The LOSS Response Thread

He shouldn't go for either. The first was an attempted shepard that slipped high. He did exactly the same thing in the 2nd quarter except the contact was to the chest.

Yeah because you shepherd by putting your forearm into someone's neck. .. If he hit the chest he would be fine but he got Murph high and will cop his due. ..

While not malicious (I hope) poor Murph was in the wars. ..

The trip was probably the most needless and stupid of the incidence, Schofield had a massive brain-fart on that one. ..

We had our moments today but lacked the composure to forge ahead. .. While our defenders were under seige it was really our forwards that let us down by lacking finish. ..

We'll move on and learn from this, hopefully and be better for it. .. When Geelong and the Saints lost to us last year they recovered and so can we. ..

Scotland 1st quarter hit him in the chest and glanced up. Fair play but edgy which is why I included it

Touhy/Ellard? 1st quarter, from what I saw it was similar to the Scotland incident. I thought he got collected high, I haven't the benefit of a replay

Murphy 2nd quarter. Clear elbow to the face while shepparding. Raised arm will see him get weeks

Murphy 4th quarter. Hip to head, reckless, and high more weeks
The only two that will and should be looked at.

Neither will see him get weeks.

I reckon at most two with a guilty plea and that at a stretch.

Oh an before you mention it, I included the Touhy incident because I didn't claim he would get weeks for it, I was referencing a recurring pattern of hitting smaller players
To be fair, most players are smaller than Lynch.

Good on him also, has never been a physical player.

If he is going to lay legal bumps like the one on Touhy then he should be commended.

You played well today, your still at the same level as Essendon this year though.

Poor loser statements mean little to me, my opinion of your side is the same now as it was before the game.

...which kind of says it all really

Good point and does make me feel a little better. :)
One thing though, it's easy to say that our 'fill in players' played as expected. But the most annoying thing was the errors and turnovers by senior players.
Just hurts to loose to westcoast.

Turnovers are the result of 2 things, either you dont have the skills to execute, if that were the case we would not be where we are, having been 10 goals up on Sydney before the injuries started to mount last week, or the pressure being applied by the other mob. That pressure is itself the result of one of 2 things or a combination of them, firstly your own application, and on this score, there is no doubt WC came to play and set themselves on us big time, in a season defining way. Until beating us they had not won in Melb or beaten a team above them. They set themselves for the contest and it showed.

The other thing that contributes to that pressure is the quality of the players out there and how much trust they have in each other, and its fair to say that if you change the list by a third, some of that trust is eroded simply because that trust is built over time playing together and you dont have that if players are coming in for first, second or third games. I dont mean Kruze btw, he has the trust but players like Okeefe, Aussie have not graced the field with many of our players so no trust is developed.

So decisions that make themselves, first nature movements of the ball, are suddenly thought about for a split second, either by those newbies or by others thinking who is the best option, the newbie 10 meters clear or the Scotland or Gibbs et al, under pressure but we back their ability to win their contest. That split second thinking time is enough for the pressure to arrive, and turnover rates to increase.

All of that, and we had a bad day. Move on.

I know he's had injuries but Austin is still built like a 2nd or 3rd year player and is not strong enough or big enough for the top level. Falls over a lot, doesn't run off his man and is lacking fittness. Always looks like he might be really good but I don't think he'll get there. At best needs 1 more preseason to get fit and strong. How many chances do you get? Time to play Watson.

O'Keefe did some nice things and could make a handy player. Liked what I saw.

Armfield is not up to it for where we are going, butchers the ball and we don't need more light bodies. Is a decent backup. Has a go and that's good.

Yarran was brilliant. Our best by far.

Murphy, Scotland and Touhy were good.

Kreuzer struggled. It drives me crazy how he gets himself too far under the ball and often completly misses the contest. Desperatly needs to learn how to protect the drop zone and use his body and really plant his feet. Some advice from SOS or Wayne Carey would be good. There were too many contests where he didn't touch it. Their defenders knew to body him at all cost, something Teague would have told them. Had this problem pre knee injury. This is something he must work on.

