News The Mcveigh Interview

This is my take on the situation:

Barrett found out about the AFP investigating Dank, went to a former player who could be paid a shitload of money to make stuff up. He then went to Essendon to get a comment, and EFC called a press conference to get it out on their terms rather than through Barrett. Then Reimers tells Barrett said stuff, and Mark McVeigh basically calls him out on his shit.
Reimers was interviewed in early January, apparently.

I have no idea, I'm just guessing like everybody else.

All I think I know is that we found out about the investigation, spoke with the AFL, and both parties agreed to call the conference to "get on the front foot".

You're probably right about Barrett finding out and paying Reimers though.

When all we have heard is speculation from people who werent involved, to hear such a matter of fact account of events by someone who was there and clearly knew what was going on, is far more reassuring to me, than speculation of something that no body knows anything about!
This times a million. Opinion columnists, Kyle Reimers and BigFooty posters provided all the information until Spike spoke up.

As far as Reimers' story vs McVeigh's story, Reimers says "I don't know the stuff we were taking, they said it was right on the edge" while McVeigh says "This did not happen, we were all told what we were taking".

It's not "YES" vs "NO", it's "I DON'T REALLY KNOW" vs "NO".

That said, I am still concerned that something is up. What I don't believe is that the players didn't do everything they could, short of hiring their own chemists to double analayse their supps, to make sure they weren't taking sketchy stuff.

Not that I'm in support of Reimers in any way. But I don't think he's necessarily said anything that bad, it's just the media have run with it (a long long way) where he wasn't expecting.

What has he said:
- Essendon were receiving off-site injections. Which is true and there's nothing wrong with that. However the media have made this sound incredibly sinister.
- What we were taking was right on the edge. This is true, every club makes sure every player is right on the edge of many thresholds, and I'd be damned annoyed at the club if we weren't pushing the limits. He certainly didn't say we crossed the line.
- He didn't really know what he was taking. This is probably true too. What Spike said was probably also true, in that everyone was told what it was and provided information. But he was probably too stupid/inattentive to know what was going on and too apathetic to look in to it, so went along with it. I have absolutely no doubt, there are others like him at every club that would just go along with it cos that's what the club has said to do and they trust the club. Media naturally turns this in to the club being incredibly secretive.

The only thing that seems to be in contradiction between Reimers and Spike is the consent form/waiver, which doesn't sound extraordinarily far removed from one another.
Is there anything else Reimers has said?

My take on it would be, he was asked a few questions and he answered them honestly. But his naivety has been exploited. Give someone an inch and they'll take it for a mile.

PS <3 Spike!

That wouldn't even begin to cover this defence..

Unlike McVeigh who is retired, Reimers can still be banned from playing in the WAFL, so he'd have no real reason to lie and drag his former club into a shit storm. o_O
So I say my hypothesis (top of this page) then it gets conveniently dragged into a thread that I'm not allowed to reply in. Who would you believe: A bloke who is bitter about a club de listing him or a 200 game player who is regarded highly in the AFL community?

Spike McVeigh, this is why we love you. A bomber, who we would never speak a bad word about.

Loved the swipe at Reimers professionalism.

Not that I'm in support of Reimers in any way. But I don't think he's necessarily said anything that bad, it's just the media have run with it (a long long way) where he wasn't expecting.

What has he said:
- Essendon were receiving off-site injections. Which is true and there's nothing wrong with that. However the media have made this sound incredibly sinister.
- What we were taking was right on the edge. This is true, every club makes sure every player is right on the edge of many thresholds, and I'd be damned annoyed at the club if we weren't pushing the limits. He certainly didn't say we crossed the line.
- He didn't really know what he was taking. This is probably true too. What Spike said was probably also true, in that everyone was told what it was and provided information. But he was probably too stupid/inattentive to know what was going on and too apathetic to look in to it, so went along with it. I have absolutely no doubt, there are others like him at every club that would just go along with it cos that's what the club has said to do and they trust the club. Media naturally turns this in to the club being incredibly secretive.

The only thing that seems to be in contradiction between Reimers and Spike is the consent form/waiver, which doesn't sound extraordinarily far removed from one another.
Is there anything else Reimers has said?

My take on it would be, he was asked a few questions and he answered them honestly. But his naivety has been exploited. Give someone an inch and they'll take it for a mile.

PS <3 Spike!

I think this is very important. We as supporters of this club don't know all that many facts about this. I for one will give riemers the benefit of the doubt until he is proven to have done this on purpose. Riemers I believe is as much a victim (at the moment) as everyone in this story. The truth will come out ill hold judgement until then.

I think it's safe to say this investigation ain't finishing anytime soon! Looks like bombers will be around in season 2013 :thumbsu: get around us!!! Go dons!

I reckon some one has tipped off the bombers that they are under investigation & something big is about to go down so they decided to get on the front foot & come clean.
Something Saints never did with all their off field dramas, they just tried to deny it & hoped it would go away.

Im hearing allegedly 9 afl clubs 6 Victorian, 3 interstate based. 7 nrl clubs and 3 a league clubs 90 athletes. Are involved in this investigation one way or another whether it is to do with PED, ID or match fixing. Nrl clubs got raided last night. Watch this space.

If there was an expensive, suspiscious programme administered to most the players, i doubt McVeigh would have been a part of it. He was in the last stages of his career. He may well have only had a vitamin C jab, while most the core 22 were on a programme pushing the legal boundaries.

Almost expected a similar response from Lloydy on FC last night. Love seeing a real passion for the club and willing to put yourself on the line to defend it. Really felt like Lloyd just lost his connection to the club, even though yes I do appreciate the unbiased journalism blah blah.

Once he joined Nine and The Footy Show it felt that way didn't it. Don't know why...

I reckon some one has tipped off the bombers that they are under investigation & something big is about to go down so they decided to get on the front foot & come clean.
Something Saints never did with all their off field dramas, they just tried to deny it & hoped it would go away.

One of Robson or Evans is on the Police board.. Buff said/

I've come to the conclusion, No one knows anything except the club and the authorities. I'm Just happy the Bombers will play in season 2013 :) A few Bombers are playing tonight! Which is a good sign. Looking forward to next Friday! I'm sticking by my side no matter what!

R Reynolds. J Coleman. J Clarke. B Davis. S Madden. G Foulds. T Daniher. T Watson. J Hird. M Lloyd. J Watson. M McVeigh.

When you saw the interview in full on FC, Reimers didn't come off bad at all. Selective editing + McVeigh fireback made Reimers look like a fool.
I felt sorry for him after watching the full thing. He wasn't trying to stuff Essendon up, he was just giving out information. DB took advantage of him.

When you saw the interview in full on FC, Reimers didn't come off bad at all. Selective editing + McVeigh fireback made Reimers look like a fool.
I felt sorry for him after watching the full thing. He wasn't trying to stuff Essendon up, he was just giving out information. DB took advantage of him.
Agree, fully construed. He came across not real smart but not as somebody trying stick the club and its players IMO.

Mark Mcveigh tells it like it is on SEN this arvo! I'd suggest any footy fan to go to SEN website and have a listen. Loves the club! Need to get him down to windy hill in some sort of mentor role.

Kyle Reimers good luck getting a kick with another AFL club anytime soon! #Rubbish #Liar #Dog!
Dangerous time to be speaking out at the moment . Should stay quiet until he really knows whats going on. As everyone needs to do .Each day seems to get worse for all of us.

News The Mcveigh Interview