The Magpie Post Match Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter betchsta

Geelong played pathetic and lost.

Collingwood played the game of their lives.

We have been playing shit for the past 5 weeks and luckily only faced sides like Richmond and Freo...So our poor form finally got found out by Collingwood.

Brisbane got pumped by 10 Goals by Freo in one of their premiership years...

86 points...46 points...16 points...

We played shit.

If we had've played Hawthorn or Adelaide at AAIM both would've pumped us by 100+

Looking unfocused and tired...

It isn't the end of the world....

BLAKE WAS SHIT...WE NEED NATEDOG BACK...

Geelong played pathetic and lost.

Collingwood played the game of their lives.

We have been playing shit for the past 5 weeks and luckily only faced sides like Richmond and Freo...So our poor form finally got found out by Collingwood.

Brisbane got pumped by 10 Goals by Freo in one of their premiership years...

86 points...46 points...16 points...

We played shit.

If we had've played Hawthorn or Adelaide at AAIM both would've pumped us by 100+

Looking unfocused and tired...

It isn't the end of the world....

BLAKE WAS SHIT...WE NEED NATEDOG BACK...

dont get me started on blake

as for ablett, if he can spend a week with his bro, he will be knocking everyone over to train the house down, as for fitness, johnson is never fit, and can play, nath can too

dont get me started on blake

as for ablett, if he can spend a week with his bro, he will be knocking everyone over to train the house down, as for fitness, johnson is never fit, and can play, nath can too

The team was infected with Blakeyitis...

Instead of kicking it to Players who had made ground on their opponenets (Poor Moons...they ignored him so many times when he was clear)...but yeah....instead of kicking it to free players you handball it backwards into trouble and put a teamate under pressure...

We just played really ____ing dumb Football...

to be honest geelong fans heres what i think you all should do
scream cry punch a pillow, do whatever u need to do to vent out ur anger (ive had my fair share of frustration going for the pies)
then forget about footy for the rest of the weekend and start to worry about next week

every now and then, doesnt matter if ur first or last ur going to get these sorts of games and there is nothing u can do about it, the true test of a champion is how he responds after he has gotten back up off the canvas, most defend, some attack, but few rarely knock their opponent back down immediatley

next week is ur true test of character

next week you will see who will stand up and who will go into their shells

until then simply wipe it from ur memory and move on, cause if u get hung up on these sorts of things, the bad things can have a snowball effect

to be honest geelong fans heres what i think you all should do
scream cry punch a pillow, do whatever u need to do to vent out ur anger (ive had my fair share of frustration going for the pies)
then forget about footy for the rest of the weekend and start to worry about next week

every now and then, doesnt matter if ur first or last ur going to get these sorts of games and there is nothing u can do about it, the true test of a champion is how he responds after he has gotten back up off the canvas, most defend, some attack, but few rarely knock their opponent back down immediatley

until then simply wipe it from ur memory and move on, cause if u get hung up on these sorts of things, the bad things can have a snowball effect

Exactly. I think Bomber Thompson is in agreement with you too.

bring back mumford! haha all jokes aside

6 day break after that weather last week was always going to be tough.

a loss makes u really appreciate how lucky all those wins have been ay cats fans.

thats what essendon supporters get week in and out, its expected

Its a good thing most Geelong fans are acting with a cool head after there loss...As i think Thommo said you dont want to hit your best form untill the end of the season. You want to scrape as many wins in the first 15 rounds and then start finding that extra gear thereafter.

And on the bright side at least the cat supporters can look forward to next week for a win (and all the weeks after that one).

WCE supporters have to look forward to next year for that elusive win! And might i add: Go Masten you good thing:p

bring back mumford! haha all jokes aside

6 day break after that weather last week was always going to be tough.

a loss makes u really appreciate how lucky all those wins have been ay cats fans.

thats what essendon supporters get week in and out, its expected

Essendon have been left with a very tough rebuild (due to a whole lot of factors) and are somewhere near the worst of it. They have an excuse. Geelong were 8-0, reigning premiers and have enough of those premiership players in. We were utterly pathetic and have NO excuse.

Listening to the radio, it sounded like Scarlett got absolutely stitched up by Rocca. That could easily be the most embarrassing part of the night.

