Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Your blog is surprisingly good.

Like better than the professional hot gahbage that gets written up in the HUN, or lazy views on the AFL website. This and Titus O'Reilly are my go to.
Thank you mate. I really appreciate the support and the positive feedback. Hopefully we can get bigger and better going into next season, so fingers crossed.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Righto, got a bit to add on here - slacked off a little after the GF.

Gab Rossi provided the ten things he learnt the week of the Grand Final

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/9/30/ten-things-i-learnt-from-the-grand-final

Tom Basso added an article basking in the afterglow of a cracking Grand Final and questioned whether we really need rule changes?

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/9/30/the-2018-grand-final-do-we-need-to-change-anything

We took a look at the influence of Jeremy McGovern and just how highly we could rate him once all is said and done.

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/9/30/jeremy-mcgovern-where-great-plays-start

In my favourite article, I handed the reins over to Mrs Mongrel and she reviewed the 2018 Grand Final. She'd never watched a game til this one.

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/1/s17gknbep84zcr15izrzwp0rhaa7ua

Jason Irvine looked at the lack of cooperation between the AFL and NRL in terms of scheduling and how it damages supporters' chances of seeing all sports.

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/3/the-unthinkable-should-the-afl-and-nrl-work-together

We had a look at the much talked about "war chest" of North Melbourne, and the pitfalls of splashing cash around

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/5/warchest-or-pandoras-box-north-melbourne-make-their-moves

Tom Basso had a look at two men who were largely forgotten in the 2018 Flag - Matt Priddis and Sam Mitchell

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/6/the-west-coast-premiership-legacy-of-matt-and-mitch

And finally for this update, we took a look at Tom Lynch arriving at Richmond, and the ramifications it could have for team harmony.

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/7/subtraction-by-addition-tom-lynch-moves-to-richmond

So yeah, we haven't been lazy... I've just been lazy in updating here. Thanks for all your support - it is greatly appreciated.

Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Had a bit of exciting news, with our first ever e-book published.

In a nutshell, it's everything we wrote concerning the West Coast Eagles in 2019. Approx 45K words... which means I had no life when you consider how many teams we covered.

Anyway, link is below. It's not as comprehensive as anything official, as we covered around 12 Eagles games this season, but the game reviews are deep dives, and the content is supplemented with articles about the Eagles, particularly at the pointy end of the season.

Epub link
https://themongrelpunt.com/mongrelshop/top-ten-games-of-2018-hb-meyers

Mobi link
https://themongrelpunt.com/mongrelshop/top-ten-games-of-2018-hb-meyers-mobi

Thanks

Jul 19, 2005
Hats to the Mongelpunt for being the only article I can find that is looking at the Lynch movement to Richmond with a somewhat critical eye. Actually noticed exodus of depth players to accomodate Lynch.

Not saying its a bad move just the unending gushing needed a bit more thought to it.

Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Hats to the Mongelpunt for being the only article I can find that is looking at the Lynch movement to Richmond with a somewhat critical eye. Actually noticed exodus of depth players to accomodate Lynch.

Not saying its a bad move just the unending gushing needed a bit more thought to it.

Cheers. I'm a little wary of a move like this. Could really send a club either through the roof, or headed to the basement. I reckon the Tigers will be okay, but a rash of injuries... it'd test them now.

Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Bit of an update

Tom Basso takes a look at the hits and misses of the AFL rule changes

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/12/the-hits-and-misses-of-the-afl-rule-changes

Robert Abrahams is not too pleased with the job Ross Lyon is doing at Fremantle

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/11/the-lyon-kings-pride

But he is pretty happy with what he sees at Carlton currently

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/13/carlton-the-green-shoots-turn-to-real-growth

And HB Meyers takes a look at how Hawthorn has continually added to their list without high draft picks

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/13/not-dead-yet-hawthorn-emerges-as-a-trade-week-player-again

Jul 19, 2005
Cheers. I'm a little wary of a move like this. Could really send a club either through the roof, or headed to the basement. I reckon the Tigers will be okay, but a rash of injuries... it'd test them now.

Especially when its such a structually important position like key forward.

Most new midfielders simply go into the the midfield rotation. While it takes them a bit to get positioning and running patterns down it's usually something they are pretty familiar with.

Lynch and Riewolt are both in teams where they have been almost the sole target for years. All their leads, running patterns and playstyles are built around being the focal point. In 2019 they are both going to have to adjust their games. It's not always easy to adjust. I remember when Brisbane got Fevola into the same forward line with Brown and people were going on about how they would be unstoppable. Obviously it wasn't. Now that was some time ago but the adjustments needing to be made are the same.

Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Especially when its such a structually important position like key forward.

Most new midfielders simply go into the the midfield rotation. While it takes them a bit to get positioning and running patterns down it's usually something they are pretty familiar with.

Lynch and Riewolt are both in teams where they have been almost the sole target for years. All their leads, running patterns and playstyles are built around being the focal point. In 2019 they are both going to have to adjust their games. It's not always easy to adjust. I remember when Brisbane got Fevola into the same forward line with Brown and people were going on about how they would be unstoppable. Obviously it wasn't. Now that was some time ago but the adjustments needing to be made are the same.
In fairness, a fair bit of that probably fell to where Fev was at around that time. Had he arrived in Brisbane with his head screwed on right, and was able to focus solely on footy, it may have been a very different outcome.

A settled and focused Fev is one of modern footy's great "What ifs...".

