Opinion The Last Supper

• Thread starter Thread starter Heckler

Which of our aging players will be cooked by years end?

And there you go. Emotion ;)

My feeling is that the club would know how well those players coached the juniors at training etc.
How they instructed others on the ground.
How well they got their message across.

If they were really that good, they wouldn't get a chance to go anywhere.
And then there's also the experience they gain by going elsewhere. Coaching doesn't have a time frame on it.

We've got ex Geelong players coaching all over the place.
But I'd still take an ex Sydney player over a Geelong one if they are a better coach!

You very carefully ommitted hawks and i hesitantly included swans.

I agree we should take best available and leave emotion out of it.

Of course if a hawk was best man for the job i would get used to the foul stench after a few weeks and would back the MC's judgement.

How come no one else has voted? :(

I really didn't see that much in SJ this year *ducks for cover* - yes, Brownlow votes + all that - but what did he actually DO? :p
He absolutely starred in the first five weeks. Then wAs playing injured until late in the season. There was talk he was considering retiring because of the injury. Got fit again, another couple of best on grounds and then injured himself again and his season was done.

We have been treated to a banquet for several years.
Players have feasted and drunk from the premiership cup.
Many have had their fill and the table has been slowly cleared.
Some are still kicking on but soon will be washed up.
Now space must made at the table for young hungry men.

Who will be leaving the Table next year?
Superb descriptions in your poll, Heckler- and a great topic for discussion.

true true true on Heckler Tc, but I'm still trying to track down the cat board member who said stokes will retire early next year.

McIntosh leading the race, I would have thought he's already cooked and will play very little part for us next year.
I actually think he'll have a better 15 than 14.
How good? No idea. Just better.

McIntosh leading the race, I would have thought he's already cooked and will play very little part for us next year.

It would be interesting to know where McIntosh and Simpson are in their post-op recoveries.
I note that neither was mentioned as training with the other recoverers Menzel/Vardy/Cowan last week.

It would be interesting to know where McIntosh and Simpson are in their post-op recoveries.
I note that neither was mentioned as training with the other recoverers Menzel/Vardy/Cowan last week.
Did Hmac have an op? First I've heard
And being so old... no way is he coming back yet anyway.

If that happens, Simpson is probably finished while Clark, Stanley, Blicavs have also replicated similar numbers to our woeful rucking combo's since 2013.
Agree mate. The cats have built a lot of insurance.
Is it really a bad thing?

I'd say they'll be eased back into it, starting when the older players come back. No point in cooking them for Christmas- I've already got my turkey organised.

Maybe yes, maybe no, but the point at present is that we simply have no news at all on where they're at recovery-wise.
In Simpson's case, we still don't even whether he's going to play on.
It's not impossible to predict our ruck/forward/overall line-ups until we know the situation with McIntosh/Simpson (and Vardy). Not impossible, just an exercise in futility.

Maybe yes, maybe no, but the point at present is that we simply have no news at all on where they're at recovery-wise.
In Simpson's case, we still don't even whether he's going to play on.
It's not impossible to predict our ruck/forward/overall line-ups until we know the situation with McIntosh/Simpson (and Vardy). Not impossible, just an exercise in futility.
I agree that it does seem futile but we are still a long way from the preseason games and I would HOPE we pick up lots more info between now and then.

Re Simpson- I think that if his back was shot, he'd have pulled the pin by now. The medicos must've given him better than even odds on a comeback- and not just a short term career but one that makes the pain worth going through. I reckon he's having another crack at it- like it or not.

What would he have to do to get an extension on his contract?
I can't see it being possible.
I think the club gambled when they picked him.

Probably expecting Simpson and Vardy to come through fine.
Hoping to snare a flag.
I'm not going to knock them for it. Maybe they didn't go hard enough to drag a top line ruck out of another club? We'll never know.

Simpson could be useful in the 2nds now that Banjanin has moved on.
I think Simpson has a lot to offer in the first half of the year getting fit and rucking in the twos. The young mids have all been at the feet of rucking giants such as Walker / Banjanin/ A.N. other. No disrespect but having to rove to a losing ruck is not the way to show your wares [unless you like tackling].
I watched Simpson v North recently (not the final obviously) on replay(pre injury). He was good. Goldstein had his hands very full. He is not done yet I hope.

I agree that it does seem futile but we are still a long way from the preseason games and I would HOPE we pick up lots more info between now and then.
Re Simpson- I think that if his back was shot, he'd have pulled the pin by now. The medicos must've given him better than even odds on a comeback- and not just a short term career but one that makes the pain worth going through. I reckon he's having another crack at it- like it or not.

Fit he can play. The labouring is/has been part of the injury problem. Like Cowan he has one more year.

I think Simpson has a lot to offer in the first half of the year getting fit and rucking in the twos. The young mids have all been at the feet of rucking giants such as Walker / Banjanin/ A.N. other. No disrespect but having to rove to a losing ruck is not the way to show your wares [unless you like tackling].
I watched Simpson v North recently (not the final obviously) on replay(pre injury). He was good. Goldstein had his hands very full. He is not done yet I hope.

Fit he can play. The labouring is/has been part of the injury problem. Like Cowan he has one more year.
Do you think he might lose a few pounds, catswhiskers, in order to not work his back so hard? I thought Tom Hawkins looked leaner when he returned this season- and I know they aren't the same back problems and you need a ruckman to be strong (and his weight is a part of his strength) but do you think Simpson would benefit from playing leaner?
The good thing is that 2015 will be his second year back from his knee op. The first year back after a fairly major op is always tough and, I think, that was a factor in him showing lesser skills than he displayed in 2013.

Do you think he might lose a few pounds, catswhiskers, in order to not work his back so hard? I thought Tom Hawkins looked leaner when he returned this season- and I know they aren't the same back problems and you need a ruckman to be strong (and his weight is a part of his strength) but do you think Simpson would benefit from playing leaner?
The good thing is that 2015 will be his second year back from his knee op. The first year back after a fairly major op is always tough and, I think, that was a factor in him showing lesser skills than he displayed in 2013.

Possibly but he is just a BIG unit. He will be asked to work hard on endurance again and that should get him to a playing weight they want for him. Just staying fit for the first 2/3 of the season would be big fillip. Hence a managed VFL presence while we check out the other talls for a better No.1.

We would have one ruck ready to work up to AFL finals should we get close. One fit first ruck. One more than last year. One more year or a career?

There was a rumour Geelong offered Lonners another year to stop him being poached.
Do we have any proof he signed an extension?

There is an article in Inside Footy on the whole Lonergan post season story. In that it states he has signed. Quote "Lonergan has signed a one year contract extension tying him to the Club until the end of 2016"