Prediction The Next Batch operation Future

I guess my concern is more that they are not given extended runs to adjust to afl footy. Selected and in for a game or two doesn’t cut it. A kid needs to be told your in for the next 6 games so go out and prove yourself

Cunico: 14 games
Fogarty: 15
Zuthrie: 7
Henry: 22
Jones: 7
Kelly: 23
Narkle: 6
O'Connor: 5
Parfitt: 19
Parsons: 11
SavRat: 8

Your wish was the Match Committee's command in 2018, it seems.

We will need a lot more class players if looking at that list. I reckon we will need +5 FAs or trades for some guns to fill holes.

Blicavs and Abbott ain't that young either.

I'm still on the fence whether Kreuger, SavRat, Cocky, Narkle, Constable will be anything more than Solid B-graders.

There is probably a dozen teams in the comp that have a much better U23 list.

Having said that, we have done okay with the draft picks we've had. If we bottomed for a season, and traded for extra quality picks, that's probably all we need.

Just trying to be realistic imo.

Clark and Parfitt are the only A-graders U23 atm imo. That's not to say a few more U23s may turn into A-graders - Constable, Miers, Fogarty, Henry - the most likely chances at this stage.
Of course most of that is true (if cocky could get a vfc run at itbhe'scan A grader) but danger selwood, Duncan, dahlhaus, Stanley, tuohy will be around for a while yet to draw stars from other clubs to us. I think in the next 3 or 4 years your call for 5 free agents or trades is realistic.
We will be ok.
We may just get some surprises in our draft picks now and over that period too

Of course most of that is true (if cocky could get a vfc run at itbhe'scan A grader) but danger selwood, Duncan, dahlhaus, Stanley, tuohy will be around for a while yet to draw stars from other clubs to us. I think in the next 3 or 4 years your call for 5 free agents or trades is realistic.
We will be ok.
We may just get some surprises in our draft picks now and over that period too
Yeah agreed. I'd love for us to hit the draft hard one year though. You know, have 5-6 picks inside the Top 25. 2019 could be the draft period if we slip. We could have a mid first rounder, mid second rounder, and possibly two picks inside the Top 25 from the Kelly trade.

Fogarty isn't good enough I feel. Lacks real kicking penetration in his kicking and doesn't have any real weapons for his size. Won't make it.

Narkle I was a big fan of but he really needs to improve his efforts without the ball. Like Cockatoo he's stuck between manning a zoned area and playing on instinct. Would probably make it under a ruthless organisation.

Fogarty isn't good enough I feel. Lacks real kicking penetration in his kicking and doesn't have any real weapons for his size. Won't make it.

Narkle I was a big fan of but he really needs to improve his efforts without the ball. Like Cockatoo he's stuck between manning a zoned area and playing on instinct. Would probably make it under a ruthless organisation.
Many thought Parfitt lacked kicking penetration when he first joined, but he looks fine now. Fog's first year was comparable to Parfitt's in many ways imo. I'd probably argue that Fogarty is quicker than Parfitt, though Parfitt has the dancing tricks. I'm not too worried about that selection.

Narkle has been good, but I think I would need to see more from him. He is yet to really dominate a game, but we should see some steady improvements.

Cocky won't be an accumulator, he's more likely to be a better version of Rohan, and that's if he can stay on the park.

Many thought Parfitt lacked kicking penetration when he first joined, but he looks fine now. Fog's first year was comparable to Parfitt's in many ways imo. I'd probably argue that Fogarty is quicker than Parfitt, though Parfitt has the dancing tricks. I'm not too worried about that selection.

Narkle has been good, but I think I would need to see more from him. He is yet to really dominate a game, but we should see some steady improvements.

Cocky won't be an accumulator, he's more likely to be a better version of Rohan, and that's if he can stay on the park.
Parfitt was always a lovely kick though whereas Fogarty has an awkward technique where I can't see much improvement.

Watch Narkle closely. He looks lost. He doesn't know whether to guard space or use his instinct to get the ball. I watched him jog on after an opponent at least half a dozen times last week with no intensity whatsoever.

