No Oppo Supporters The Melt Thread

Same could be said for celebrating mediocrity. Either way no one important is really listening anyway.

It all comes back to perspective.

That's why there's two opposing threads for each side of the coin to discuss their views with like-minded posters. It's not a difficult concept surely? I think it's brilliant that we have the two threads on here personally.

Don't agree with the content of the thread, head to the other one. If you're in between, that's what the rest of the board is for. Simple right?

Surely the positivity crowd is allowed to melt about the melters.
They do, on every other thread on this board.

Positivity crew can melt sure. But they attack and deride, mods should be tidying that shit up.

Same could be said for celebrating mediocrity. Either way no one important is really listening anyway.

It all comes back to perspective.

That's why there's two opposing threads for each side of the coin to discuss their views with like-minded posters. It's not a difficult concept surely? I think it's brilliant that we have the two threads on here personally.

Don't agree with the content of the thread, head to the other one. If you're in between, that's what the rest of the board is for. Simple right?
I have no problem with this thread. As you have seen I like to melt myself.

I have a problem with the melting spewing over into every thread.

I have no problem with this thread. As you have seen I like to melt myself.

I have a problem with the melting spewing over into every thread.

Ross Lyon has always been a very divisive coach, deal with it.

I think the positivies are more affected by the melter's posts than the other way around and that is shown with some of the reactions on here by them.

The way I see it is the melters are attacking something that the positivies love and support. The positivies are positive about something that the melters hate and support.

Clear as mud in a stubby?

One feels genuinely hurt and the need to defend, the other feels like they are dealing with naieve lovesick sheep and the need to demean and degrade them to their level.

My suggestion is the positivies just clear out.

Starting with myself! Enjoy

I take it that Freo112 was an alias of a permabanned BigFooty poster?

Its one thing to melt but often there are errors of fact stated that need redressing, otherwise it just becomes propaganda.
Bullshit. This is the only place on this entire board that's usually free of company line propaganda.

Every other thread it's Lyon said this, the club website says that. So and so player said how great everything is in an in-house Docker TV video. :rolleyes:

I dunno about everyone else but I find it kind of therapeutic to drop by here after a bad loss and ... read the melts.
First place I go with a nice glass of wine.

Its one thing to melt but often there are errors of fact stated that need redressing, otherwise it just becomes propaganda.
Not in this thread you don't. Don't go ruining a good melt with your facts.

Bullshit. This is the only place on this entire board that's usually free of company line propaganda.

Every other thread it's Lyon said this, the club website says that. So and so player said how great everything is in an in-house Docker TV video. :rolleyes:

I think most people read stuff on the club website and are able filter through its bias.

I'm just talking about opinion that contains factual errors. I think most people who melt have set opinions that they don't want changed, but if they're backing up their opinion with stuff that isn't true then that needs to be corrected - melt thread or not.

A
Agreed errors of fact do need to be addressed, we all have our own opinions and interpretation of what is a fact.
It’s a re-build? It’s a re-stump, re-wire?
Just have an opinion and don’t get hung up or upset if not everyone bows to someone’s more distinguished comments....

I think most people read stuff on the club website and are able filter through its bias.

I'm just talking about opinion that contains factual errors. I think most people who melt have set opinions that they don't want changed, but if they're backing up their opinion with stuff that isn't true then that needs to be corrected - melt thread or not.
But they don't mate, they quote it as fact and they clearly aren't able to filter through the bias.

The same argument can be made against the vehement defenders. There's plenty of ill-informed, mistaken beliefs put forward.

Only you can't go into the positivity thread and fact check someone, or pull someone up for being off the reservation with a crazy opinion in there, why should here be any different?

I read some of the bat shit crazy posts in other threads and just shake my head, laugh and move on. Since when did a footy forum require vetting and fact checking? It's all about opinions, no matter how misplaced or unreasonable. Don't like someone's opinion, put them on ignore or move on to the next page or thread. Not even the mods are here to fact check. Journos don't even fact check any more.

It's a terribly high standard to hold an internet forum to.

Too often it regresses to playing the man and not the post.

If the two threads can't be respected, what's the solution? :think:

I feel like this melt thread has descended into discussions about censorship and is heading dangerously towards alternative facts.

The truth is that everyone here posts their opinions just like everyone posts opinions on other threads. Some opinions are outrageous but every person has the right to an opinion.

The downside as has been pointed out is that in some threads, you cannot correct opinions posted but in other threads, you can!

You can't have it both ways...it's either that all the threads allow opinions to be corrected with facts or none of the threads. You can't pick and choose which threads can have fact checking and which threads can't, hence, why I don't envy the mods job here.

Melt away I say. As long as people play the ball and not the man.

I only come here for a read. Occasionally, I forget the thread title and respond to something - not my intention to reply in the melt thread. If only the reply button could be removed from the thread, methinks everyone could melt more peacefully.

Why does a melt thread have to be vetted and "fact checked" lol. Some serious control freaks out there. One would think a melt is an overemotional outlet for release of frustration. No no! you must lose the plot temporarily having empirical evidence and peer review of all verbal utterances following a 10 goal reaming.

Melt away I say. As long as people play the ball and not the man.

I only come here for a read. Occasionally, I forget the thread title and respond to something - not my intention to reply in the melt thread. If only the reply button could be removed from the thread, methinks everyone could melt more peacefully.
The melt thread needs to work like the recycle bin on your computer.

Fills up with a bunch of shit that you don't want, and gets periodically wiped back to a clean slate. A therapeutic black hole to vent and yell at the world where nobody tries to rationalise how you feel

Having the melting stick around is like never cleaning your toilet - eventually there is so much shit caked on the bowl that everyone that passes by can't help but get sick ;) Just. Flush.