No Oppo Supporters The Melt Thread

What really pissed me off?

The Freo team tonight (who is on a 4 year "rebuild") is older than Adelaide's team (which is on top of the ladder contending for a Premiership)

Can someone please explain to me why we are playing deadwood?

I think Lyons thought process is to keep integrity. I.e. Not bring in too many new players at once.. The problem is, it's the experienced players who are woeful!

Agreed. I hope we don't make finals as we still need to get young talent into the team.

I think the coaches view him as purely lock down.

Yep. Doesn't offer enough rebound.

Yet Ross persisted with Dawson over 3 grand finals?

I watched him play and he is a better kick than Dawson and can't be worse than Ibbo/Spurr.

Not a like-for-like replacement. Luke Ryan is a better replacement for Ibbo. Spurr won't be dropped.

Our results when viewed as a whole tell the story..

Geelong - We played poorly, no intensity.

Port - Completely outplayed, a disgraceful performance.

Bulldogs - Our best win of the year. We started well and fought back in the last quarter.

Melbourne - A good win, but we got lucky with that missed shot by that Melbourne player. Mundy and Neale had to kick 7 goals for us to win.

Kangaroos - We were the better team overall, but we constantly burned the ball all game. Lucky to get the win due to typical North choke and a BS Kersten snap.

Eagles - Outplayed all game. Burned the ball going into 50. We were never in the game. The non-call on McCarthy was a joke, but that wouldn't have changed the result.

Essendon - Incredibly slow start, we should have been down by 50 points. Kicked away in the end due to Essendon coming to a stop.

Richmond - We outplayed Richmond all day, and almost blew a 30 point lead. Shocking result really and we should have lost.

Carlton - Slow start against a young team. 21 shots on goal from 52 entries.

Adelaide - Adelaide could have kicked 200 points last night. 43 scoring shots is disgusting.

We could easily be 3-7 and with a worse percentage. I'm just being objective about this.

What really pissed me off?

The Freo team tonight (who is on a 4 year "rebuild") is older than Adelaide's team (which is on top of the ladder contending for a Premiership)

Can someone please explain to me why we are playing deadwood?

Thing is, if we bring in too many young players all at once we will guarantee to get flogged every single week (e.g. GWS 2013). Then there will be questions raised about tanking and not picking our best side, and we might even get fined for not tanking e.g. Melbourne. Thia way we can at least demonstrate that some experienced players are not worthy of their spot and use a big loss like this to shuffle them on.

I think the coaches view him as purely lock down.
Posters bemoan about missing McGovern, who is an elite intercept mark, contested, same as Barass, we have a few
down at Peel, have a look at their stats.
Both WC players are not elite by hand, foot, the garbage about our players is absurd.
We would give Mitch all the time in the world, if recruited to play down back, the only difference is that Ross likes the
known, its what has helped Ross's win/loss record, but unable to lift the cup.

anyone have a feeling of dread we are going to get worse before we get better. A few key retirements coming up again and a few current best 22 getting the flick soon. maybe it is going to be a proper 4 year rebuild.

Sadly this is a feeling that I cannot for the life of me shake.

I have a feeling that this might be worse than a 4 year rebuild.

Johnson - Retire 2017 (maybe)
D Pearce - Retire 2018
Sandilands - Retire 2018/19
Mundy - Retire 2018/19

If we lose Fyfe, I think we could be setting ourselves up for a 10 year rebuild ala Melbourne

Is four years actually a long rebuild? I would say no. What you say was always going to take four years at least - it's just how much pain we go through on the way. Do we hover around the 10th-14th mark or are we worse? We need probably 75+ games into most of the best 22 before we are contending for a flag. I'd say we have at least two thirds of the team we need (ie 15-16 players) but at least half of those need more development, some aren't in the side. We could even have more than that but the holes we have are massive. Depth despite what some said at the start of the year is going to be a problem when we are culling hard.

It's more the way the game is played these days. He takes an interception and there is almost no one free ahead so he has to slow it down. Everyone floods back etc

Yeah column A and B I reckon. He has a definite pause compared to say Johnno or Weller. His time is done anyway though I think.

D Pearce - Retire 2018
Mundy - Retire 2018/19

If we lose Fyfe, I think we could be setting ourselves up for a 10 year rebuild ala Melbourne
Johnson's, Spurr, Ibbo's positions can all be replaced by what is available at Peel. If both of the Hill's
are in form, Danyle plays for Peel, other options Langdon, Weller.
Blakey is already showing enough to be best 22.
If we lose Fyfe the compensation should be adequate, look at Adelaide.
Sandi is almost impossible to replace, and a totally new gameplan will have to be implemented.

Griff has been a good soldier along the journey but he's cooked. How we picked him over Darcy is sheer madness. I hope it was just to give the bloke one last taste and to see us break the record for most indigenous players in a side on indigenous week. Cannot play another game in purple if we are dinkum about this rebuild.

I knew Lyon would slowly but surely dribble back in the cooked role players, once again it has caused a tipping point of passengers and liabilities.

Pearce, Griffin, Sutcliffe, Ibbotson can't play again this year. Those out of contract have to be retired or delisted, Pearce I think is til 2018, I would be looking to pay him out. Sutcliffe on the trade table for a bag of chips, delist if we can't get anything for him, has done nothing since finals 2014.

I think these guy's selections show Lyon's hand. I strongly believe it was at other's urgings that we made the changes for round 3, not Lyon who made the call. If it was up to Lyon these blokes would never have come out in the first place.

