No Oppo Supporters The Melt Thread

This Hawks 'rebuild' is a bit of a furphy. They're fielding one of the oldest teams in the AFL every week. Look at the huge discrepancy between them and Sydney last week, let alone them and the team we just fielded.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=9577

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=9590

(How do people isolate those table and post them in here?)
You could say similar of north too,their not exactly fielding under 21 dominated sides atm

Something else to think about? Taberner had a really good chance of being delisted last year - I’d say it was about 50/50 for a while there.

If he had gone, maybe he would have been replaced with a KPF alongside Dixon. But most likely not.

Without him at least working back into the side I’d almost have no hope for our forward line at this stage.
I don’t think he was ever going. Everyone new his potential.

I said this very thing to a Docker workmate, I said please don't force your kid to barrack for your team mate you are condemning him to years of misery. No this isn't a troll, the AFL premiership is nearly an impossible thing to win now days from outside Victoria. If I had a kid interested in AFL I would be coaxing him into barracking for another team because we wont see another flag inside my lifetime unless things even up a bit either.

If I have kids I think I will be encouraging them to avoid AFL altogether. Sounding overly pessimistic I know but the AFL is so ultra corporate these days and I get much more enjoyment for watching my former A grade amateurs team these days. Admittedly having Freo so uncompetitive the last 3 seasons is probably contributing!

You could say similar of north too,their not exactly fielding under 21 dominated sides atm
And same with us. Sandi is 35, MJ 32, Mundy 32, D. Pearce and Ballantyne 31/32.
I mean rebuilding is such a pathetic excuse. It just keeps Ross in his job and allows to do whatever he want. No accountability. Sure would be nice if gameplan more attacking and dominant. But it's the same same with a little bit of youth.

This Hawks 'rebuild' is a bit of a furphy. They're fielding one of the oldest teams in the AFL every week. Look at the huge discrepancy between them and Sydney last week, let alone them and the team we just fielded.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=9577

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=9590

(How do people isolate those table and post them in here?)

This goes back to the initial point of my post. Most AFL clubs don't seem to do full rebuilds like we are going through.

Both North and Hawthorn appear well placed to phase out their vets over the next few years without a major impact to their progression. The Hawks don't rely on Burgoyne, nor do the Roos rely on Waite. Neither side are carrying finished blokes like MJ & Ballas like we are either, they can afford to move on those who fall off the cliff because their lists are balanced.

You shouldn't have to field an U21 development side. Having to do so is symptomatic of poor list management.

Those sides appear to have got the process right at this point, we most certainly have not.

We may come out the other side in better shape in the long run, of course our list does show promise. But the excuses of the large amount of turnover of our list or the numbers of players with under 50 games experience are just that. Excuses.

We have a systemic issue with players always trying to kick their full measure with each footpass.
Why the **** we persist with trying to send a 40/50m pass around all parts of the ground has me losing faith in Ross.
I hardly see much organised transition, and while this can be player error it seems mostly because of lack of structure and option in the 20/30/40 m zone ahead and sideways of the ball.
It’s like each player is given a different playbook before the game.
I’ve seen our scoring plan of ‘kick it long to a contest and bring it to ground in the hope a small will capitalise’ for far too long.
The worst part of it all - I’ve had to come to grips last night with the fact we are clearly in the bottom 3/4 teams this year... and will be for a while

Watching Brisbane destroying the Hawks and I can’t help but thinking “my team would never do that” Chris Fagan seriously knows what he is doing.

This thread has been ****ing disappointing the past couple of days. We come in here to laugh and smile at massive over reactions to pretend we are more normal but the last two pages is filled with reasonable criticisms and pathetic logical reasoning. Lift your game ****heads.

I’ve given Lyon the benefit of the doubt but I’m afraid he’s losing me.
He’s already lost me, he needs to go, I truely believe Brisbane might play finals again before we do with Ross at the helm, He might of been good at one stage but the game has changed and left him behind.

Edited: made no sense before

Lol. That sounds like rewriting history to be honest. The majority on here wanted him punted.

Majority here are nuffies. Delisting Taberner - our only promising key forward - would have been about the stupidest thing ever for a team desperate for key forwards. Even if we knew Hogan was coming at the end of the year you'd still keep Taberner as backup.

This goes back to the initial point of my post. Most AFL clubs don't seem to do full rebuilds like we are going through.

