The new coaching panel for 2005

• Thread starter Thread starter macca23

I am going to repeat something I said in another post as it more relevant here.

imo, unproven coaches are little league. Let's leave the gambling and the risk to those clubs that need guys on the cheap to see what they can do.

There was a time not long ago when Wayne Brittain, Jeff Gieschen, Damien Drum were the hottest things since sliced bread;

who could really say that Connelly, Worsfold, Roos, Laidley etc, will still coaching in the league in 5 years. I like connelly, think he might, but you are never far away from the scrap heap - or worse, umpires director!

Even guys like Roos and Pagan were stabs in the dark brought about by desperate circumstance not good planning.

too much risk, unproven = little league.

either way, the AFC will not appoint an unproven coach.

Originally posted by Crow-mosone

too much risk, unproven = little league.

either way, the AFC will not appoint an unproven coach.

I agree that appointing an unproven coach is a gamble. If it fails it'll set your club back years.

IMO Adelaide shoild appoint a proven coach - and that means Wallace.

Originally posted by Crow-mosone
AFC will not appoint an unproven coach.
I have said this before and I think it will prove to be the case. AFC is considered a big club and as such will go for a top liner. Thats why I think wallace will get the job if in fact Ayres gets the flick (Which looks more likely by the day)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
......... if in fact Ayres gets the flick (Which looks more likely by the day)

I'll start by saying that I respect Ayres as a man.

He has integrity, determination and many other admirable qualities.

But IMO he has had his chance. This is year 5 Stiffy, and we're going backwards. The players are not responding to the same old message and ill structured game-plan, poor selections, mismatches etc etc

Let me ask you this.

If Adelaide win enough games to scramble into the 8, and then get knocked out early, would you re-appoint or replace Ayres?

Originally posted by macca23
I'll start by saying that I respect Ayres as a man.

He has integrity, determination and many other admirable qualities.

But IMO he has had his chance. This is year 5 Stiffy, and we're going backwards. The players are not responding to the same old message and ill structured game-plan, poor selections, mismatches etc etc

Let me ask you this.

If Adelaide win enough games to scramble into the 8, and then get knocked out early, would you re-appoint or replace Ayres?
I also respect Ayres for exactly the same qualities a you said.

In answer to your question I would replace him.

Now me blaming Ayres for everything is an absolute bulls**t. Have you not read any of the recent threads on this board?????? If you did then you would realise I don't blame Ayres for everything.

Fact is Ayres has the final say on draft day. Ayres and Curran wanted Angwin despite protests of Reid and Fantasia yet we get to blame James and Reidy for everything.

What is that crap? Who is blaming Reid and James for everything? Not me, not anyone here. Most people are laying a fair slice of the responsibility onto Ayres, including me. All I'm saying is the other two, aswell as the assistants have had a hand in the clubs actions and as a result must take a share in the blame.

And why do you always go back to Angwin? Angwin is one draft selection. This is not about Angwin. This is about performance of recruiting for many years, going back to before Ayres was even at the Crows.

Answer this question for me. Who else other than Ayres do you think needs to have their position seriously scrutinised and their performance brought into question?

Our list management has been below par in recent years and our drafting has been ordinary for many more years. Ayres' role has to be questioned. So do the others.

Just on who should replace Ayres if he is replaced at the end of the season, KG was badgered on this question this morning by Pilko and Keith Conlan.

He didn't want to answer originally, because he didn't think that the media should speculate on who Ayres replacement is when Ayres hasn't even gone.

When it was rephrased that if Ayres were to resign as AFC coach, who would he see as his replacement, then he agreed that he would be more than happy with Terry Wallace, adding "who else is there?"

I'm with you, KG!!

If Port sacked Mark Williams, would you take him on?

I'm sure the media here will start to subtly push Neil Craig's name forward if the season continues to go pear shaped for the crows. There'll be continual references to how impressive he was in coaching interviews with Freo and the Swans, how he's been an assistant coach at Adelaide for a few years now, how he was a senior coach at Norwood.

Originally posted by Ford Fairlane
I'm sure the media here will start to subtly push Neil Craig's name forward if the season continues to go pear shaped for the crows. There'll be continual references to how impressive he was in coaching interviews with Freo and the Swans, how he's been an assistant coach at Adelaide for a few years now, how he was a senior coach at Norwood.
Craig has proven to be an innovative fitness coach, but has proved little as a senior coach.

I'm also leaning towards Wallace.

Let me ask you this.

No I wouldnt as he is going to take us no futrther he simply is not a premiership coach on GF day he would **** his pants litterly, we need a coach who can coach and make match winning moves that was one of MB great abilities he made match winning moves, he out smarted the opposition, Gary Ayres couldnt out smart Kermit The Frog, Ayres will go come season end no doubt about it, if he is retained well gee I would hate to be the AFC Board as they will get it from everywhere:mad:

Originally posted by maccas_no1

Gary Ayres couldnt out smart Kermit The Frog

:D :D

I nearly sprayed my coffee everywhere when I got up to this part of your post Marty!!

