The Match Committee's Selection Process - Puzzled...

As stated earlier, our depth is not that great, only real consideration for why Langford was selected.
You can rattle off a number if names but with the VFL only starting this week, a shortened pre-season
bigger bodied, senior players are going to get first choice.

Langford replaced Burgoyne as that extra pressure forward who can midfield but he wasn't to know that our outside runners would be so flat on the day. Our inside mids did really well yet again, but with Hendo, Smith and impey being really poor in the first two and a half qtrs , we didn't have anyone running the ball inside 50!! That's where Langford could've come into the game but seemed in no man's land.. . Tiger defenders kept taking uncontested marks in D50 with shallow, high and under pressure kicks. It was only in the last quarter where those three runners got going hence we started to look a lot more dangerous.
This is not to say Langford couldn't do more to get involved but he along with Shiels were really disappointing, especially with Pup as he was on Cotchin most of the second half.

#sackclarko

Exactly, what has Clarkson done that gives him a coaching job?

Lots of great 20:20 hindsight posters here: on the one hand Clarko is so predictable, it’s all boring.
On the other, he’s made crazy, inexplicable selections and he’s totally unpredictable.

I’m prepared to wait for the long term.

FWIW, Clarkson is predictable in his team selections and he's predictable in his game plan. I don't know why anyone is 'puzzled'?

What are your changes for this week then? :D

I'm more puzzled as to why the need to play Gunston back
There was no need for it
It pisses me off

It pisses off all the people who had gunston as their goal kicker in the tipping.

I thought Cousins should have played instead of Langers, and should replace him against the Dees. He had his taste of seniors footy last year, and did very well, let's hope that switch is on this week.

His stats looked impressive but in the write-up Newman suggested that his DE was not where it needed to be. I suppose a bit like Langers !!! :D

Cousins use of handball is light years ahead of Langers, he has touch, can put you into space, and doesn't just fire it at your knees. Even if his foot skills aren't where they need to be, he'll still be far more creative and effective.

FWIW, Clarkson is predictable in his team selections and he's predictable in his game plan. I don't know why anyone is 'puzzled'?
So give us the changes now will you, including who gets trimmed from the squad.

Saves me waiting until the weekend.

Cheers in advance. :thumbsu:

Cousins not the right fit for Richmond as they would have been worried about their legspeed which cousins isn't strong in. Throw in his at times untidy ball use and you have 2 strikes.

Yep it is exactly the reason langers was brought in I reckon

And yet we played both Brand and Frawley with Burto, rather than Frawley, Burto and another runner...

I think you’ll find Clarko most definitely has his ‘favourites’.. pretty much any of the fringe from the 3peat.. Langford, Duryea, schoenmakers.. all have to move heaven and earth for clarko to drop them
Duryea got dropped for a decent period last year and was established best 22 for 4 years with no disagreement from fans, unlucky to not make the grand final in 2013, Langford and Schoenmakers have definitely been dropped quite a few times, I don't think that's true at all.

We’ll see, I wouldn’t be surprised to see Schonemakers straight back in with Duryea and Langford keeping their spots this week

Yep.
Nothing like watching a really quick player run around looking like a chook with his head cut off.
Very reassuring.
I gave u a reason why he was selected. He most likely makes way for other players coming back this week

No, I'm with you. My irritation is with the player not able to be more productive with his wonderful lineage and super atttitude, AND the thinking that leads to him getting regularly selected....
Your observation is no doubt spot on.

I think you’ll find Clarko most definitely has his ‘favourites’.. pretty much any of the fringe from the 3peat.. Langford, Duryea, schoenmakers.. all have to move heaven and earth for clarko to drop them
I think you'll find that this pretty much isn't true. Except the part about fravourites. I am sure he has a favourite flavour ice cream. I know my kids do, even my favourite.