Mega Thread The Mark Neeld Mega-Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr.X

Just making the point that while it might be coming around again you would need a leader of incredible quality to make it happen and currently that is not the case at Melbourne.
Fair enough, I was going off on a bit of tangent. The impracticalities of the draft would make it very difficult from an outside coach to come in as a player, generally it would have to be found within the current playing squad. You could just about see Jimmy Bartel at Geelong taking an onfield coaching role in his last year or two. Sadly for Melbourne, no-one fits the bill

um, do you not think that it wouldn't be all over AFL.com or any Fairfax or News ltd. website if it did happen?

OR failing that, there would be a thread on it rather than for you to need to ask in this thread?

do you even interwebs?

um, I am on BF, I asked a question and got an answer, there was also meant to be an ironic note to the question.............seems to go over some people's heads.

Where would they be today if this had happened?

1) Trengove & Grimes would be 1000% better off without the captaincy.

2) They would have been a far more attractive option for a better credentialed coach, and probably wouldn't have had to settle for the untried Neeld.

3) Moloney would likely still be there under any other coach, and it would have been much harder for $cully & Co. to walk away from the club.

2) They would have been a far more attractive option for a better credentialed coach, and probably wouldn't have had to settle for the untried Neeld.

3) Moloney would likely still be there under any other coach, and it would have been much harder for $cully & Co. to walk away from the club.

Pointless to speculate on that now. Besides Judd would probably be back at West Coast now if he chose us :oops:

Also $cully would've walked regardless, just like Judd did.

What do we think about Gerard Healy's comment about them having the worst midfield he's seen? I originally thought it was over the top, but I can't think of a worse one - not when Fitzroy had some talent in there.

Paid huge dollars for Clark and Dawes and yet there's no-one to kick it to them ...

Will be sacked at 10am on Monday.

Perhaps a Josh Mahoney or Leigh Brown will be announced as interim coach.

With the clubs biggest gate/crowd of the year next week I think they have no other choice but to relieve Neeld of his duties tomorrow, unless they 100% back him to coach out the year, but with their performance there is no way they can do that.

i reckon he could be the first coach sacked during a game.

possibly by about mid-way through the 4th quarter today.

Melbourne players.... wouldn't put an effort in for Bailey...wont put an effort in for Neeld, makes me wonder if it's the coaches they've had or the players are just pea hearts.

Melbourne is just such a toxic environment at the moment. I feel for Trengrove, Toumpas, Hogan,Grimes and Viney who are the young players who really could have been Elite. Not saying they wont still be very good players, but Melbourne hasn't done a very good job at all so far at developing themin any sort of capacity.

Combine this with the horrid development of Jack Watts, Luke Cook and Tom Scully (who is still feeling the effects of a lack luster Melbourne development) you would dread being drafted there if you were in any way highly rated as a junior.

They need a complete clean out of almost all staff members to change the club from the inside out and really change up the culture. Neeld isn't a fantastic senior coach, I see him as a senior assistant, as he is a pretty good communicator but doesn't have the full respect of the playing group. Not enough experience to dig them out of the canyon they've fallen in. Bit of the saying "You can paint shit pink, but it's still shit" here. He was up against it from day 1. I'd be keeping Peter Jackson as the CEO, very smart man.

Someone they should be looking at very hard is Kevin Sheedy. He knows how to create a culture of winners. He knows how to command the respect of a young group. He knows what it takes to become successful. He knows how to pump up the media and get people excited. He also said he wouldn't rule out another senior job next year, and that nobody had asked him yet. Get him as the senior coach, Mark Williams as the senior assistant and keep Neeld in the box along side them. Don't pick up the shit from other clubs, draft properly and if you want some senior bodies, go for some that will make a bloody difference. If they were smart, I'd be contacting Lingy to be the midfield coach as he knows his stuff. Is a smart man with lots of experience teaching young people (if he doesn't come to us under Bmac which could be very likely), I'd be giving one Daniel Cross a call and saying we'll give you a year at $400,000 to be a permanent fixture in our center square, as he is on the outer with the doggies and not in the future plans, but is definitely capable of being one of the better ball winners in the Dees midfield, same can be said of Simon Black from the lions. He was only given one year (I think?) and I'd be getting in his ear saying we'll give you $500,000 to come down and be a playing coach for us next year. They've got a lot of room in their bloody salary cap and they should be using it to recruit some decent experienced heads to LEAD out on field. I'd also be recruiting bloody midfielders with their first 3 picks this year. Get some depth in there and help Jones out.

They've got potential on most lines of the field with some decent players:
Midfield: Nathan Jones, Viney, Toumpas, Trengrove, Silvia, Howe, Magner
Forward: Watts, Dawes, Mitch Clarke, Hogan
Back: Frawley, Garland, Grimes, Mcdonald
Ruck: Gawn, Jamar, Fitzpatrick

All of those blokes have the potential to be decent to good players, but right now, Melbourne isn't a good place to be.

Ling calling for Neeld to be guaranteed the rest of the year. I don't think I've ever seen a dead coach walking get such ardent support from the media. In theory they should be baying for blood but there just seems to be no thrill of the chase for the hounds when it comes to Neeld.

I don't think Melbourne is damaging the brand any more than GWS or GC last year. Their uncompetitiveness is certainly not attractive, but I don't think it causes any real damage. And as footy has shown, it can be turned around pretty quickly.

I think the difference is we can see the improve of GC and GWS year on year. We don't see that with Melbourne.

wont put an effort in for Neeld

If you don't think they're putting in, you're not watching closely enough.

The fact our execution is shite overall doesn't mean the workrate isn't there.

Ling calling for Neeld to be guaranteed the rest of the year. I don't think I've ever seen a dead coach walking get such ardent support from the media. In theory they should be baying for blood but there just seems to be no thrill of the chase for the hounds when it comes to Neeld.

I think a lot of the media realise that Neeld is not the problem here as much as the playing group themselves are. Sacking him changes nothing and just exposes a caretaker coach to a losing streak for the remainder of the season.

Thats because its not Nealds fault. The club was bad for a long time before he came along, and unless they get some uber coach who can pull shit out of their ass, it'll be bad long after he has left unless the club itself goes through a upheaval.

Neald is gone, but replacing him is just putting a bandaid on a festering wound. It wont do a single thing and just hides the rot for a short period of time.

Thats because its not Nealds fault. The club was bad for a long time before he came along, and unless they get some uber coach who can pull shit out of their arse, it'll be bad long after he has left unless the club itself goes through a upheaval.

Neald is gone, but replacing him is just putting a bandaid on a festering wound. It wont do a single thing and just hides the rot for a short period of time.

I think a lot of the media realise that Neeld is not the problem here as much as the playing group themselves are. Sacking him changes nothing and just exposes a caretaker coach to a losing streak for the remainder of the season.
Sacking the coach and installing a caretaker is still the best move they have before October. Re-energizing the club with a caretaker could convince want-away players to stay and some battling performances at the end of the year might get the club a better commercial draw next year.
Letting this go on every week for the rest of the year is nonsensical. There is just no clear or obvious proof that the guy was a good hiring or worth persisting with. The club is already down to the diehards. Nobody is jumping off because Neeld gets sacked.

The club would be financially crippled.

Wow a few Melbourne players having a laugh with their Hawthorn opponents after the siren.

They really, really don't get it. Joint is in massive trouble.

You talking about Terlich hugging his old team mate Puopulo or?