I'll be really surprised if the Lynch/Riewoldt combination works brilliantly right from the outset. What's not being taken into account by lot of people is that Richmond are changing their entire forward structure. They're going from one key forward and a heap of smaller, tackling, pressure players, to a two tall setup.

And I don't know about you, but I have never considered pressure as a real strong suit of Lynch's game.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Okey doke - a bit of an update.

A look at how the success of the Western Bulldogs is directly tied to the form of their young superstar

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/16/as-goes-bont-so-go-the-dogs-rekb8

A highly contentious trade week ladder from Jared Smith

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/18/the-trade-week-ladder

Robert Abrahams provides a great look at the transformation of Nathan Buckley

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018...rfection-the-transformation-of-nathan-buckley

The Old Mongrel likes what he sees happening at Essendon this off-season

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/19/on-and-off-field-the-bombers-are-back

And the Old Mongrel sounds a warning for those who have prematurely written the Crows off.

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/22/beware-the-wounded-crow

Feel free to hit us up on Facebook or Twitter. We're not tough to find

Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Quick update

Tom Basso has a look at the Northern Territory throwing its hat in the AFL ring, and how their interest could HELP Tassie

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/23/could-a-northern-territory-afl-bid-help-the-tassie-cause

Jared Smith looks at the possibilities for the delisted Daniel Menzel

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/25/does-dan-menzel-fit-at-your-club

The Old Mongrel has a look at who could and should take the next step at each club in 2019

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/27/the-next-step-who-takes-it-in-2019-5gat3

And Tom Basso rounds out the weekend with a look at the Suns and where to from here

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/28/out-of-the-darkness-the-suns-will-rise-again

Thanks to all who have found us and stuck with us this season. Bigger and better next season.

Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Anther update from the old mongrel...

Matt Oman has a look at delisted Geelong forward, Daniel Menzel, and where his best fit is?

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/25/does-dan-menzel-fit-at-your-club

HB Meyers takes a look at the AFL stars best positioned to take the next step in 2019

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/27/the-next-step-who-takes-it-in-2019-5gat3

Tom Basso shines a light on the Suns' plight.

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/28/out-of-the-darkness-the-suns-will-rise-again

HB Meyers lists his ten things to look forward to in season 2019

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/10/31/ten-things-to-look-forward-to-in-season-2019

Robert Abrahams takes a look at the Trump-ian way the AFL is running the show currently.

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/11/3/making-afl-great-again

Tom Basso awards his annual 'Football Person of the Year' award

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/11/4/football-person-of-the-year

Tom Basso highlights the rampant drug use following the 2012 Sydney premiership

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/11/7/the-other-premiership-drug-scandal

And HB Meyers travels back in time with Stuart Dew to help the Suns draft a little better

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/11/11/with-the-benefit-of-hindsight-redrafting-the-suns

And that's about that for this week. Hope you guys are all doing well. Thanks for the support.

Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
OK, update time... and I do this knowing I have three articles in the gun to update in 24 hours. Ah well...

Here's a look at our Phantom Draft, courtesy of Tom Basso

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/11/19/the-mongrel-punt-phantom-draft-2018

And to follow that up (we haven't even released this yet... a BigFooty exclusive haha - a follow up, highlighting which clubs are looking at making moves to improve their hand.

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/11/21/draft-eve-the-phantom-extra

In addition, we've been running some tournaments through our facebook/twitter pages.

Here's the results of our "Toughest Mongrel" tournament

https://themongrelpunt.com/tough-mongrel

And we are down to the final 10 in our "Greatest Defender"poll. Jump on and have your say.

https://themongrelpunt.com/greatest-defender

Articles upcoming in the next few days - piece on Buddy's injury and how his lack of conditioning could be a positive for the Swans, a piece on the players who went on a year too long, and one more of those annoying redrafts that sounded like a good idea, but every man and his dog is doing it, so... yeah.

Thanks to those who message and engage on the page/facebook. Really appreciate your input.

Cheers

Feb 13, 2004
Vic
The Mongrel Punt
Another week... or fortnight; another Mongrel update.

Where to begin?

Had ourselves a another nice little poll to determine the greatest non-key forward of all time. Pretty obvious winner, but you just don't know how people will vote sometimes.

https://themongrelpunt.com/goalsneak

Current one is into Round Two as a I write. Greatest nickname in footy.

https://themongrelpunt.com/greatest-nicknames

In terms of columns, we've got a few of them, too.

We take a look at some of the players who went on for one year too long

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/11/18/fighting-father-time-the-lure-of-one-more-year

Provide a bit of a wrap up from the AFL Draft courtesy of Tom Basso

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/11/26/without-hindsight-the-winners-of-the-2018-draft

Look at Buddy Franklin and his delayed start to the preseason, which could see a role change for the big fella

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018...s-of-injury-is-buddys-late-start-a-good-thing

With the Kangaroos putting a line through anything more than four games a year in Tassie, Tom Basso has a look at what's next for the Apple Isle.

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018...-the-tassie-kangaroos-where-next-for-tasmania

Tom then takes a gander at New Zealand's interest in hosting an AFLW team

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/11/30/new-zealand-eye-an-aflw-team-what-does-it-mean-for-footy

The Mongrel trots out some early Xmas presents for all AFL clubs

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/12/4/a-very-mongrel-xmas-the-gifts-your-club-needs

And we finish off with a look at some of the things we're concerned about as we round the corner into 2019

https://themongrelpunt.com/afl/2018/12/8/concerning-matters-in-2019

So there ya go - busy as always. Hope you find something you like, and if not, hope you find something you don't hate.

Cheers