We need to start trying to play Bower, we were shown that we desperatly need a proper sized CHB and we know he can play. Is he injured again?

We desperatly missed Duigan, Curnow and Robinson. Laidler and Waite were also missed. Jammo too.

Judd must be carrying an injury, possibly since the st. kilda game. Is struggeling.

There is no room for both Warnock and Kreuzer. At least one needs to perform as a forward and so far none have. O'hAilpin or Casboult should be played instead of Warnock. Kreuzer's body work is poor and Warnock isn't big and strong enough to take marks as forwards.

There will be a big challenge between Henderson, Casboult and Mitchell next year to join Waite as our 2nd key forward. We desperatly need a tall strong body forward who can take a mark and make a contest. I'm looking forward to Mitchell and a more mature bodied Henderson.

Ellard was really poor, maybe it was his lack of support in there. Carrazzo was terrible also. Lucky not to be dropped, but for who is the question.

With Robinson and Curnow out, we should have played Joseph.

IN:
Curnow - We really missed his body work. Would have been good up against Priddis. We got slaughtered in this area.

Robinson - Has been our most influential player the last month. Irreplacable. Again struggled in the area of the game that Robbo brings to the team.

Waite - The injury was a bugger as his form was good. Isn't super strong or good one on one but has good hands and is still strong enought to give a good contest and take the odd mark.

Duigan - Really missed him, his strength, leadership and smarts are so valuable.

Laidler - Is a bloody good player. Tough, smart and good in the air.

O'hAilpin - Will give us more up forward than Kreuzer and Warnock. Can fill in in defence if needed. Part time ruckman. Has the size and strength that Hendo lacks at this stage of his career and will always bring the footy to ground. We lacked a mature tall body up forward.

OUT:
Warnock - Seeing as both ruckmen are failing as forwards, it's costing us too much run to carry both. Warnock is in poor touch, too light and is eaasily pushed aside by defenders.

O'Keefe - I liked his game but he's a fair way down the pecking order and there are a few good players coming back.

Armfield - Isn't a strong tackler and butchers the ball. Is further down the pecking order than those who are out. Has pace and has a real crack thought which is good.

Austin - I'm not against giving him another game but his falling over, clumsy free kicks and inability to get off his man and find the footy when we win it are a problem.

Carrazzo - Was a passenger again. I question what he is bringing to the side that someone elso can't do better. Has been decent this year but needs a rest after this performance. Was really ordinry. Get Houlihan playing his role as Houlahan will bring things like good kicking to the team that Carrazzo does not.

Henderson - Gets pushed around far too easily by any decent back man. Until he's strong enought for AFL we may as well play Walker, Waite and an O'hAilpin. It would be good if Henderson could ruck. Getting out marked in defence is one of the worst things that a forward can do wrong.

B: Duigan Jamison Laidler
HB: Yarran Thornton Russell
C: Gibbs Judd Simpson
HF: Garlett Waite Scotland
F: Walker O'hAilpin Betts
OB: Kreuzer Murphy Robinson
IC: Curonow Ellard Houlihan Touhy

EM: Carrazzo Watson Henderson

2 weeks for 2 separate incidents would be a disgrace. Both are reportable. The first one is a 2-3 week possibility given he made what appeared to be deliberate high contact. The second is probably a single week if they think it was negligent, or perhaps 2-3 if they believe it was reckless or had intent.

That is my opinion. Feel free to disagree. If Lynch gets done by the MRP then I won't be happy, I might feel vindicated, but not happy, I still feel we are a much better team than we played today and I won't take any joy in seeing Lynch being rubbed out (although I think he deserves to be)

I know he's had injuries but Austin ...........

Kreuzer struggled. It drives me crazy how he gets himself too far under the ball and often completly misses the contest. Desperatly needs to learn how to protect the drop zone and use his body and really plant his feet. Some advice from SOS or Wayne Carey would be good. There were too many contests where he didn't touch it. Their defenders knew to body him at all cost, something Teague would have told them. Had this problem pre knee injury. This is something he must work on.

