Opinion The most important year.

98bn8i.jpg

On the one hand, I feel my comment has been taken out of context.

On the other hand, I have no substantial objection!

But in the dream we were undefeated when we won the flag of course I'm gonna jump off when we lose a game because the dream won't be coming true .

Maybe Hawthorn would suit you more as a team to support I hear they jump off pretty quickly as well, maybe with your support you can help get the merger across the line for them next time?

I generally know why the team won or lost a game. I just don't think its a place for comedy hour .

Not sure of what it has to do with coaching and I realise not everyone likes a laugh, personally I do, it beats the crap out of listening to a coach give false appraisal to a beaten foe or even worse trying to make sad excuses as too why their team has just been hammered.

Football is a serious business

why? i spend my money on the club. i'd love to see a behind the scenes look at how we are operating. Couldn't give 2 shits what anyone outside our club thinks.
Wouldn't you rather "our" money being spent on achieving success?

Because a club doesn't need to produce poor media content and by producing this content sponsors can put their name to it so it generates further revenue for the club? Any link between media content and gameday is completely and utterly wrong. I get what you're saying but I want more entertainment from the clubs media dept as it increases fan engagement and ensures Richmond is in the forefront of peoples minds. Kids will watch these videos and show their friends, who will then go home and tell their parents they want to follow the club.
I think kids prefer to tell friends that how we won again on the weekend than a docco one would think.

Year of the Dog wasn't made because the Dogs won a flag, but its also considered a great footy documentary.
Its hard to film these things in retrospect also, do you expect us to film everything in the hope of winning a flag and then if we don't win one just throw it all away?
Well if the club isn't confident in not winning a flag at any stage then yep we might as well shut up shop.

I am absolutely baffled by this Facebook comment level logic.

How the **** does a documentary negatively affect on field performance? If there were cameras on me while I was working, I'd probably be inclined to work even harder, if anything.

I see greater fan engagement and higher sponsorship dollars, and I'm proud that our club leads the pack in this area of media.

What the hell? How did you get that from my comment?
"do you expect us to film everything in the hope of winning a flag and then if we don't win one just throw it all away?"
Just that last bit.
Everyone hopes we win the flag realistic or otherwise.Same applies at the club.

I am absolutely baffled by this Facebook comment level logic.

How the **** does a documentary negatively affect on field performance? If there were cameras on me while I was working, I'd probably be inclined to work even harder, if anything.

I see greater fan engagement and higher sponsorship dollars, and I'm proud that our club leads the pack in this area of media.

I agree. My boys particularly my 13 and 8 year old are now at that prime time of age where they lock into a club. Till this date, they have been tigers due to having to eat and sleep under my roof. They are both excited to see this doco. I have to IQ it as I will be off on my cruise tomorrow but trust me, as soon as we get back home in a week and half the first thing they do after taking a piss, is to watch it. Then ill get them to watch the blues game.

So my point, its smart of our club to do this. Todays generation lap this shit up and if it gets us a couple of new supporters who get the tiger disease, then its was well worth it.

Wouldn't you rather "our" money being spent on achieving success?

Whos to say the release of this doco doesnt bring a couple of thousand new members. Or our sponsors enjoy the exposure and dip in a bit more or new sponsors get on board......more income for the club. You're taking a very simplistic view..

"do you expect us to film everything in the hope of winning a flag and then if we don't win one just throw it all away?"
Just that last bit.
Everyone hopes we win the flag realistic or otherwise.Same applies at the club.
Yeah but you've completely missed my point and only taken a tiny bit of what I said out of context. I was asking if we should film the preseason every year while we still have hope that year to win a flag (as you said we should hope we do every year). If we then don't win the flag, is all that effort and cost of filming just thrown in to the bin? My point was you cannot film the effort that went into a premiership retrospectively.

