The Melbourne Thread.

**** me, a thread where I can mouth off and talk about pubs, footy prices, nightclubs that don't exist, and how my suburbs (Fitzroy, North, Freo) are all more relevant and working class than yours. Good lord.

So. Where can I rent when I come back in the next few months? And why is North Melbourne so shit for pubs?

Just hope this thread doesn't become full of dull campaigners from Moonee Ponds, which is a decent suburb and I'll end up there at some point, but fmd it's about as bland as its posters who seemingly come from a long line of pencil pushers and white bread privilege. Usually they come in and make everything about 'MoPo' or something. As for eastern suburbs people? About as generic as possible. Please leave.

Ah. When I was 21. I stopped using this campaigner of a joint and went travelling, pissing all over the continent and barely remembering Spanish cities while...

...is there more to the story? I remember being 21. What a glorious time. West Coast were making GFs and players could snort a line in the Mustang Bar toilets without someone filming on their iPhone.

Riddle me this. Why do people move from Perth to Melbourne and live in outer suburbs, drive everywhere, spend their weekends at Westfield centres etc? Don't me wrong I like Perth and I like Melbourne but I have no interest in ever moving there to recreate a suburban Perth lifestyle. Could just do that here and would get better value for money and could live near a nice beach.

I think car orientated outer suburbs are quite typical across the large Australian cities where everyone drives everywhere to their local Westfield etc.

Based on the way Melbourne is and is headed ya can’t blame people for driving everywhere. You just have to look at the northern end of the cbd to see what’s wrong with the new Melbourne. High rise monoliths with no setbacks creating dark canyons, no proper infrastructure to move the masses despite the massive spike in density and poor overall services in the downtown area.

That people from outside Victoria find the whole "Batman" thing so eternally hilarious is a compelling argument for #Vexit

Victoria should be independent with Melbourne as its capital.

It would then truly resume its place among the world's great cities.

We'd be broke as f in a week. What exactly would we do when we don't have mining to coast off? Sydney would just grow in relevance and superseed Melbourne so couldn't really be a HK/Singapore.

As to the current day. Give it 4 months till mid June and I will be complaining as loud as anyone but am surprisingly not minding the cold snap. From October to April it was summer conditions with very oppressive January-March conditions. Obviously am still acclimatised to the heat (haven't turned the heater on yet) but the cool change is nice. Can finally sleep.

Riddle me this. Why do people move from Perth to Melbourne and live in outer suburbs, drive everywhere, spend their weekends at Westfield centres etc? Don't me wrong I like Perth and I like Melbourne but I have no interest in ever moving there to recreate a suburban Perth lifestyle. Could just do that here and would get better value for money and could live near a nice beach.
We have about 7-8 WA people in our regular group, none live in outer suburbs.

We'd be broke as f in a week. What exactly would we do when we don't have mining to coast off? Sydney would just grow in relevance and superseed Melbourne so couldn't really be a HK/Singapore.
Australia's third biggest industry (and largest value-ad industry) is education, primarily tertiary education. Melbourne earns more from foreign students than any other state.

It would be like the Scottish referendum in the UK. Victoria would talk a big game and then vote to stay because they know that without us they'd just be a cold, drizzly cesspit of brown coal burning dreariness.

The Australian Open would return to Sydney, the Australian GP would return to Adelaide, and the AFL GF would rightly rotate between the major Australian citiies. Super Rugby could return to just having 3 teams that no one cares about instead of 4. The 'sporting capital of Australia' would be no more. You'd keep the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the VRC Spring Carnival, and the VFL would continue to entertain you...

Ahahahahahaha!

After Victorian independence West Australians would suddenly be finding Victorian grandparents to allow them a work permit to play in the VFL. And you know it.

All the other stuff is bullshit too.

As to the current day. Give it 4 months till mid June and I will be complaining as loud as anyone but am surprisingly not minding the cold snap. From October to April it was summer conditions with very oppressive January-March conditions. Obviously am still acclimatised to the heat (haven't turned the heater on yet) but the cool change is nice. Can finally sleep.

