so good why was it so many pages back with no posts in weeks.....? You couldn't have liked it that much.

I'm so sorry for having a 2 post discussion with a fellow poster...ya cry baby

[YOUTUBE]qskrF9PvIow[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]7ARM1V6t10k[/YOUTUBE]

You're always whinging and bitching so really, you're the cry baby.

I don't give a flying **** about kanye west and the people who adore him. Neither do most other people in this thread.

Go whinge in one of the 5000 kanye west threads.

Jaga Jazzist Anyone? Just the most unique blend of mellow jazz, rock, post-rock, whatever. Becoming one of my favorite bands in quick time:

[youtube]gHkBxyL371E[/youtube]

I don't give a flying **** about kanye west and the people who adore him. Neither do most other people in this thread.

Nah it's just that you're obsessed with me and stalk me, and whenever you see me daring to actually have an opinion on something you jump on it. I think you're in love with me. Certainly not the first.

lol, what is it with deluded ********s on the music board believing i stalk them.

Congratulations, you're in the "nicky is "stalking" me" club say hello to bunsen burner, he's the president. The reality is you both spend more time whinging and degrading other peoples music taste than you do talking about music you like. w***ers from way back.

lol, what is it with deluded ********s on the music board believing i stalk them.

Congratulations, you're in the "nicky is "stalking" me" club say hello to bunsen burner, he's the president. The reality is you both spend more time whinging and degrading other peoples music taste than you do talking about music you like. w***ers from way back.

Not really, the lack of taste i was talking about was directed at people that don't read this thread or post in it. You're the only one that took offense. Clearly a closet Kanye & Jay-Z fan.

An open PM to me…

A bit of what was Jazz in this thread, no probs with that – Current Jazz? For me, Medeski, Martin & Wood are not a bad place to start… played a gonad buster of a gig at the Hi-Fi Bar Melb not so long ago… but hey – some people will still think jazz sucks...

[youtube]UKA_il5LKI0&feature=related[/youtube]

John McLaughlin's brilliant cover of Charles Mingus Classic,Goodbye Pork Pie Hat.

[youtube]Dzj4hx0IZyo[/youtube]

And the original composition

[youtube]DaOixxXyxFE[/youtube]

Despite John McLaughlin being from my home town, I have never been a big fan. I don't enjoy jazz fusion and don't like his work with Miles Davis. Because of that, it has taken me a while to actually listen to that and it was brilliant.

It reminded me very much of Kenny Burrell's work on Guitar Forms.

This thread has been fantastic for me. I have hundreds of jazz albums but did not have any Charles Mingus and I went out and got Mingus Ah Um a few weeks back entirely as a result of this thread and it is one of the best albums that I have ever heard.

I agree.

As for the Australian bagging in your post Schism,there are heaps of jazz clubs in Australia.

You seem to forget our population is 22 mill.

4 clubs I know of here that get very good support.

I know there are many more but I've been to Bennett's Lane,Dizzys,Uptown Jazz Cafe(was there early this week and saw some awesome bebop).

I haven't been to the Paris Cat yet.

So ignorant to have a go at Australians and say they don't know anything about jazz.

In December was in Sydney and saw James Morrisson at The Basement.

So lucky my gf loves jazz too after I played her some.

She loves her grindcore metal but her fav band of all time is Pink Floyd.

So inbetween jazz gigs,we go see some metal.

Best of both worlds.

If there were any 70s styled prog bands ,I'd go see em or german styled like Can.

Now that's one scene that is under represented.

Despite John McLaughlin being from my home town, I have never been a big fan. I don't enjoy jazz fusion and don't like his work with Miles Davis. Because of that, it has taken me a while to actually listen to that and it was brilliant.

It reminded me very much of Kenny Burrell's work on Guitar Forms.

This thread has been fantastic for me. I have hundreds of jazz albums but did not have any Charles Mingus and I went out and got Mingus Ah Um a few weeks back entirely as a result of this thread and it is one of the best albums that I have ever heard.

Glad to be of service mate.

Ah Um great cd.:thumbsu:

As for the Australian bagging in your post Schism,there are heaps of jazz clubs in Australia.