Hilarious, though, that people are going after Harley. Taylor and Milburn couldn't stop a rampaging Cloke and Scarlett got done for holding the ball how many times?, but it's Harley that is the deadwood.

Looking forward to see how we play next week, i guess most sides have an off night but last night was ugly, Collingwood played very well and i don't think Geelong was prepared for the intensity, they played dumb football.

Bomber will sit them down and they'll just have to refocus, although there are no excuses for how they played, I take comfort in the fact a few other premiership teams got belted in their GF winning years :o such as Brisbane mentioned earlier and also Port who got flogged by North in 04 IIRC.

Hopefully they can play with a little heart next week.

My thoughts, although they would prob have allready been said:

- Hunt was awesome. Those who thought he should have been dropped....
- Mackie was terrible, as was Harley and Stokes. I saw Stokes after he butchered his third kick in a row and he just held his head and then punched the ground.
- Ling tried to do a 2006 and recieve heaps of the ball, and under pressure his disposal is quite average.
- Rooke to come back in, and to take Judd. Needed his hardness last night.
- Mooney is so out of form its not funny. Was Glad when Thompson put him on the ball for 5 minutes, but don't know why he didnt do it for longer.
- Thompson got out-coached many-a-time, and im not sure why it took him so long to take Taylor off Cloke. Although, Taylor still showed he will be a good tall back... He was just outmuscled and caught out in the wrong position at times.
- Our midfield wasnt running. Many times only two or three players ran through the corridor, with the likes of Kelly and Bartel jogging 30m behind and a turn over was the result.
- I miss Egan.

Sorry if this stuff has been said already, just my thoughts..
Shocking loss but we will be back bigger and better, this loss will shock us into action. I hope we are really hurt by this loss and the players come out and say they never want to be humiliated like that again, as this will build an even greater resolve and determination than ever before within the club. The season is long and is never won in May, baby steps are the key and the first step we should take is reviewing the game on monday as we would any other game, raising the intensity on the track during the week, restore any lost focus (after all its only one game) but don't forget the game. Finally, its obvious the best way to restore confidence is to smash carlton next week with a full-on four quarter effort.

Its not the end of the world, but its a bleep on the radar that should be used for reference in the future, Bomber said it himself Collingwood were red hot last night, just their pressure on the players and the ball, chasing and tackling. He was right when he said teams had tried to do it to us over the last couple of weeks, but he gave a quote that should be ringing in the ears of the players next week and that was there comes a point in time when you can't take it (the pressure). And I tend to agree with him when he said something like "it's about time we gave it back".

Look out Carlton and everybody else-this loss may just wake us up

Fire up boys and look to next week
Chin up Cats Fans-Keep the Faith
Because as we all know our faith didn't dissappoint.
GO YOU CATTERS!!!

(I'm sorry its a bit long, but I had to get it off my chest)

Re: Ouch!!

You're gonna have a bunch of supporters saying "Oh no, season over" and I hate that. You had a single loss, and one off night... and my boys really did come at you hard (which is something no one really saw coming, not to that degree).

You're still the reigning premiers. You're still an awesome side. And even though Hawks are probably the flag favourites now, you still have a chance to change that when you play them later in the year.

Just put this behind you and move on.

Spot on. :thumbsu:

Brisbane lost to West Coast by 70 Points @ Home in 2003 so I can assume they buckled and missed the finals or something that Year?

Anyone refresh my memory...

Re: I hate to say it.....

So true. Looks old, tired and out of touch and has for over a year.

"For over a year" so that would obviously incorporate all his games after returning from injury last year, when he played arguably his best season of footy?

Tom 'Deadwood' Harley rode to the flag as a passenger..

Wouldn't you be better served to just admit you were wrong about him last year then to keep digging yourself deeper and deeper into a hole with garbage like this?

Collingwood have more quality forwards than most teams. Harley can't be relied on to take a DEFENSIVE POST. Do understand the meaning of this? Normally he plays on some hack who he can easily leave to hit the other packs... pfft.. he's nothing.

