No Oppo Supporters The Melt Thread

Ok I haven't melted in a long time

If you want to be a top 4 team and win the premiership you need the best coaching staff

Freo simply do not have it. In 2013 Ross had maybe not the best but a very good group of skills and line coaches.

Now he has inexperienced coaches plus Rock who is a no name who is a yes man to Ross.

Players such as Crozier Sutty and Sherro showed promising signs and had gradually gotten worse. Crozier has since moved on. Questions have to be asked about our development coaches

Geelong and Hawks don't get high draft picks yet not only spot talent but develop talent better than almost any club

Lloyd and the recruiters have been solid when drafting however the talent goes to waste when the player goes backwards.

Freo need an overhaul and get the best staff to help Ross or even move Ross on and land another coach who will drive change for the good.
Whilst I agree that Freo need to get some better coaching assistants the players you've mentioned are meh.

Crozier - best games with the Bulldogs are off half-back coincidentally where he had his best games for us as well. Why? Because he can float and run off.
Sheridan - bad draft pick, turning angle of a mack truck and like Crozier has his best games coming off half-back.
Sutcliffe - in terms of effort, this guy stands above the others. He fit in so well with our premiership tilt because of it and his kicking was actually good. I think he has simply been exposed as we've slid down in the midfield and our pressure up the ground is not what it was.

Agree on the Hawks, their system I think makes better players. I don't think the Cats do that, they mask their younger players behind constantly recruiting free agents/trades.

I think the hard part about a Lyon coached team for a recruiter is finding skillful players but are they going to be able to play a role in Lyon's system? The system has definitely changed from 2013-15 however and here's hoping we bring in an experienced campaigner to join the coaching ranks in the offseason.

You've changed your tune Jedi. About a month or so ago you'll in the Ross in boss camp. What's changed since then?

I agree with your post by the way, spot on.

I have had this view for a while. My post wasn't about Ross so much as all coaching staff need to be held accountable

All of those players bar Clark and Frawley re-signed with their original club so it's not like we missed out and some other club snagged them.
All this S**t about Freo not being able to land a big fish . Is all just media BS , As said Frawley and Clarke are the only ones who did not sign with their original club. And Frawley was always going to a Vic club . Some may say Franklin was a miss as well but the offer from Sydney was just too good and all interested clubs pulled out .One thing that has become apparent with free agency is they either stay with their club or move to powerful Victorian club .
My take on all this Freo can't land a big name forward rubbish is they are dammed if they do when the player stays put and they are dammed if they don't , Imagine the media comments if a big name forward is a free agent and they don't even have a crack (Lynch has declared already only Vic clubs)so he doesn't count.

Whilst I agree that Freo need to get some better coaching assistants the players you've mentioned are meh.

Crozier - best games with the Bulldogs are off half-back coincidentally where he had his best games for us as well. Why? Because he can float and run off.
Sheridan - bad draft pick, turning angle of a mack truck and like Crozier has his best games coming off half-back.
Sutcliffe - in terms of effort, this guy stands above the others. He fit in so well with our premiership tilt because of it and his kicking was actually good. I think he has simply been exposed as we've slid down in the midfield and our pressure up the ground is not what it was.

Agree on the Hawks, their system I think makes better players. I don't think the Cats do that, they mask their younger players behind constantly recruiting free agents/trades.

I think the hard part about a Lyon coached team for a recruiter is finding skillful players but are they going to be able to play a role in Lyon's system? The system has definitely changed from 2013-15 however and here's hoping we bring in an experienced campaigner to join the coaching ranks in the offseason.

Hey mate they are just a few examples and they are a bit meh because I strongly believe Freo couldn't develop them properly. I hate to revert back to it but other clubs have the ability to develop their youngsters better

Just my opinion

Ok I haven't melted in a long time

If you want to be a top 4 team and win the premiership you need the best coaching staff

Freo simply do not have it. In 2013 Ross had maybe not the best but a very good group of skills and line coaches.

Now he has inexperienced coaches plus Rock who is a no name who is a yes man to Ross.