No he couldn't outsmart him.

What he'd probably do is use Kermit as a run with player on Voss.

Originally posted by Ford Fairlane

Yes Ford Fairlane, I reckon you could be right. I believe that the Crows hierarchy will go through the motion of searching Australia wide for a new coach but in the end will appoint N Craig as the best man for the job. Why else would he knock back a senior AFL job in the West several years ago?

Kane, I wouldn't put my house on it but I wouldn consider a friendly wager (with some odds). We can discuss over a couple of pints on Friday.

Originally posted by Mitch Power
Kane, I wouldn't put my house on it but I wouldn consider a friendly wager (with some odds). We can discuss over a couple of pints on Friday.
Mitch, IMO Craig will not get the next senior AFC coaching job. However, we will find out sooner rather than later (ie. come the end of the season), given that Sanders doesn't appear Ayres' greatest supporter ( these board leaks are poor form).

Originally posted by ****
What is that crap? Who is blaming Reid and James for everything? Not me, not anyone here. Most people are laying a fair slice of the responsibility onto Ayres, including me. All I'm saying is the other two, aswell as the assistants have had a hand in the clubs actions and as a result must take a share in the blame.

And why do you always go back to Angwin? Angwin is one draft selection. This is not about Angwin. This is about performance of recruiting for many years, going back to before Ayres was even at the Crows.

Answer this question for me. Who else other than Ayres do you think needs to have their position seriously scrutinised and their performance brought into question?

Our list management has been below par in recent years and our drafting has been ordinary for many more years. Ayres' role has to be questioned. So do the others.

Everyone from a runner to a chairman is responsible. I blame Ayers for things that he is responsible for. Things such as early picks, playing playres out of position, having favourites in his team, crap match ups and crap strategies. Those are the things Ayres is responsibe for. You say James Fantasia should be blamed for recruiting and to a degree thats warranted but as I keep saying, with early picks coach has the finals say. Angwin episode is a clear example of this

Why do I always bring up Angwin?????? Because that was 1 pick we couldn't afford to screw up. It was a pick where a big gamble was unacceptable. Despite all people in our recruting department and club as a whole, being against picking Angwin, Ayres and Curran felt obliged to pick him up because of the Hawthorn connection (Angwin's late grandfather was highly respected and liked at Hawthorn). Now, I am sorry but I have every right to get p|ssed off with this particular episode.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Mitch, IMO Craig will not get the next senior AFC coaching job. However, we will find out sooner rather than later (ie. come the end of the season), given that Sanders doesn't appear Ayres' greatest supporter ( these board leaks are poor form).
I am glad you mentioned these board leaks. I am really started to get p|ssed off with this. Can we please keep things in house.

We all bagged Bob Campbell but at least while he was a chairman we never had these leaks. Ever since BS (aka bulls**t atrist) became a chairman we have had, leaks to the media and more and more crap written about us that ever before.

This is really starting to s**t me off. Board Members, some maturity please. This is not good for the profile of the footy club

I am glad you mentioned these board leaks. I am really started to get p|ssed off with this. Can we please keep things in house.

We all bagged Bob Campbell but at least while he was a chairman we never had these leaks. Ever since BS (aka bulls**t atrist) became a chairman we have had, leaks to the media and more and more crap written about us that ever before.

This is really starting to s**t me off. Board Members, some maturity please. This is not good for the profile of the footy club
Get the feeling the leaks are coming from the top. Ayres is having a difficult enough job without being white-anted. He should be getting 100% support, rather than these unwaranted distractions whilst he is is our coach. Poor reflection on AFC IMO.

Which board leaks?

What leaks are you accusing Bill Sanders of?

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Get the feeling the leaks are coming from the top. Ayres is having a difficult enough job without being white-anted. He should be getting 100% support, rather than these unwaranted distractions whilst he is is our coach. Poor reflection on AFC IMO.
Spot on and it is really starting to irritate me. If you don't like the bloke come out and say it to his face rather than do this cheap thing through the media.

Its pathetic and its a poor reflection on the footy club IMHO. Its got to stop

I think blind Freddie can see that Ayres won't be our senior coach for 2005.

Given that there is a change in senior coach, would we be better off putting the broom through the whole coaching panel??

Fresh ideas, fresh game plans, fresh structures, fresh motivation.

Food for thought.

Who would be your coaching panel for 2005??

Mine would be something along these lines, presuming all are available:

Senior Coach - Terry Wallace

Asst (ruck) - Sean Rehn

Forwards - Wayne Carey

Mid-field - Mark Bickley

Defence - ???

Your thoughts??

Defence ?? Scott Lee / Rod Jamieson