We need to start trying to play Bower, we were shown that we desperatly need a proper sized CHB and we know he can play. Is he injured again?

We desperatly missed Duigan, Curnow and Robinson. Laidler and Waite were also missed. Jammo too.

Judd must be carrying an injury, possibly since the st. kilda game. Is struggeling.

There is no room for both Warnock and Kreuzer. At least one needs to perform as a forward and so far none have. O'hAilpin or Casboult should be played instead of Warnock. Kreuzer's body work is poor and Warnock isn't big and strong enough to take marks as forwards.

There will be a big challenge between Henderson, Casboult and Mitchell next year to join Waite as our 2nd key forward. We desperatly need a tall strong body forward who can take a mark and make a contest.

Ellard was really poor, maybe it was his lack of support in there. Carrazzo was terrible also. Lucky not to be dropped, but for who is the question.

With Robinson and Curnow out, we should have played Joseph.

IN:
Curnow - We really missed his body work. Would have been good up against Priddis. We got slaughtered in this area.

Robinson - Has been our most influential player the last month. Irreplacable. Again struggled in the area of the game that Robbo brings to the team.

Waite - The injury was a bugger as his form was good.

Duigan - Really missed him, his strength, leadership and smarts are so valuable.

Laidler - Is a bloody good player. Tough, smart and good in the air.

O'hAilpin - Will give us more up forward than Kreuzer and Warnock. Can fill in in defence if needed. Part time ruckman. Has the size and strength that Hendo lacks at this stage of his career and will always bring the footy to ground. We lacked a mature tall body up forward.

OUT:
Warnock - Seeing as both ruckmen are failing as forwards, it's costing us too much run to carry both. Warnock is in poor touch, too light and is eaasily pushed aside by defenders.

O'Keefe - I liked his game but he's a fair way down the pecking order and there are a few good players coming back.

Armfield - Isn't a strong tackler and butchers the ball. Is further down the pecking order than those who are out. Has pace and has a real crack thought which is good.

Austin - I'm not against giving him another game but his falling over, clumsy free kicks and inability to get off his man and find the footy when we win it are a problem.

Carrazzo - Was a passenger again. I question what he is bringing to the side. Has been decent this year but needs a rest after this performance. Was really ordinry. Get Houlihan playing his role.

Henderson - Gets pushed around far too easily by any decent back man. Until he's strong enought for AFL we may as well play Walker, Waite and an O'hAilpin. It would be good if Henderson could ruck. Getting out marked in defence is one of the worst things that a forward can do wrong.

B: Duigan Jamison Laidler
HB: Yarran Thornton Russell
C: Gibbs Judd Simpson
HF: Garlett Waite Scotland
F: Walker O'hAilpin Betts
OB: Kreuzer Murphy Robinson
IC: Curonow Ellard Houlihan Touhy

EM: Carrazzo Watson Henderson

Wow, never took you for a panicking, wrist slashing, knee jerking whiner (too far? maybe)..........Bagging Kruze 3rd game back from a year out of the game......and after the show he put on last week.......get a clue mate.

Most of the rest isnt in dispute, yes we missed all the players you mention, nice slip in of the Carrots hate speech btw..... but the Kruzer slam, totally uncalled for dude.

speaking of mrp...who was it that head-butted nic nat on the ground after a tackle?

Have another look at it mate, should be the other way around, Nic nat was facing Tbird, and the back of Tbirds head contacted NicNats face, meaning he had no idea the contact would occur, having had the eyes in the back of his head closed. Accidental head clash, wont even be looked at. Move along now.

Thornton, he fell forward while getting up. If the MRP sees intent they may pursue but I doubt there was any
Looked deliberate to me, swung his head back.

Very hard to tell either way and I don't think too much will come from it.

You never know with the MRP though.

Wow, never took you for a panicking, wrist slashing, knee jerking whiner (too far? maybe)..........Bagging Kruze 3rd game back from a year out of the game......and after the show he put on last week.......get a clue mate.

Most of the rest isnt in dispute, yes we missed all the players you mention, nice slip in of the Carrots hate speech btw..... but the Kruzer slam, totally uncalled for dude.

