The most insporational player

DEES RULE!

Nov 17, 2000
Half way between heaven and hell!
MELBOURNE DEMONS! :)
i am pretty sure that all of you have at least one player that had a big influence on your life or has inspired you in some way.
mine would have to be russell robertson. he came to my school as part of "here for life program" and he was so sweet and he told us about all the crap he had to go through in order to get to where he is now. he is a true inspiration for me!
well anyway i hope you have a player who you find inspirational.

well for me there are a lot. The ones that do the here for life program are heaps good like Rupie, Robbo etc

Also Ricky is a great inspration i reckon the way he never gives up and is so determined to get himself right and play again.

sPiDeR eVeRiTt and RiCkY oLaReNsHaW
~kewlest players round!!!

"here for life" program is a program that was established by shane woewodin and it is now wide spread through not just afl teams but other sports team.
it is a program where a munber of people from each club participate and they go around to schools and talk to a grade about life and their own personal stories and throughout that they are passing on a massage of life is tough but u can't give up.
it might sound crapy but the day melbourne players came to my school was the most amazing day. they were very open and they gave us so much hope!
anyway i hope that answers your question!

hey, well, i'd have to say that the most insperational person i've ever met woeuld HAVE to be SHANE WOEWODIN!!! he's been my hero ever since he started playing footy, and when i saw him play for the first time during the first match in the 1997 season against north melbourne, it was like love at first sight! also the 'here for life' program was SOOOO insperational.
i love SHANE WOEWODIN!!!

there are a couple for me
dermie after he coped the bump from yates in the grand final, spewed up, and kept playing with rib and kidney injuries

james hird, coming back to football after all he has been through

michael long, doesnt get much of the ball but lifts the whole side when he is on the park

I always admire the players who have had to overcome adversity to reach an elite level. I also admire players who do not flich in the face of danger and go where angels fear to tread.

For mine, Andrew Kellaway heads this list with an honourable mention to Paul Kelly.

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Jimmy Stynes came to our school for a similar program when I was in Year 12 and let me tell you there wasn't a dry eye in the room. It was bloody inspirational stuff and I still talk about it to this day...

And I find Dimma (Paul DiMattina) inspiring because of his 'disability' (deafness) and yet he is still such a fantastic player, not to mention a friendly guy :0)

Ps. Good topic! :0)

i have a few players that inspire me
andrew mckay coz he studied to be a vet as well as play football, Michael Long and all aboriginal football players coz most have done alot for aboriginal communities and any footballer who respects their fans and is willing to talk to them and doesn't just walk away

Comon

Kelly is the most inspirational player i have ever seen.
I remeber the game against the dockers this year.He had just come back from a knee reconstruction, and was being eased into the game at full forward.
His team was down, and out of no where he took this screamer and lifted his side.

Anyone want to know what a captain should be, take this guy for example.
2 keys
1.Fearless
2.Inspiraional
Best Captain in the League

Bloody mc manus

James Hird, Michael Long, Paul Kelly, Michael Voss.
smile.gif

lol sabre, you can't get over Mc Manus can ya?

My answers are:
Paul Kelly - all the reasons everyone else has stated
Andy Kellaway - he is a brave and tough guy who one day will make a great captain
Jim Stynes - was a great player and is committed to helping kids in need.

From an Eagles point of view I think Bluey McKenna was a very inspiring player to look up to.

But I'd say the biggest inspiration would have to be Alastair Lynch for everything he went through (Chronic Fatigue Syndrome) and still managed to play good AFL footy.

I find Jim Stynes inspirational. To come out here having not played the game and to win a Brownlow and numerous best and fairest awards and to play 244 games in a row is very inspirational. Also what he is doing now with his work with youth shows what a good bloke he is.

some of the L:ions guys also do the here for life program
Beau
Aka
Simon
DJ
& there could be more they jusyt don't come to mind

My 2 inspirational layers would be Lynchy

& it may sound weird but Stevie Lawrence would be the other after all he has been through yet he just keeps going hard at the ball. Good Luck Stevie!

The most inspiratrional player int he AFL is undoubtedly Scott Burns.

how he puts up with being deputy to FIGJAM baffles me.

He is a Champion.

Christ almighty I am only joking but how could he be captaincy material as reposrted in the press.

God Collingwood are shithouse

The most insporational player