I know there are many more but I've been to Bennett's Lane,Dizzys,Uptown Jazz Cafe(was there early this week and saw some awesome bebop).

As a frequent visitor to Melbourne (at least once a year for many years), I often drop in to Bennet's Lane. I have seen some lesser known people there that are very talented, but have seen the legendary The Mike Nock Trio and the last time I was there, saw Yvette Johannson who was a fabulous singer. I also remember spending a couple of hours in Spleen one night when we staggered in there after a long night. They were playing some very cool tunes and I ended up buying a CD that had been recorded live there by Mark Lockett and Paul van Ross.

In Perth, since the Perth Jazz Society moved from The Hyde Park Hotel, I have not been. The move coincided with the birth of my son and also the opening of The Ellington which is a great jazz club. The last time I was there, I saw Chris Abrahams from The Necks do a solo show. I have seen some great acts there. The Necks are doing 2 shows in Perth this week at The Bakery which is a venue I don't like much. I saw Mulatu Astatke there last year and thought the set up was terrible. Still tempted to go see The Necks again though.

I was in Sydney a couple of years ago and on the spur of the moment decided to try The Basement. It was sold out and it was an act that did not interest me much anyway, but would love to go and see some jazz there.

If there were any 70s styled prog bands ,I'd go see em or german styled like Can.quote]

My teenage nephew is into Can. He is in a prog rock type band himself and Can are a big influence. Quality act.

Jim Docker i was in perth in november last year and my friend announced when she picked me up from the airport that we were going to a jazz club. I was very excited.

However it was actually more like funk music which i'm not a huge fan of.

The set up was very jazz though. When i remember the name of the club i'll let you know.

I agree.

So ignorant to have a go at Australians and say they don't know anything about jazz.

In December was in Sydney and saw James Morrisson at The Basement.

So lucky my gf loves jazz too after I played her some.

She loves her grindcore metal but her fav band of all time is Pink Floyd.

So inbetween jazz gigs,we go see some metal.

Best of both worlds.

If there were any 70s styled prog bands ,I'd go see em or german styled like Can.

Now that's one scene that is under represented.

Yeah i always forget the population.... the ****?

Where did i say anything about jazz clubs you flog?

Wow you came up with 4 jazz clubs per 22 million people....clearly Australia loves jazz.

Yeah i always forget the population.... the ****?

Where did i say anything about jazz clubs you flog?

Wow you came up with 4 jazz clubs per 22 million people....clearly Australia loves jazz.

There are more than 4 jazz clubs within 10 minute walking distance to where i live. Just because smasha doesn't list every one to prove himself to a loser like you means nothing.

Go and focus on how bad the general population's taste in music is. This thread is to discuss jazz. :thumbsu:

There are more than 4 jazz clubs within 10 minute walking distance to where i live. Just because smasha doesn't list every one to prove himself to a loser like you means nothing.

Go and focus on how bad the general population's taste in music is. This thread is to discuss jazz. :thumbsu:

You're full of shit

No, you are.

Pretty sure jazz clubs/nights don't need a green light from you to operate.

You'll never know how close to the mark you were with that sentence

still, lies. 4 jazz clubs in walking distance. where? We talking pure jazz clubs, not rnb/jazz/hip hop/funk/whatever?

Jim Docker i was in perth in november last year and my friend announced when she picked me up from the airport that we were going to a jazz club. I was very excited.

However it was actually more like funk music which i'm not a huge fan of.

The set up was very jazz though. When i remember the name of the club i'll let you know.

That is disappointing. The Ellington is the main jazz club in Perth. It is run and partly owned by Graham Wood who is a very good jazz pianist and has every jazz musician in Perth playing there at different times and is the main venue for visiting jazz musicians..

Occasionally, they may have a night that is not necessarily jazz though. I have been to a couple of nights of experimental music - very hit and miss. They may also have some nights of funk so it could have been The Ellington. Don't give up on it. Next time you are here, send a message and I will buy you a glass of wine while watching cool music. (Platonic suggestion only - I am married and not a stalker !)

The Jazz bf thread