Davis, Brown, Medhurst, Milne, Thomas, just a few of the "hacks" he toweled up last year. All been pointed out to you before but it doesn't seem to deter you from rehashing the same tired old line you love to keep trotting out; I realise you're desperate to have at least one of your endless negative comments about various players be proven right, but the sort of stuff you're writing here is below even you, and that takes some doing believe me.

Brisbane lost to West Coast by 70 Points @ Home in 2003 so I can assume they buckled and missed the finals or something that Year?

Anyone refresh my memory...
Exactly, no team is unbeatable. It's not like you lost to a bottom 4 side or anything either.

Davis, Brown, Medhurst, Milne, Thomas, just a few of the "hacks" he toweled up last year. All been pointed out to you before but it doesn't seem to deter you from rehashing the same tired old line you love to keep trotting out; I realise you're desperate to have at least one of your endless negative comments about various players be proven right, but the sort of stuff you're writing here is below even you, and that takes some doing believe me.

Its easy for any defender when we are smashing sides every week like we did in '07. The ball was never down there and when it was it was bombed in, to our defenders advantage.

I want to see Harley play well when it counts... when we are under the pump. Consistently when we are, he is among the worst players and when a side is down, the crap floats to the surface.
If a side is always winning, everyone looks good.

You can prove me wrong when we're under the pump again and he beats his opponent... hence my 'passenger' tag earlier. His effectiveness has a player is low, his leadership is good. Accept it. I'm of the opinion that a captain should be at least in the clubs top 5-10 performers. Harley is not even close.

If Egan comes back, the obvious out would be Taylor. That is only a major negative for the club and Taylor's progression. Why? Because the captain must play yeah?? Pfft.... He is Richie Vandenberg mk2... Swallow your fricking pride and walk away at the end of '08 Harley!!!

...the true test of a champion is how he responds after he has gotten back up off the canvas, most defend, some attack, but few rarely knock their opponent back down immediatley

Looking forward to see how we play next week

So glad I found a few people who have echoed my thoughts in my orginal post (it is buried in here somewhere). Last night is done and bemoning it might make you feel better but what is done is done.

It is how Geelong responds next week that will reveal more about the club and how it is travelling this year.

No, Rd 10 wins don't mean that much in the grand scheme of things but if a loss comes next week more questions are likely to be raised - have the wheels fallen off? Is this a mid-year slump (remember Port had one last year)? Is it a premiership hangover? Are the players hungry enough? And other well worn queries.

I expect the Cats to bounce back next week. Last night, GFC was outplayed by a side hell-bent on winning.

The sky isn't falling down, the sun did come up this morning and there is always next week.

Its easy for any defender when we are smashing sides every week like we did in '07. The ball was never down there and when it was it was bombed in, to our defenders advantage.

I want to see Harley play well when it counts... when we are under the pump. Consistently when we are, he is among the worst players and when a side is down, the crap floats to the surface.
If a side is always winning, everyone looks good.

You can prove me wrong when we're under the pump again and he beats his opponent... hence my 'passenger' tag earlier. His effectiveness has a player is low, his leadership is good. Accept it. I'm of the opinion that a captain should be at least in the clubs top 5-10 performers. Harley is not even close.

If Egan comes back, the obvious out would be Taylor. That is only a major negative for the club and Taylor's progression. Why? Because the captain must play yeah?? Pfft.... He is Richie Vandenberg mk2... Swallow your fricking pride and walk away at the end of '08 Harley!!!

So according to your "logic" Scarlett, Hunt, Milburn, Egan, Enright etc. would all have been passengers last year because we were winning and the ball never got into our back half?

You can tap dance around it all you like in an effort to prove yourself right but all you're doing is compounding your mistakes, whatever "reasons" you come up with to try explaining it away, Harley had an outstanding year in 07, beat quality opponents and led by example, why is it so hard for you [ and your mate ] to acknowledge that simple fact?

Next week i want to see them apply the pressure, rather than just cope with the oppositions pressure as i think they have been doing for most of the year. And i would like to see it for the entire 4 quarters.

I think they are a mautre team, and disciplined. But the proof will be how they respond to last nite next week. My tip is Carlton are gonna feel the full force of the cats frustration. Remember round 2 last year?

I think it will work out better for your side in the long run. It was overdue that you would finally get knocked off. Geelong have more to play for over the next few weeks.