I probally did miss your point.Getting senile in my old age.lol.I just don't like the timing of it,It would mean more if it was documented and shown after we had success but your right in the context that if we went to the expense of making it then it should be shown.I might be the only one that has an issue with it and 64,000 others don't which is fine.:D

Whos to say the release of this doco doesnt bring a couple of thousand new members. Or our sponsors enjoy the exposure and dip in a bit more or new sponsors get on board......more income for the club. You're taking a very simplistic view..
Past 30yrs,Starved of success,I know which i'd prefer.;)

Anyway back on subject.
Very important year for not only Dimma but the entire club.I think we have reached the fork in the road.We must finish top 4 for the double chance.Going into another final series in a cut throat final straight up doesn't entirely fill me with confidence that we can overcome such pressure,Least with a double chance it will be a different type of pressure.

Yeah good point there a few senior players that would thrive under a better coach as well.

of course that is true, I often imagine what we would be like if we had Lyon, geez we would be a unit

One man on Bigfooty is far from a kill TFL. Does last season not count ? I've stated a million times that Hardwick lost his way since Trade week 2013 and I believe there are better coaches out there than him and I still believe that. I'm concerned about how much game time players have been given in the Nab Cup especially players that will be picked for round 1 and his 3 tall experiment is just a waste of time when we could be working on guaranteeing a round one win. If you don't see that then I could care less cause everyone has the right to their own opinion. Hardwick got 4 strong years of support from me the most of any modern day coach we've had . A year and a half of me challenging the way some think on here shouldn't hurt him especially as the last time I looked we aren't all sheep .
I only asked at least give him half the season before YOU go in for the kill mate. If he fails at the helm this season so be it, all im saying is he is our coach and we cant change that and lets at least wait for a few results to come in before we start to say lets sack Dimma.

I think kids prefer to tell friends that how we won again on the weekend than a docco one would think.
Of course, but those things aren't mutually exclusive
A kid can still be sad after a loss and eat the media content the club puts out
I just find it silly that anyone thinks that media productions, including post game interviews, have any impact on training and performance
The cameras are there all the time while training and I think you'll find that the media guys would be allowed to record as long as it doesn't compromise the training
Not only that but players get stopped on the street for selfies so they're getting exposed to social media etc all the time, do you think that influences the way they'll play on match day? I really hope not

It's already been said by others, and I've said it elsewhere, but I completely agree about this year being important for Hardwick as our coach. If the team doesn't meet certain outcomes, as long as it's within his control, then he's gone. I just hope he gets there because it means Richmond has had a successful year and I don't want us to fail, would be disappointed if any other supporter did

I only asked at least give him half the season before YOU go in for the kill mate. If he fails at the helm this season so be it, all im saying is he is our coach and we cant change that and lets at least wait for a few results to come in before we start to say lets sack Dimma.
I don't even think we should sack him mate I reckon we move him to an assistants role and put someone better in as head coach. If we lose round 1 it will be a disgrace . Have a listen to him on SEN interview yesterday trying to sell the firsts months results as to round 1. Very silly attitude by a head coach .

I see your point Rusty but disagree. Its funny how people can hear the same thing but take a different message from it. I am not suggesting my point is right and yours wrong but what I took out from that interview was simply Hardwick has learnt from past mistakes, and one of those mistakes was making the round one event be everything. If we won it, great but if we lost it, it was like the year was finished. I did not take that as he has dismissed the rnd 1 encounter just that he was putting it in perspective, ie its 1 game with still 22 games to go.

Is that meaning he is think we will lose ? I cant answer that, but In my opinion its not. Lastly, since we have started to use the 4 block focus, our consistency has improved. We now rarely get a smashing like we used to, for example how many 60 plus beating have we had since 2013 compared to say the wallace years..its like chalk and cheese imo.

I do agree with you on the point that this year, if we fail again that a serious change needs to happen. Just I will wait till the mid year mark before i pull the trigger.

As if a senior coach would ever consider being demoted and stay at a club. Wont happen, ever. Also not sure what your talking about the first 4 weeks results either as we have done this for a long time ie planned for games in blocks of 4. he also said we still only look at the upcoming game and that's the blues. Your just trying to find something to bag him on, and this is tenuous at best.