Ross needs to commit to the rebuild or we'll never get close under him.

On current ability, I'm pretty sure that Ross would have picked Darcy in a flash (aside from record number of indigenous players on indigenous round).

But wanting him in is one thing, but he probably doesn't have the tank yet - and particularly in wet conditions which would increase the amount of slog.

Our results when viewed as a whole tell the story..

Geelong - We played poorly, no intensity.

Port - Completely outplayed, a disgraceful performance.

Bulldogs - Our best win of the year. We started well and fought back in the last quarter.

Melbourne - A good win, but we got lucky with that missed shot by that Melbourne player. Mundy and Neale had to kick 7 goals for us to win.

Kangaroos - We were the better team overall, but we constantly burned the ball all game. Lucky to get the win due to typical North choke and a BS Kersten snap.

Eagles - Outplayed all game. Burned the ball going into 50. We were never in the game. The non-call on McCarthy was a joke, but that wouldn't have changed the result.

Essendon - Incredibly slow start, we should have been down by 50 points. Kicked away in the end due to Essendon coming to a stop.

Richmond - We outplayed Richmond all day, and almost blew a 30 point lead. Shocking result really and we should have lost.

Carlton - Slow start against a young team. 21 shots on goal from 52 entries.

Adelaide - Adelaide could have kicked 200 points last night. 43 scoring shots is disgusting.

We could easily be 3-7 and with a worse percentage. I'm just being objective about this.

Yeah completely agree. % is a pretty decent indicator of where we are at.

There have been flashes though. Even Essendon/Carlton appear to be decent at times. I'll take the couple of close wins but overall there's still heaps of work to be done over the next couple of years.

Griff has been a good soldier along the journey but he's cooked. How we picked him over Darcy is sheer madness. I hope it was just to give the bloke one last taste and to see us break the record for most indigenous players in a side on indigenous week. Cannot play another game in purple if we are dinkum about this rebuild.

I knew Lyon would slowly but surely dribble back in the cooked role players, once again it has caused a tipping point of passengers and liabilities.

Pearce, Griffin, Sutcliffe, Ibbotson can't play again this year. Those out of contract have to be retired or delisted, Pearce I think is til 2018, I would be looking to pay him out. Sutcliffe on the trade table for a bag of chips, delist if we can't get anything for him, has done nothing since finals 2014.

I think these guy's selections show Lyon's hand. I strongly believe it was at other's urgings that we made the changes for round 3, not Lyon who made the call. If it was up to Lyon these blokes would never have come out in the first place.

Ross needs to commit to the rebuild or we'll never get close under him.
It sounds bad but the only thing I can think is they wanted to break the indigenous record. Griffins form in the WAFL compared to Darcy's hasn't earnt him a recall at all. The way we've supposedly stuck to youth as well so why else would we play a slow 30 year old old over an 18 year old who's been impressive in the WAFL. Unless there's something we aren't seeing and Griffs dominating at training but that's very unlikely.

Total rubbish
Fought hard like a true champion to lift his team , you could tell he was hating with a passion having his team get pantsed
One man can't do the job of 18

I didn't say he was poor or played badly.

You basically outlined what I saw anyway.

Tell me how could you tell he was hating with a passion if you couldn't read his body language?

Could you say his body language was poor?

For the most part this season, our first quarters have been truly putrid.

Surely this is a coaching problem that needs to be rectified ASAP because most of the time, we don't even turn up in the first quarter. In saying that, last night, we didn't turn up in the first, second, third or fourth quarter :(

I'm fed up with our shit starts and fed up that we seem to do the same thing most weeks which is the definition of insanity.

Adelaide had 43 scoring shots, we scored 43 points.

What an absolute indictment that is.

Adelaide were nothing short of spectacular considering the conditions.

Probably the first game the players gave up as they knew score wise they couldn't compete.

For 20 years I have been parking my car in the same spot on game day, no problems. Today my daughter used my car to go and watch gws beat the mob down the road and the car is broken into! Took all her makeup,her hair straightener and her maccas uniform. Not sure what this means but god I hate them!

D Pearce - Retire 2018
Mundy - Retire 2018/19

But last night was an indication of how we would play without those older guys. Johnson was awful, Mundy was MIA, Sandilands didn't play and Pearce was Pearce. So we look forward to getting as many games into the youngsters before the 3 above (not counting Pearce) retire which will make us at least stronger than what we were last night. I don't think it is possible to play worse than last night, only marginally better.

Adelaide were nothing short of spectacular considering the conditions.

Probably the first game the players gave up as they knew score wise they couldn't compete.
I wouldn't say that of Adelaide's game last night. I watched how almost all of their players took the ball out of a pack uncontested or were able to mark uncontested. We provided no pressure what so ever, all game. When it came to defending we shat ourselves and looked like Auskick kids. Adelaide are good but they'll come back to earth next game if they believe they were spectacular. We were f'n putrid and made them look like a million bucks, simple as that.

Eerily similar to the Adelaide game circa 10 years ago under Harvey where we scored a record 13 points to their 130. Difference was our guys seemed to be trying in that game.

I was babysitting during the game with the bro-in-law doing some renos in the background. Three times the power tripped out and every time we got it back on I'd missed a Freo goal!

Imagine sitting through that shit and only getting to see 50% of our goals? And you guys thought you had it bad.