Both North and Hawthorn appear well placed to phase out their vets over the next few years without a major impact to their progression. The Hawks don't rely on Burgoyne, nor do the Roos rely on Waite. Neither side are carrying finished blokes like MJ & Ballas like we are either, they can afford to move on those who fall off the cliff because their lists are balanced.

You shouldn't have to field an U21 development side. Having to do so is symptomatic of poor list management.

Those sides appear to have got the process right at this point, we most certainly have not.

We may come out the other side in better shape in the long run, of course our list does show promise. But the excuses of the large amount of turnover of our list or the numbers of players with under 50 games experience are just that. Excuses.
Yeah look im more in the wait and see camp atm. Im realistic of where our list is at and dont think were far off where we realistically should be ,considering ourr list.

People asked ross never done a rebuild ,so we give him one and already just our 2nd season in people have had enough. Ill maintain as i always have,ill judge him by mid-late next year.

Is this the same hawthorn side that regulary trots out some of the most experienced sides in the comp yet has just been pantsed by 10 goals by a rebuilding lions side?
Anything that suggests they ll overtake our rebuild ,have a seamless transition is pure speculatio atm and simple doomsday talk

In regards to your point about where our list got too and why we've had to turn over /play so many youngsters you ll get no arguments here
We stuffed our list managment approach allowing this situation to arise.
Ive always been critical of the way the clubs(ross is a big part of that) let it get to that stage.

With that in mind ,its done now no point dwelling on it just have to hope this re birth is more carefully planned

Rebuilding, playing the kids blah blah blah. I could deal with all that if I could actually see a genuine attempt to do something different. But sadly I don’t.

The sooner we launch Ross the better. Thanks for everything, particularly 2013 but the game has gone past him and his bag of tricks is empty.

He refuses to change his defensive mindset at the expense of everything else. I’ve had a gutfull of being out numbered in the forward line or worse seeing it empty.

I believe he lost the players last year. Those multiple massive hidings we got suggested that to me. If we don’t move him on then we will continue struggle to recruit any decent names out of contract or keep quality players already on our list. We will never be a preferred option for any players looking for a new home or a long term future.

I dont know what it is about Ross but whilst he might be good at turning guys like Zac Dawson into solid role players, he also seems to have a knack at killing off any natural flair and footy instincts from a lot of other quality players. His style just stifles them and ultimately grinds them down.

Well and truly time to give him the heave ho!

This thread has been ****ing disappointing the past couple of days. We come in here to laugh and smile at massive over reactions to pretend we are more normal but the last two pages is filled with reasonable criticisms and pathetic logical reasoning. Lift your game ****heads.

The positivity thread is your friend if you want to avoid logical reasoning :D

Wonder what has changed since the mid naughties where big games could get close to capacity at Subi. I guess people now have more things to do.

Also notice that something is missing with the way the footy is filmed in Perth compared to MCG for instance. Maybe I'm imagining it but the camera angles don't seem quite as good.

Wonder what has changed since the mid naughties where big games could get close to capacity at Subi. I guess people now have more things to do.

Also notice that something is missing with the way the footy is filmed in Perth compared to MCG for instance. Maybe I'm imagining it but the camera angles don't seem quite as good.

Nah, you're not wrong. The broadcast of games at Optus stadium suffers from a few things some specifically due to all the LED lights. Our first game there against Essendon had one awful camera angle in particular. The game today was also extremely sunny which doesn't help.

Rebuilding, playing the kids blah blah blah. I could deal with all that if I could actually see a genuine attempt to do something different. But sadly I don’t.

The sooner we launch Ross the better. Thanks for everything, particularly 2013 but the game has gone past him and his bag of tricks is empty.

He refuses to change his defensive mindset at the expense of everything else. I’ve had a gutfull of being out numbered in the forward line or worse seeing it empty.

I believe he lost the players last year. Those multiple massive hidings we got suggested that to me. If we don’t move him on then we will continue struggle to recruit any decent names out of contract or keep quality players already on our list. We will never be a preferred option for any players looking for a new home or a long term future.

I dont know what it is about Ross but whilst he might be good at turning guys like Zac Dawson into solid role players, he also seems to have a knack at killing off any natural flair and footy instincts from a lot of other quality players. His style just stifles them and ultimately grinds them down.

Well and truly time to give him the heave ho!

That would also mean the demise of Bond and also maybe Rosich would it not? Rosich and Harris were opportunists, now Harris has gone Alcock needs to trawl the swamp for a new CEO and Footy Manager as well as a coach.