Watch this year how effortless teams waltz the ball out of defense, particularly after a behind. Teams with really good foot skills are going to carve us up. I'm going to be watching tomorrow night with interest to see what path we're headed in this year in terms of system but from what I seen on the weekend we're in trouble. Our team balance isn't right and we still persist with that full field zone that's proven it doesn't stand up in finals.

Bit harsh on a guy who’s groins have been knackered since early on, and is now recovering from surgery to fix it.
Were his groins rooted in the under 18's too?

He was in and out with groin soreness at least 3 times last year.
Yet they chose to play him in 15 games with a groin injury, is that what you're saying?

There would be a heap of players playing through groin soreness every week. Probably one of the most common injuries there is.

Ask the medical team, not me.
I choose not to believe Fogarty would have played his entire under 18's and the first 15 games of his AFL career with a ****ed groin so I'll end this conversation content that his kicking technique and lack of penetration will hinder his ability to make it at AFL level

There would be a heap of players playing through groin soreness every week. Probably one of the most common injuries there is.

Ask the medical team, not me.

Soreness is probably fair... I do hope it was only mild if we were playing him so much.

Which then raises the question of how big a factor was it? Either way I still think he'll be a very good player with his contested/pressure capabilities and general reading of the play.

I choose not to believe Fogarty would have played his entire under 18's and the first 15 games of his AFL career with a ****** groin so I'll end this conversation content that his kicking technique and lack of penetration will hinder his ability to make it at AFL level
You do that. Doesn’t change the fact he had to be rested at least 3 times last year with groin soreness, and subsequently had to have surgery on it after the end of season rest didn’t heal it.

You may be right about his kicking but a bung groin doesn’t help. I will make judgement on that when he is back to full fitness.

Parfitt was always a lovely kick though whereas Fogarty has an awkward technique where I can't see much improvement.

Watch Narkle closely. He looks lost. He doesn't know whether to guard space or use his instinct to get the ball. I watched him jog on after an opponent at least half a dozen times last week with no intensity whatsoever.

Watch this year how effortless teams waltz the ball out of defense, particularly after a behind. Teams with really good foot skills are going to carve us up. I'm going to be watching tomorrow night with interest to see what path we're headed in this year in terms of system but from what I seen on the weekend we're in trouble. Our team balance isn't right and we still persist with that full field zone that's proven it doesn't stand up in finals.
I think with Narkle its his engine that was not up to scratch, and it was always his issue when drafted. Something they are working on.

A lot of people on here were worried about Parfitt's kicking in year 1 too...

You do that. Doesn’t change the fact he had to be rested at least 3 times last year with groin soreness, and subsequently had to have surgery on it after the end of season rest didn’t heal it.

You may be right about his kicking but a bung groin doesn’t help. I will make judgement on that when he is back to full fitness.
So again you're saying the club played an injured player.

I think with Narkle its his engine that was not up to scratch, and it was always his issue when drafted. Something they are working on.

A lot of people on here were worried about Parfitt's kicking in year 1 too...
I wasn't. He's always been a lovely user of the ball. And if his engine isn't up to scratch he plays VFL until it is.

Depends if you consider soreness an injury. Every player plays sore at some stage.
So the club played a sore or injured player for 15 games and one who isn't fit enough for another 6. It's a circus down at that club.

Yeah agreed. I'd love for us to hit the draft hard one year though. You know, have 5-6 picks inside the Top 25. 2019 could be the draft period if we slip. We could have a mid first rounder, mid second rounder, and possibly two picks inside the Top 25 from the Kelly trade.

How the hell do you get 5-6 picks inside top 25? You would trade out pretty much every tradable player. Then being the draft 50% of those kids won't become players and you'll have traded our leadership group in for maybe 3 good kids? Carlton has more than 3 good kids and it hasn't been working out for them.

Fogarty i feel was played out of position for 15 games in what was his first year. I won't be judging him too harshly. He has a lot of development to come. The problem is we've been spoiled with unexpected revelations like Henry, Menegola, Stewart, Kelly, etc. He's tracking fine, as is Narkle. We'll know a lot more about them in 2020