Kruezer;s tap to Eddie resulting in a goal was a highlight, :thumbsu:

Kreuzer did struggle. Not a matter of opinion, he was beaten convincingly, particularly in the hitouts.

Probably to be expected coming up against the best ruck duo in the AFL at present, 3 games back from a knee injury. His game last week raised expectation to extraordinary heights, which he was never going to reach.

He didn't take many contested marks today but I strongly disagree with gbatman's assessment of his marking ability in general. As a forward, he's hasn't shown much consistency but around the ground he's proven in his career to be a very good contested mark - reads the ball brilliantly and grabs it with arms fully outstretched. Far better in this regard than either Hampson or Warnock. Even up forward, his work ethic and physicality means he'll have an impact most week, even if he doesn't hit the scoreboard.

He'll likely be up and down over the next 4-6 weeks as he regains match fitness but hopefully he's fully fit and flying come September.

Not bagging, just making an observation. This has long been an area the big fella has had problems with. I think he sets himself too far under the ball which allows him to be pushed out of position. He gets his feet in the wrong places at times too which allows defenders to easily push him forward. He's tall and has good hands. Now he's big and strong this is a part of his game he can really improve on I recon. I think he's just a few technical perfections away from being a really dangerous forward. I'm a huge fan of the big fella but if i can see an area in his or anyone's game that he can improve on i will not be afraid to say so. By no means am I bagging his game, I thought he battled tirelessly today up against the AFL's best ruck combo and did a good defensive job. But you can only play two ruckmen if at least one is kicking goals. Warnock was ok too, he fought hard as well but Kreuzer is the better of the two.

Not a Carrots hate speach, just an observation. Houlihan was good when moved into the middle and has a decent defencive game. Perhaps he can offer the team more. I have no problem with Carrazzo but when better options come along you go with them. He might need a rest, looked tired and sluggish as did a lot of the boys. We play a physically demanding game style, it's only natural that a few of the boys would be looking for a rest, and we get a shortish break this week. When you think of who is coming back it's going to be tight for places.

You should get a clue yourself and lern to tell the difference between constructive criticism and bagging. If you did have a clue you could tell the difference.

You played well today, your still at the same level as Essendon this year though.

Poor loser statements mean little to me, my opinion of your side is the same now as it was before the game.

Thats because you are obviously a poor loser ..The Eagles played better football for most of the day and won in a canter .....we were beaten by the better team on the day ..end of story .

stop acting like a petulant 13 yr old :thumbsd:

You can't call the first two accidents, they were shepherds, poorly executed which could of been very dangerous to the players he hit. The last Murphy was perhaps negligent, but the contact was much more flush.

You are entitled to your opinion, but Lynch was involved in 4 incidents where smaller players were on the receiving end of high bumps. Calling him a sniper based on this evidence seems fair to me

The loss has clouded your judgement mate.

Lynch a sniper.:eek: Far from it.

What I have noticed about Lynch recently is he has stopped pulling out of contests / bumps or sheppards, in previous years he looked like he didn't want to hurt someone body on body as he's such a big unit. His career is on the line this year, he was shopped around last season for a move and ended up with a 1 year deal. This season he has simply put in 100% and is actually using his body size, he isn't pulling out of body contact and is shepparding more.

What Lynch is is big and somewhat clumzy. Yes one of the attempted sheppards rode a bit high on Murphy and the hign bump in the last wasn't great but it wasn't sniping.

Lynch is playing more 'unsociable' footy and good on him, but he doesn't go out to take a blokes head off on purpose.

The eagles deserved to win today. Our team was dessimated with injury all over the ground Particularly in the areas where the game was won and lost. Center contested possessions and clearances and in the defence. Losing Jamison made things harder. It's not so much that our depth players were no good, they were fine, but bringing in so many new players and losing some real leaders like Duigan, Robinson and Jamison completly breaks up the team structure. We were vulnerable to most teams today IMO.

Next week, if things go to plan, we should get plenty of senior players back and the Carlton we know of this year will return, not a problem.

