Mega Thread The Media Thread

Been away for 3 weeks then they stick us on a Thursday night off a 5 day break coming back from Tassie? Are they ******* serious?
They do seem to constantly find new and inventive ways to screw us. It's like punishment for pointing out we haven't had a Thurs/Fri night game since 2016... "be careful what you wish for Freo"

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Well that’s ****ed. Get ****ed AFL. One small positive is at least Geelong are also coming off a 5 day break. Maybe they’ll rest a bunch of their pensioners for this game. Come on Schlong, do us a solid.

Gotta laugh, should have figured our first Thurs/Fri game in 5 years is off the back of a 5 day break, off the back of travelling for 3 weeks and coming out of Tassie, and we get the Thursday night of course rather than the real primetime on Friday which is a bummer for fans getting to the game. And the AFL will come back and say 'Well this is what you wanted". **** them.

Gotta laugh, should have figured our first Thurs/Fri game in 5 years is off the back of a 5 day break, off the back of travelling for 3 weeks and coming out of Tassie, and we get the Thursday night of course rather than the real primetime on Friday which is a bummer for fans getting to the game. And the AFL will come back and say 'Well this is what you wanted". fu** them.

which will make a win over Geelong even nicer :)

That’s about the first one he’s kicked all year isn’t it? He jags them from the pocket more reliably than from anywhere in front, on the run or set shot.
Hopefully this was a sign of things to come.
Looking at his highlight

Brayshaws goals
1st vs Melbourne
Running shot straight in front from 50m
2nd v GWS
Running shot straight in front from 40m
3rd v GWS
Sidesteps 2 GWS defenders and snap from straight in front from 40m
4th v Dogs
Running banana from the boundary 30m out
5th v Pies
Sidesteps Noble and has a running shot from straight in front from 45m
6th v Blues
Set shot from slight angle from 40m
7th v Blue
Snap just in from the boundary from 30m

He’s one tough trucker but I really hope he can tackle if he’s declared himself fit.

Looking at his highlight

Brayshaws goals
1st vs Melbourne
Running shot straight in front from 50m
2nd v GWS
Running shot straight in front from 40m
3rd v GWS
Sidesteps 2 GWS defenders and snap from straight in front from 40m
4th v Dogs
Running banana from the boundary 30m out
5th v Pies
Sidesteps Noble and has a running shot from straight in front from 45m
6th v Blues
Set shot from slight angle from 40m
7th v Blue
Snap just in from the boundary from 30m

Cool. Thanks. So this was pretty much the first set shot he’s nailed for the year?

We had 5 day breaks last year what is the issue. We haven't had one this year up to now. It will be same for Geelong and they are an older team.

To play on a thursday/friday night you will be coming off a short turnaround anyway.

We haven't had a prime time game for 5 years. We may finally get one and it seems people aren't happy. After everyone complained we dont get enough prime time games.

Cheer up everyone.

We had 5 day breaks last year what is the issue. We haven't had one this year up to now. It will be same for Geelong and they are an older team.

To play on a thursday/friday night you will be coming off a short turnaround anyway.

We haven't had a prime time game for 5 years. We may finally get one and it seems people aren't happy. After everyone complained we dont get enough prime time games.

Cheer up everyone.

Yep. Our fans will always find something to be sad about even when good things happen. Cerra re-signs for 2 years, why not for 4 years?

The nature of the season means we will cop some home games without crowds, some away “home” games etc. It’s a fallback position so we can use it as an excuse why we lost.
Plenty of fans going on mute on BF and the socials too!

One issue with the Thursday game is that we have a few injured players coming back through Peel on Saturday - so if they're going to be ready to back up for Thursday night AFL game its going to take some extra management of minutes in the WAFL. Might delay their inclusion for another week.

Round 18 released.

“I want to acknowledge the GWS GIANTS and Sydney Swans football clubs who remain in Victoria – we will continue to closely monitor the situation in New South Wales and hope to reunite both clubs with their families as soon possible.” AFL Executive General Manager Clubs and Broadcasting Travis Auld

How about you acknowledge Fremantle FC you flog, you’ve messed us around the most

We've got to play this right.

Good thing is we have some fresh players coming back.

I reckon rest Fyfe and Mundy, that way they're fresh for Geelong and get to play their milestone games at home.

Get Hughes and Young back, maybe some fresh legs in a Valente or O'Driscoll debut? Wouldn't be averse to giving Meek, Blakely or Giro another go too.

We've engineered this before in the Harvey/Lyon era and it's worked in the past.

We'll struggle to fill Optus on a Thursday night imo.

The crowds in previous 2 thursday night games freo played in 2014 and 2015 at subi were pretty good. Admittedly team was flying then.

35k against Carlton in 2014

37k against collingwood in 2015

Haven't had a home game in a month first prime time game at optus. Hopefully we win this week and take some momentum in.

If weather is good should be getting 35-40k imo

We'll struggle to fill Optus on a Thursday night imo.
Seated member for the first time this year, I live 90 mins from the stadium, and don't finish work til 7.30.

I don't mind a Thursday night game, but jeez more than a weeks notice would be great. I know covid is significantly effecting things, but at least put a draft fixture out ahead of time.

Surely the club tells them to stick it and refuse to play of a 5 day break !
This is becoming a joke , a Friday game would of been more appropriate.

Cheer up everyone.

I don't think it's the 5 day break per se, but that it's on the back of a long, and impromptu, road journey. Expecting the boys to get up, but don't be surprised at a 4th quarter fade