The Magpie Post Match Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter betchsta

Re: Is this what we have needed ?????

Pies played with passion tonight, our just rolled over and took it. Any supporter would be extremely disappointed, their attack on the footy was woeful, many sat as bystanders.

The effort that was put on dispay tonight was well below par, I expect more. I god damn hope that the players do also. It was by far the worst play they have done in over two years, in fact, the worst since we payed Collingwood in 2006.

There was a story recently about Big Footy, about players reading it. I know they would be disappointed by their efforts, but I hope they do read posts on this board. Good teams don't die like that. Good teams do something about it. Good teams don't just argue with the umpires when they are 40 points down.

It is a first loss, that is insignificant to where we sit on the ladder. However, the loss points out a few glaring issues, which I hope the coaching staff take seriously.

After this game I'm not my normal disciplined self, I'm pretty pissed off.

Re: The Loss we had to have??

Aye, when we were flying in the 90s, Collingwood were crap and they specialised in beating us twice a year.

Take heart Catters - its one loss.

Re: How Embarrasing

I have to diifer from that. Friday night under lights M.C.G. What could be bigger a grander stage bar Finals and using exscuses is no excuse. Sure Chapman, Egan and Ottens were out but you have to able to cover injuries and we didn't tonight and i reckon that if Chapman had been in it would'nt have made 80 points of difference and Ottens hasn't played all year so we can't use that as another excuse. We just are not playing well and will need to lift or the next six weeks could see us sliding down the eight. All credit to the Pies tonight and I love the cats.
Tassie Cat has it absolutely spot on. Well done.

We r gone playing like 06. Harley is shit too many players` playing for themselves. We wont even make the grand final.

As I stated in my last post, no doubt disappointment there. But not make the GF? That is up to the players on the day, not what happens in round 9.

I have to diifer from that. Friday night under lights M.C.G. What could be bigger a grander stage bar Finals and using exscuses is no excuse. Sure Chapman, Egan and Ottens were out but you have to able to cover injuries and we didn't tonight and i reckon that if Chapman had been in it would'nt have made 80 points of difference and Ottens hasn't played all year so we can't use that as another excuse. We just are not playing well and will need to lift or the next six weeks could see us sliding down the eight. All credit to the Pies tonight and I love the cats.

fair enough but we just suck at the G under light...always have and probably always will...pies played well but lets not panic ..were still 8-1...

Yeah thats true but i must admit even with such a great win loss record i have been worried for about five weeks now. I just have to keep the faith I suppose but I am sure that this will snap them out of their May slumber.

Tonight was a embarrasment, I realise its only 1 lost, but by that margin was deplorable. For the past few weeks we have been playiong ordinary football against sides that are struggling. Here is a list of players in which I thinks needs to be targeted:
Mooney is shot, the amount of drop marks he did tonight was dismall, I feel he has not got the presents he has had during the past 2 seasons.
Bartel: Cant fire, he kicking effeciancy was way off the mark.
Blake: Did we give him a sympathy vote by keeping him; he is no good. Cant run. Cant kick. 2nd rate ruckman.
Taylor: Has been playing some good footy at times, BUT his attack at the footy and pulling out of contests made me wince.
Stokes: He got the ball but didn't do anything.
Hawkins: We need a power forward to step up in big games, but he failed to produce when it counted. Handballing out of bands.....dumb...
Some of the players are living off last year.

This lost having been brewing for quite some time, I am a realist and a passionate supporter. We won it last year, but the way we have been playing over the past month will not win the Geelong Football Club another flag. I am not saying we dont have the talent Im just saying some players have to pull their fingers out of their arses and have a go.
WE HAVE THEN TALENT TO DO SOMETHING SPECIAL.....BUT UNTIL THE BLOKES HAVE A GO AND NOT WAIT TILL HALF TIME.......the start of the year will only be a memory.

Read the posts in this thread Cats fans! Everyone besides us believes that this is the exception...not the rule.

Are there lessons to be learned? Sure!

Is this the end of the world? I think not.

Nuh, do us the world of good.....will do rid of the arrogance we have developed in the last few weeks.

I haven't seen the boys that dis-interested, slow, confused, etc etc etc. in years. Hey I know it's only one loss in how many but it's how we lost it. That was f*cking pitiful!! Not one player could ask for their pay tonight. Not one.

SJ - seems to think he can fix the game by being tricky. How many times he tried to get around a player/s instead of just kicking the friggin' thing.

Lingy - damn I haven't seen him player a shocker of this magnitude in ages!! He just couldn't grab the ball.

Moons - well, I know there isn't much support down there but just keeping to the basics seems to elude him.

An excellent game by the pies and there were some worrying signs of cockiness from the cats....not the players, not the club but it's supporters and the media.

Truth is as far as I see it we are not as good as last year, I think a few of our young guys are struggling and although we have covered our losses to date well they are starting to catch up with us.

I think tonight was a reality check to all and sundry that the cats are not a level above the rest of the competition but rather have been playing on confidence.

Every win the cats have has been thoroughly earned and every one they get from now on will be more so. From now on will be the real test of this playing group.

On the flip side why is it that one of the most inaccurate side in the AFL can't bloody miss when they play us, my god cloke never misses when he plays us but is ordinary against everyone else.

Re: I hate to say it.....

I was a bit dissapointed in Stokes' performance tonight thinking he might be out to prove himself after last weeks suspension.

Ling had an ordinary night as well from what I saw, how much of an injury was he carrying?

I thought Varcoe had a terrific game....well done for the late inclusion.

Taylor probably saved us from another 4 goals.

I was a bit dissapointed in Stokes' performance tonight thinking he might be out to prove himself after last weeks suspension.

Ling had an ordinary night as well from what I saw, how much of an injury was he carrying?

I thought he cost us about that many actually.. Cloke was killing him

I was suprised he lined up on Swan again, I thought we'd try something different.

The half on half off wins were never going to last, a loss was coming when a team maintained intensity for the whole match and Collingwood is exactly the team that does that.

Sticking to a game plan is one thing, but there was too many times i was hoping they just kick the thing 20 meters sideways backwards whatever to someone to hold possession and re-set rather than endless under pressure handpassing.

I definitely think this was the loss you guys had to have. The margin was a bit of a blow out but the damage is only superficial. In actual fact I think this game shows how much the team has put in so far this year given they haven't really reached top form. The Pies beat you tonight with the help of the first 8 rounds you guys have endured - not only physically enduring but mentally enduring. Your team is human. Freshen up a bit and after the 2 week break hit the ground running. Now the spotlight is on the Hawks, let's see how they go.

Mackie was shocking early in the game, poor decision making and poor skills. Wasn't the only one, but he stood out most in my eyes.

Re: Ouch!!

Out of all the teams in the league why the hell do we have to keep on getting belted by colonwood. I'd rather lose to the dawks than these f*ckwits.

We are missing NAB in a big big way this season. I have been biting my tongue because we cant bring him back and people love TH but NAB had more goals and as important a lot more assists last year. We a proper target up the ground at across HF.

....but Tom Harley has been very ____ing ordinary this season. If he wasn't captain he's be in the magoos.

So true. Looks old, tired and out of touch and has for over a year.

Ever since that recent interview posted on here when he was making excuses for being owned by Riewoldt I have lost a huge amount of respect too.