Mega Thread The Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

Both 7 west’s media news web sites, Perth Now and The West going behind a paywall in June.
Haha, awesome-death by self infliction .

Really the only people who pay for their garbage “news” are rusted on, bigoted old farts from the woosha/mainy/kempy/suma days .

Their too miserable and stubborn to pay for /access their on line media, so they ll just continue to only buy their paper rag until they all eventually fall off the perch and there will be no one left to pay for anything 7 west media related

Poetic

Hodge is getting stuck into Barrett over a BS article.

Barrett talking about Hodges dual roles as a player and media.

Barett whinges non stop about the journos lack of access to players and that the footy clubs media departments need to respect the host broadcast etc etc then he has the audacity to call hodge out. Its absurd.

Well said. Barrett wrote some fluff piece recently about the clubs making access to their players difficult, well Damien Dropkick if you and your so called journalist mates weren't such a bunch of lying scum who twist everything out of shape to suit your own narrative you may find the clubs more accessible. No morals, no ethics and no brains is not a good set of skills in such a public, so called "profession".

Barrett is such a flog... but even I can't help my self to see what bs he dribbles about on his sliding doors and other crap so I guess while there's clicks he's here to stay.

Yeah fair enough... I misunderstood him saying "by end of year".

To say “I reckon he’ll go up a level, two levels maybe, and he’ll be by far in their top three best players.” inferring Fyfe and Walters are our only decent players and then daylight is disrespectful to a bunch of our good players. I think Tabs is playing well atm but to get in front of guys like Mundy and Brad Hill (even Luke Ryan and Joel Hamling) he'll need to improve 1000% - just not going to happen and we don't need him to - we just need him to keep doing what he is doing and finish off all the good work with his goal kicking. My issue is the continual underrating of a bunch of players on our list, not Tabs getting some love.

I understand your frustration, but there's so many genuine flogs out there (Barret, Haggers, Hardie) that I don't think we need to attack an opinion who's purpose was really only to pump up one of our players. Just because he played for two flog teams doesn't make him a flog.

Karl Langdon wrote an article about Mundy's 300th.
It is so poorly written with comparisons to Fyfe.

In his head I'm sure he was trying to be complimentary, but the reality is he's having a crack at Fyfe.

It's this sort of crap that constantly annoys me. There's just ZERO need to bring Fyfe into his article when it should be all about Mundy.

Will be interesting to see what the East Coast meedja do with the “Lions are the best young non- Vic team” and “Neale is a lock for Brownlow” narrative this week!

I saw a stat this week that points to it being almost impossible to win the Brownlow if your team doesn’t win more than eight games, ideally 10+. It’s doubtful as to whether Brisbane will.

if u thought u could stomach "the round so far" on afl.com, just wait for the presumed hominids to comment on freo scoring 100 points twice now this season they cant contain the vitriol and inane kornes even splutters out a lil chuckle. we really are blessed with journalistic talent.

I am so looking forward to the next edition of "Sliding Doors" by Damien Dropkick. He should have some great advice for Ross on how to improve our scoring
And don’t forget his piece written after the derby,-it was only close because apparently wc were toying with us and were travelling beautifully

Wrong, again DH

Just saw a "comedy" snip on Bounce with Ben Dixon & Jonathan Brown attempting to interview Luke Ryan in the rooms after our big win, BOTH of them didn't know his name and were joking to each other about in in front of the camera and Luke, who was politely trying to laugh it off.
Bloody terrible.. I mean it's bad enough that you don't know the kids name (it's your job btw) but to not even bother finding out before the interview. Disrespectful.

Just saw a "comedy" snip on Bounce with Ben Dixon & Jonathan Brown attempting to interview Luke Ryan in the rooms after our big win, BOTH of them didn't know his name and were joking to each other about in in front of the camera and Luke, who was politely trying to laugh it off.
Bloody terrible.. I mean it's bad enough that you don't know the kids name (it's your job btw) but to not even bother finding out before the interview. Disrespectful.
Any chance of a link to that interview? I completely agree about the disrespect shown to Luke Ryan and then you have to listen to the completely over the top love fest about Lachie Whitfield or the like who i’m sure they thought they’d be interviewing. I never listen to those wallys but how do we make the afl see what drop kicks they are ... sorry answered my own question, takes one to know one!

Unfortunately the football media remains a boys club full of matey ex-footballers who mostly haven't emotionally evolved beyond high school and knob head journos who think peddling unattributed rumours is what passes for news.

