The Liberal Party - How long? - Part 2

So no effective opposition in Federal politics for the forseeable future. Great.
LNP was in government from 1996-2007 and 2014-2022, thats 19 of the last 29 years, and what did they achieve? They get what they deserve, hopefully the ALP can do some real good with the majority they have.

There is no shortage of things that illustrate the complete hopelessness of the Liberal Party, but this is a pretty good one.

Here is their media arm giving their “solution” for the next leader. A man who:

- Is not in parliament and hasn’t been for over three years

- Lost his safe seat at the last election

- Is completely despised in his home electorate and state

- Was a historically bad treasurer who oversaw countless rorts and theft, spiraling government debt and absolutely zero reform

- Designed and oversaw JobKeeper, a program which (in losing tens of billions unnecessarily) was the single biggest waste of public money in Australia’s history. After he was warned by treasury to put in clawback safeguards, which he refused to do

- Was last heard from publicly when he backgrounded friendly journalists to spruik him as the next CEO of the AFL, a role which he was never even contacted about despite recruiters investigating hundreds of candidates

- Counts the disgraced Luke Sayers as his close friend - a man who was head of infamous scandal-ridden PWC when it was found to have leaked government tax planning to multinational clients who would be affected by it. A man who has faced allegations of impropriety regarding charities and who, married with children, recently sent a public photo of his genitals to a female sponsor on what he believed was a private message.

That's what we used to do, and for feral dogs too, when they'd get into the sheep paddocks.

Nobody was short on firearms? Most blokes want to use their own guns, and you'll still have a surplus yourself.

Like I said, there are people I know who have voluntarily downsized well before these changes. One, who lives in the South West of WA most of the time specifically cited fears over gun theft. And yeah, he moaned about the changes which won't affect him at all, but truth be told, he doesn't really care. The majority are common sense. As for caps on ownership, I just don't see the case for them negatively impacting the vast vast majority of WA gun owners.
I don’t have my own guns anymore - left them in qld.

And I’m quite literally giving you the example of what people around me do. They take employees and friends.

I’m quite content with extra safety over gun theft although the police listing the addresses of people with multiple guns was pretty flipping stupid..
2 of them are dead since this pic was taken

now, a return to the centre right would be sensible. either the advent of another party or dispensing with the right wing rabble inside and outside the party. sadly, as long as the dirty digger or his equally miscreant son are around, i can’t see it.

What's this Penfold-looking ****wit littleproud going on about ??

" We'll pause any further moves for now "

Fair dinkum, he's the " Ultra Magnus " of nats leaders

So the Nationals realised they get a pay cut for not having any shadow portfolios, hence the attempted flip flopping.
Yes, and their so-called "principled reasons" for getting divorced weren't in fact principled at all.

So the Nationals realised they get a pay cut for not having any shadow portfolios, hence the attempted flip flopping.
Not to mention never sitting on the Treasury benches again. They need to get this sorted out asap, leave it too long and the narrative of a marriage of convenience will emerge.

Without a combined LNP Senate Ticket Senator Bang Bang McKenzie has no hope of getting back in in 3 years - zero, none, nada

It is therefore inevitable that they’ll come crawling back on their knees

This spat is the Oligarch's pulling rank.

"Nuclear will be your policy and do not think for a second you can abandon gas and coal for renewables."

The Nationals are the messenger and the Liberals will fall into line.

The climate war continues and the Oligach's will win unless Australia keeps the Liberals out.

This spat is the Oligarch's pulling rank.

"Nuclear will be your policy and do not think for a second you can abandon gas and coal for renewables."

The Nationals are the messenger and the Liberals will fall into line.

The climate war continues and the Oligach's will win unless Australia keeps the Liberals out.

That’s great opposition policy to remain an opposition policy for years to come.

Hopefully.

This is why the Liberals cannot reform - the tail is wagging the dog and that is not going to change.

We can look forward to three more years of men in suits telling us how it should be and conservative Australian rallying all their resources - farmers, oligarchs, media, etc. - to get in the way of any renewable progress. Wind farm bad. Solar farms bad. Distribution upgrades bad. Everything except burning coal and gas bad.

Hopefully.

This is why the Liberals cannot reform - the tail is wagging the dog and that is not going to change.

We can look forward to three more years of men in suits telling us how it should be and conservative Australian rallying all their resources - farmers, oligarchs, media, etc. - to get in the way of any renewable progress. Wind farm bad. Solar farms bad. Distribution upgrades bad. Everything except burning coal and gas bad.

And food. Food is not bad, and farmers grow it.

The Liberal Party - How long? - Part 2