No we wouldn't.

Melbourne/Victoria has the actual growth industries of the future - we are the education centre of the southern hemisphere, we have the biotech/biomedical clusters, we increasingly have the ICT.

The massive population growth shows we are the most desirable place to live.

We are being HELD BACK by being associated with places that only have digging up rocks and the like as their industry.

Even with that they've done dog deals - see what Australia makes off LNG exports vs what say Qatar does.

The sooner Victoria is free, the better.

(When we were a largely self-governing colony in the 19th century, we were the fastest growing place in the world in terms of population and economy. WE can do that again)

**** me, a thread where I can mouth off and talk about pubs, footy prices, nightclubs that don't exist, and how my suburbs (Fitzroy, North, Freo) are all more relevant and working class than yours. Good lord.

So. Where can I rent when I come back in the next few months? And why is North Melbourne so shit for pubs?

All the good pub locations in North Melbourne got turned into apartments.

Town Hall is still good, and Prudence was good in a hipsterish way (it was up until early last year when I got barred lol)

Prudence is still ok outside of Friday nights. Townie still has a little of it's old charm, the original crew have moved on from Joe Talyor though (one guy runs the cocktail bar at Belleville now).
That strip of Victoria St next to Errol St is a bloody ghost town now though.

No we wouldn't.

Melbourne/Victoria has the actual growth industries of the future - we are the education centre of the southern hemisphere, we have the biotech/biomedical clusters, we increasingly have the ICT.

Maybe. International Education is a very dodgy industry (unless it is one of the big Unis. And still if taxes go there there would be a shit fight if Melbourne Uni, Deakin, Monash et al became a hub of International Students at the expense of locals.

Biotech and medical clusters I'll take your word as I no nothing about.

ICT is OK but we hardly set the bench mark by world standards.

If we could get a niche it would make sense defence wise (provided we have good relations/agreements with the other countries in/rest of Australia. We still have the land available to build/house/develop capabilities, we could fortify the bay, turn it into a massive trading hub as well (with profits) for the rest of the continent and if there was any troubles the rest of the world has to get through foreign outback countries to get to us, which if they did conquer probably wouldn't be arsed over us anyway. (Not that conventional warfare is a thing).

Still WA always argue about it and Qld. If anything the Feds should stop butting in as the big few carry the can for basket cases like Tasmania, SA and the NT. (But they have the land and natural features and SA the footy so.....)

Ahahahahahaha!

After Victorian independence West Australians would suddenly be finding Victorian grandparents to allow them a work permit to play in the VFL. And you know it.

All the other stuff is bullshit too.

And North would be poaching stars under the 10 year rule, too...

Westralia > Australia > Victoria.

How'd you get barred big boy? I never went in there once. Seemed the sort of joint where you can't get a bowl of chips but every pint is $13.10.

The Leveson is okay but the last time I went they put all this astro turf out the back and posters everywhere and it felt very... just like those scungey drinking dens you get that nobody really likes, but just goes to because it's nearby. For a while it was good because the front bar had the sun coming in and heaps of punters, the food was fine, and the outside was actually really good on a sunny day. They just franchised it. Town Hall is okay but it's a bit like a time warp and not in a good way... think I can count two occasions where someone didn't make all the punters leave. That short bald bloke who runs it is useless at kicking ****heads out – bloke once tried starting a fight by sitting with me and a mate and saying we were gay, then proceeded to interrupt a couple of dates... old publican just sat there and very very hesitantly made him leave. Sort of scungey vibes.

That Three Crowns or whatever it's called should be a good corner pub but it's got such a ****in weird vibe. The lights are always too bright and they want to be a restaurant or something? There's a corner that's fitted out like a pub but nothing else. Also not that cheap. Also odd, very odd staff. Not to mention how dead it constantly is and how they do live music. Seriously, short of having a bandroom, a pub with some whinging campaigner in the corner is so annoying. Put on Spotify and some Groove Armada or something.