Where else would dross like the The Footy Show have lasted so long? Talking Footy is a Melbourne centric circle jerk and Footy Classified has the "talents" of the ever obnoxious Hutchy peddling his own special brand of bullshit. Of course that is offset by having Saint Chris Judd of the Order of the Eye Gouge lecturing everyone on all things football. They must pay Carolyn Wilson a lot to appear with that collection of bell ends.

The best thing is to get all your footy news right here - it's still bullshit but at least we don't pretend it isn't.

The irony is they love afl. I mean, it's not like Luke Ryan is one of the best interceptors and playmakers already, with less than 50 games to his belt. If he played for a big vic team the media would be froffing all over him.

I watched the game twice. Watching it a second time really allows you appreciate how poor the commentary is... obviously some of it is hindsight, but Taberner spills a hard fought contested mark early and Brown just starts digging into him. I just laughed the second time watching it, because obviously Taberner rips down 13 marks and kills the game with that massive contested mark in the goal square in the last.

This is where commentary is dead. So many opinions and 'expert' comments just does my head in.

The comment that does my head in, especially with teams like Fremantle are comments like 'He just needs to kick this goal... Fremantle need to take every opportunity today'. That sort of pre-empting we are going to lose regardless is so bad for commentary... even if their is truth to it.

Just call the bloody game and leave opinions to the side.

It's become a circle jerk of opinions and head nodding... which is what happens when you hire ex footballers to do a media gig that someone with a media back ground should be doing.

My final rant... Barich reading the news... my golly. It's honestly (and I mean in this is the most polite way possible) as if they given someone with special needs a gig for a purpose I'm unsure of. Atrocious.

Just to add. Barrett has just written his 'Opinion' piece.
He bangs on about Hodgey.
He writes about Brisbane, Pies, Carlton, Saints, Melbourne, Essendon, Kangas, Port, Adelaide.
Touches on a few other clubs.

Fremantle?? Perhaps the win of the season against GWS who many see as a GF contender?? ZIP.

Fairly standard treatment.

He writes about Brisbane, Pies, Carlton, Saints, Melbourne, Essendon, Kangas, Port, Adelaide.

Fremantle?? Perhaps the win of the season against GWS who many see as a GF contender?? ZIP.

If we could somehow distance ourselves from that clown for all time I would be happy. I certainly don't need his acknowledgement because I rate his opinion at zero. I would just as soon listen to a toddler's opinion of us.

90% of his sliding doors comments are about Ross Lyon.

He’s a turd.

Calls hodge ‘Hodgey’ like they’re mates.

Cringe worthy.

My final rant... Barich reading the news... my golly. It's honestly (and I mean in this is the most polite way possible) as if they given someone with special needs a gig for a purpose I'm unsure of. Atrocious.
Barra’s commentary in the West Coast ressies vs Peel game the other day made me Salmonella sick. Amateur hour at its best. His love fest for Waterman was next level and made a comment about how big Darcy was struggling/rusty yet seconds later would say Fremantle need to promote him for the next game.

Then the next day there was an article in the West about us grabbing another ruckman in the mid season draft. Granted Jones and Meek don’t look too great at the moment and Sandi MIA, but I think we have bigger needs than adding to our currently extensive ruck stocks. Sure if we have 8 ruckman on our list odds are that you’d hope one would come good to back up Lobb and Darcy. However that would really serve Peel well have 6 ruckmen in the fwd line plus another on the wing and one onball.

SevenWest is a joke.

Saw that

Just journo filth

Upset of the year possibly and he avoids it like the plague. Only wants to write negative against Ross

Re: the hodgey response, the bloke is now just double downing on his position in a formal forum, after having a Twitter spat with Hodge. The bloke simply wrote the article for his own ego to save face because he was pulled up by a current player who is well known. Said nothing new, he just wanted to have the last word. ******* scum of a person

Saw that

Just journo filth

Upset of the year possibly and he avoids it like the plague. Only wants to write negative against Ross

Re: the hodgey response, the bloke is now just double downing on his position in a formal forum, after having a Twitter spat with Hodge. The bloke simply wrote the article for his own ego to save face because he was pulled up by a current player who is well known. Said nothing new, he just wanted to have the last word. ******* scum of a person

The truth is Hodge would have more pull than Barrett, so it wouldn’t surprise me if Barrett slowly fades into obscurity. Might take 18 months. But it’s not the first time he has written stuff that is factually inaccurate.

I bloody hate Hodge, but brilliant him calling him out and even better he called him a knob.