Also who got Murphy with the elbow? That will get a few weeks. Something you don't expect to see any more, especially at AFL level.

Just a quick comment, dont be so fast to dismiss having both your ruckmen playing. They werent effective today but Cox is in some really good form in the ruck. They also didnt have the clean supply to give them the chance to get marks on the lead or at least contest well frequently and we could afford to put our best defenders on them. You did score a couple of goals i think from getting the ball in deep, contesting and crumbing.

I dont follow Carlton much at all, but if both coming of extended time out they will get better for the run regardless.

[/b]

The loss has clouded your judgement mate.

Lynch a sniper.:eek: Far from it.

What I have noticed about Lynch recently is he has stopped pulling out of contests / bumps or sheppards, in previous years he looked like he didn't want to hurt someone body on body as he's such a big unit. His career is on the line this year, he was shopped around last season for a move and ended up with a 1 year deal. This season he has simply put in 100% and is actually using his body size, he isn't pulling out of body contact and is shepparding more.

What Lynch is is big and somewhat clumzy. Yes one of the attempted sheppards rode a bit high on Murphy and the hign bump in the last wasn't great but it wasn't sniping.

Lynch is playing more 'unsociable' footy and good on him, but he doesn't go out to take a blokes head off on purpose.

Not sure the MRP will see it that way.

Reckless/intentional

Not bagging, just making an observation. This has long been an area the big fella has had problems with. I think he sets himself too far under the ball which allows him to be pushed out of position. He gets his feet in the wrong places at times too which allows defenders to easily push him forward. He's tall and has good hands. Now he's big and strong this is a part of his game he can really improve on I recon. I think he's just a few technical perfections away from being a really dangerous forward. I'm a huge fan of the big fella but if i can see an area in his or anyone's game that he can improve on i will not be afraid to say so.

Not a Carrots hate speach, just an observation. Houlihan was good when moved into the middle and has a decent defencive game. Perhaps he can offer the team more. I have no problem with Carrazzo but when better options come along you go with them. He might need a rest, looked tired and sluggish as did a lot of the boys. We play a physically demanding game style, it's only natural that a few of the boys would be looking for a rest, and we get a shortish break this week.

You should get a clue yourself and lern to tell the difference between constructive criticism and bagging. If you did have a clue you could tell the difference.

Too late mate, its already out there, we can all read what you wrote. I understand you dont like to be pulled up on it, but if you dont want your posts critiqued dont post.

You say you have no problem with Carrots but when better options come along.....what better options, which gun is Carrots holding out......there is no better option (except in your mind and those of the haters, has played every game this year and rightly so) and you didnt seem to think there was some "better option" while we were winning, which made me think it was a knee jerk reaction, but I could be wrong, you could just be a closet hater in denial.....whatever mate, I dont care. BTW, Carrots was also far from our worst today and is in no danger whatsoever of being dropped on today's game, not by those that watch with no predisposition that is.

We miss Waite as a marking big forward, no-one disputes that, when he comes in, Kruze will do just fine all over the ground, and drift forward as a dangerous marking option. He had a massive game last week, was far from our worst today so you do yourself a disservice even mentioning him.

The rest of your post was stating the obvious. Not sure about AJ not being selected was a mistake that you imply, not sure because I dont know that he has earned a call up. I understand Okeefe, Army and Aussie did, but didnt grasp their chance. Bit tough on them, to come in when the rest of the team also has a down day, but they didnt set the world on fire in a losing team, and once the injured players they replaced are fit, they go back down. So like I said, not much else in your post was either a revelation or in dispute. So what exactly was the point of your post if not to sink a slipper into Carrots and to have a whinge about a player that was close to if not BOG last week, and had a down day, 3 games back after a year out.

Like I said, poor form mate. Thats my constructive criticism of your post. Suck it up and come out a better poster next week. :cool:

Looked deliberate to me, swung his head back.

Very hard to tell either way and I don't think too much will come from it.

You never know with the MRP though.

The level of contact won't rate a mention as it can't really be measured.

No real impact so no case to answer.

Just unsocialble football.;)