We have about 7-8 WA people in our regular group, none live in outer suburbs.

Which is what I'd expect. I've got friends in Melbourne and most live as close in as their means allow. I just don't really get people who move there because it's bigger than country town Perth then just live in the outer suburbs and don't really get any of the benefit of living in a bigger city.

In Perth you're going to be driving for 40 minutes to go to the beach, or the city for a concert, or an hour and a half to the footy. In Melbourne it'll take as long but I guess it's just more inviting and there's more reason to travel somewhere. I mean I sort of agree but I don't think it's the worst thing in the world, so what if people want change or want to try a new place? I mean is living in Watford lame and pointless because it's nearly an hour on the train to central London? Ya know?

How'd you get barred big boy? I never went in there once. Seemed the sort of joint where you can't get a bowl of chips but every pint is $13.10.

The Leveson is okay but the last time I went they put all this astro turf out the back and posters everywhere and it felt very... just like those scungey drinking dens you get that nobody really likes, but just goes to because it's nearby. For a while it was good because the front bar had the sun coming in and heaps of punters, the food was fine, and the outside was actually really good on a sunny day. They just franchised it. Town Hall is okay but it's a bit like a time warp and not in a good way... think I can count two occasions where someone didn't make all the punters leave. That short bald bloke who runs it is useless at kicking ****heads out – bloke once tried starting a fight by sitting with me and a mate and saying we were gay, then proceeded to interrupt a couple of dates... old publican just sat there and very very hesitantly made him leave. Sort of scungey vibes.

That Three Crowns or whatever it's called should be a good corner pub but it's got such a ****in weird vibe. The lights are always too bright and they want to be a restaurant or something? There's a corner that's fitted out like a pub but nothing else. Also not that cheap. Also odd, very odd staff. Not to mention how dead it constantly is and how they do live music. Seriously, short of having a bandroom, a pub with some whinging campaigner in the corner is so annoying. Put on Spotify and some Groove Armada or something.

Literally don't know what I did to get barred. Had drunk there for years, even went out with one the staff for a while, but the crochety old ownber decided to bar me one day. Probably something I said when pissed I don't remember.

Three Crowns is a good boozer!

It seems the sort of joint where they'd get offended if you got pretty pissed. **** those joints. Yeah yeah RSA, yeah yeah it's not a sportsman's tavern or a pub in a two horse town so don't piss on the bar and mind your own business, but fmd some places who take it so seriously and are shocked or offended at drunk behaviour is insane.

My local is good. If people are really pissed they're really proactive and they'll bring over a jug of water and generally chuck them a packet of chips for free. Never seen anyone fight, spew, or make a dick of themselves.

Then again I reckon you do the worst looking stuff when you're more sober. Once fell off a chair at my local while swinging on it... had barely knocked off two pints. Nearly tripped on an old floorboard that I'd never had an issue with after six or seven. And I cannot tell you the amount of times mates of mine have dropped full pints after literally a sip after grabbing it at the bar. When you're really pissed you never drop anything or fall over I reckon.

It seems the sort of joint where they'd get offended if you got pretty pissed. **** those joints. Yeah yeah RSA, yeah yeah it's not a sportsman's tavern or a pub in a two horse town so don't piss on the bar and mind your own business, but fmd some places who take it so seriously and are shocked or offended at drunk behaviour is insane.

My local is good. If people are really pissed they're really proactive and they'll bring over a jug of water and generally chuck them a packet of chips for free. Never seen anyone fight, spew, or make a dick of themselves.

Then again I reckon you do the worst looking stuff when you're more sober. Once fell off a chair at my local while swinging on it... had barely knocked off two pints. Nearly tripped on an old floorboard that I'd never had an issue with after six or seven. And I cannot tell you the amount of times mates of mine have dropped full pints after literally a sip after grabbing it at the bar. When you're really pissed you never drop anything or fall over I reckon.

Where's your local?