• Brett Kirk

Votes: 7 1.6%
  • OTHER

Votes: 30 7.0%

This getting beyond a joke.. surely they are close to picking a man for the job? today or tomorrow it must be announced. the crows have been so water tight with things of late. Usually that maggot Rucci would have heard something by now.
Thought I read this morning the AFC said 'within a fortnight'

EDIT: "ADELAIDE expects to present its new coach within the next fortnight"

Has a club ever gone through trade week without a senior coach? From memory st kilda may have done it. What was it again, ROOvolution or ROOted.

The problem is people don't understand about how contracts and announcements work. You select someone, they have to accept and terms are then agreed upon. They will also have to inform their current employer and any contractual stuff with them sorted out. Then they can sign the new contract with you and it has to be lodged with the AFL is my understanding. Once that has all been done, only then do you announce.

Anyone here ever been involved in recruitment involving contracts? It does take a while before you can actually announce anything...

The problem is people don't understand about how contracts and announcements work. You select someone, they have to accept and terms are then agreed upon. They will also have to inform their current employer and any contractual stuff with them sorted out. Then they can sign the new contract with you and it has to be lodged with the AFL is my understanding. Once that has all been done, only then do you announce.

Anyone here ever been involved in recruitment involving contracts? It does take a while before you can actually announce anything...

I feel like I'm selling ice to the eskimos here, but:

b252b36ce5c266c6da23acdc32f40dd3cd31cc0f625a5badfb37a927a797f55b.jpg

Was a very good movie, and Urban did a very good job.

As a long time Dredd fan, I was so very pleased with that movie. Been a fan of Karl's work for a while and he's a huge Dredd fan as well and it showed in the performance. Need to get my poster framed that I have signed by him and Jock from 2000 AD. :D Also got Oliva and Karl to sign my Dredd badge from SDCC in 2012!

66f51df0cd3f11e1b2fe1231380205bf_7.jpg

Long time reader, first time poster... So feel free to shoot me down.

Unsure if it's been discussed on here or if he's ruled himself out but what about Rodney Eade?

I would class Eade as a relatively big fish. Took Sydney to a GF in his first year and and took an under resourced but talented Bulldogs to three prelims.

As for the big fish being lined up and now everyone has gone cold, maybe Fagan has come into the picture and demanded the club follow the correct process and due diligence before appointing whoever it is Roo may have already had lined up?

As for Bolton, I think taking an unknown assistant from the reigning premiers and expecting success has been tried with Sando. Definitely wouldn't feel comfortable with history repeating itself.
Welcome aboard Brett ;)

I'm loving the influx of new postesr at the moment - please do stick around and get involved. If the locals are a bit harsh at first, persist. Or let me know so we can discuss blunting their enthusiasm (to label new posters as trolls...)

Honestly I think the "Coaching group" is more important than the senior coaching appointment. If we have the right team with the right mix of Tactical aptitude, Motivational ability and individuals with good relationship & communication skills then that group can make almost any senior coach look good. Hell even Sando looked good when Bails had his back.

Given that there is clearly no stand out coach available for the Crows with successful experience then I just want a really strong team appointed.

what irks me though was all the talk of it being resolved very quickly once the season was over from Chapman. This to me mean days, not 3 weeks (if we are talking another fortnight to go).

Honestly I think the "Coaching group" is more important than the senior coaching appointment. ...Given that there is clearly no stand out coach available for the Crows with successful experience then I just want a really strong team appointed.

With the coach to be announced within two weeks, the coaching team should be sorted by, oh, mid July.

For a recruitment process, 3 weeks is incredibly fast!
That maybe the case, but I don't reckon your average billy bbq (as rowey would say) would take it that way.
I'm just questioning why it needed to be framed that way at all - just say we'll take the time needed to get the right man.
ah fek i dont know...

It isn't ideal but when the only alternatives are:
- keep Sando
or
- rush the recruiting process

We don't have much choice.

Even if it costs us a little this trade week ( don't think it will - trade 'week' is almost 2 full work weeks long and most will happen in the last couple of days. We'll have a coach by then), it is better to get this decision right as that will benefit us for much longer.
I agree. I just wish we concluded the review about 2 weeks earlier so we were in the strong position of announcing a coach this week.

Speaking of surveys...

AFC Membership survey is up.

The on field and administration parts got a massive thump from me, they will be sick seeing the responses, sending it now was a bad idea with this coach scenario going on, cant see many awesome responses, good for us, will make them realise how bad we think of it all right now..

It's certainly blanket secrecy which is unusual - recalling the last time it was quite clear and open who was being interviewed.

All we have is reports Bassett has been spoken too - nothing confirmed by the club, and reports of Bolton being interviewed which was denied. The only discussion that has been actually confirmed by the club is ROK.

I think from his comments and also the fact he's gone dead quiet without news of any other home - that ROK is on board. Just joining dots.

Dew says we haven't spoken to him and Sumich says the same.

That's about all that's actually been said, the rest is speculation.

Very curious and very unlike our previous MO - that's no criticism just an observation

I agree. I just wish we concluded the review about 2 weeks earlier so we were in the strong position of announcing a coach this week.
I think that getting a sacking right is just as important as getting a hiring right. I have no problem that we waited until the season was over to have all the information. We then took around two weeks to make the call, that is acceptable for mine.

Makes all the displays of solidarity between Hird and Little look like a charade.

Hird could care less. He doesn't need to coach for the money. IIRC he had to be persuaded to give it a go. Back to rolling in lucre for James.
His wife makes heaps as a Lawyer doesn't she? (Not that all lawyers make heaps, I know first hand haha)