Players such as Crozier Sutty and Sherro showed promising signs and had gradually gotten worse. Crozier has since moved on. Questions have to be asked about our development coaches

Geelong and Hawks don't get high draft picks yet not only spot talent but develop talent better than almost any club

Lloyd and the recruiters have been solid when drafting however the talent goes to waste when the player goes backwards.

Freo need an overhaul and get the best staff to help Ross or even move Ross on and land another coach who will drive change for the good.
Completely agree with you, JMT. I feel other clubs are getting benefit from having a synergistic blend of knowledge and opinion in the coaching panel (I firmly believe two heads are better than one), while we see Ross's strengths and weaknesses displayed on a week in, week out basis.

A West coast supporting moron , Have a gander at their board , Under the title Mcgovern re signs , You will read many moronic comments.

But, but, but, but ……………… they failed to land Fyfe when he came out of contract !!!!.

Most players are not going to leave their club, just the managers put on a bit of razza mattaz to lure more dollars. The media pump it up, and tell the leemings that Club Z failed to lure player C, who stayed at his original club.

It's because both he and yourself got personal with the melts
Agree mate.
Any comments initially made were not inflammatory, only voicing an opinion- seems some others have a thin skin when questioning the regime - that the existing football department is beyond accountability.
I work in a results based industry when we all work together and are accountable as a team - I get the sense more and more over the past few years that the Fremantle football department is very dictatorial and beyond reproach.
I want the club to succeed but I won’t be told by some smartarse on Bigfooty that I cant have an opinion.....
Cheers.

Agree mate.
Any comments initially made were not inflammatory, only voicing an opinion- seems some others have a thin skin when questioning the regime - that the existing football department is beyond accountability.
I work in a results based industry when we all work together and are accountable as a team - I get the sense more and more over the past few years that the Fremantle football department is very dictatorial and beyond reproach.
I want the club to succeed but I won’t be told by some smartarse on Bigfooty that I cant have an opinion.....
Cheers.

Ultimately it’s best if everyone understands that this thread exists as a place for folks to come and have their vent without the rationality of that being questioned or argued with.

There are plenty of threads where folks can debate things...

Surely though the brain drain of our coaching staff has come because Ross wants it that way (or at least doesn't view his assistant coaches as that important). We're a healthy club with theoretically a great head coach to learn under. If we actually wanted to attract some quality/experienced assistant coaches we could do it pretty easy you'd think.

And we are based in WA, a lot of assistants don't want to move cross country and would rather stay in the thick of it in Victoria. The media presence, VFL affiliations, heaps of reasons. The ones we are likely to get are the real young assistants, just retired players or WA based.

Reckon you're being a little bit defeatist there? We might not be able to beat out a Richmond/Hawthorn but if you think coaches would rather sit under guys like Richo/Bolton instead of coming over here we've got massive, massive problems.

What a joke the AFL would even consider trialing new rules in games this year that "don't have an influence on the 8". What about fixing the rules that don't work first like nominating the ruckman, protected area when not involved in the play, prior opportunity and throwing the ball vs handballing. Could you imagine the uproar if Collingwood were well out of the 8 and they talked about trialing new rules because the games don't matter.

He's obviously looking for a senior job !!
I'm not sure one is going to be available. So not going to happen but he'd be perfect for us. Working with a young up-and-coming midfield alongside the best player in the AFL. Spend a couple of years under Ross and then take over the top job whilst we are (hopefully) highly competitive (with our youngsters all hitting the magic experience window and Fyfe and co at their peak still).

Based on what?

He is someone with a Freo heritage, has completed the level 4 coaching program, went through an accelerated senior leadership development program whilst at West Coast, has line experience in forward, defence, midfield, and ruck areas. In addition to this he was part of Adam Simpsons inner circle, and promoted to Senior Assistant. At Collingwood he has taken over their defence and by all reports has been integral in them turning around their defensive positions.

More broadly than all of that though I really like his dedication to understanding the psychology of leadership in high performance environments. He seeks to understand how his players are thinking, and how their methods of thinking impact their ability to succeed in their environment.

I believe he will be the next assistant coach to make the successful transition to senior gig, and I would love that to be at Freo.

Out: Ross Lyon
In: Justin Longmuir