Resource The NMFC History thread

The 1958 preliminary final v Collingwood (eventual premiers)

Allen Aylett kicks 3 goals to try and get North home but we fell short by 20 points.

The 1958 preliminary final v Collingwood (eventual premiers)

Allen Aylett kicks 3 goals to try and get North home but we fell short by 20 points.

Great find Tef. Haven't seen that footage before. We must've been shyte for the first three quarters as we were trouncing them in junk time.

Me neither mate. It's a first as far as I know. Great historical piece. It comes from the Collingwood archives.

That footage came out on a Footy Flashbacks video some years ago. It's a pity North threw the game away in the first three quarters with atrocious kicking. This footage shows the only part of the match North dominated. Collingwood obviously had tired somewhat and were thinking of next week's Grand Final clash with Melbourne. North had beaten Collingwood at Victoria Park three weeks prior to this game and scrambled into the final four by winning four of their last six matches, beating Carlton, Footscray, Essendon and Collingwood. It is doubtful they would have beaten Melbourne had they made it to the Grand Final. Melbourne had the wood on North from 1954-65.

Must have been a strong wind during that game, Collingwood kicked 5 goals in the first and third quarters and we kicked 6 in the fourth. We only kicked 1.9 in the second.

Some Mick Nolan highlights,@3:47 shows how agile he could be.......... well 124kg agile :D

Sorry if already posted.

Would not mind a GIF of that goal against Geelong. Anyone?

Edit; Going by memory am fairly sure that goal won him the WOS TNT play of the day.

Looks a bit leaner when playing in Qld than he did at North!

Must have been the heat. The garbage bags didn't help much when at North. Barassi made him wear to sweat of some weight. But two Viscounts and four steamed dim sims at halftime ensured his fitness remained :D

A picture of our first ever VFL side in 1925 prior to playing our first match v Geelong at Kardinia Park

020813_ArticleLarge1.jpg

1952 04 21 (Sun) Aylett.jpg

One of North's greatest players, Allen Aylett, made his debut in Round 1 1952 against Carlton. This photo was taken of this game. Aylett graduated straight from the fourths team to the seniors and managed to play in 18 of the 19 home and away games in 1952. He played mainly in the forward pocket and sometimes on the half forward flank and the wing. During the 50s he was even called on to play at full forward and centre half forward despite his height. But by the 60s he had settled into the position of first rover.

View attachment 469717

One of North's greatest players, Allen Aylett, made his debut in Round 1 1952 against Carlton. This photo was taken of this game. Aylett graduated straight from the fourths team to the seniors and managed to play in 18 of the 19 home and away games in 1952. He played mainly in the forward pocket and sometimes on the half forward flank and the wing. During the 50s he was even called on to play at full forward and centre half forward despite his height. But by the 60s he had settled into the position of first rover.

My late Kensington raised grandma (who's responsible for my mum and I being North to the core, having taken me to games regularly from 1970 onwards) used to rave about Aylett. He was her Wayne Carey and Glenn Archer rolled into one.

My late Kensington raised grandma (who's responsible for my mum and I being North to he core, having taken me to games regularly from 1970 onwards) used to rave about Aylett. He was her Wayne Carey and Glenn Archer rolled into one.
Had 17 on my back as a kid. He was an absolute champion player.

Massively underrated. Does not get the credit he deserves as a footballer.

Was amongst the very elite in of the competition in the late 50's and early 60's, in an era when the likes of Whitten, Barrassi and Farmer were dominating the competition, and to give the uninformed some perspective, he beat those blokes as the best player in the Australian carnivals to win the Tassie Medal twice (actually he tied with Whitten in 61).

All 3 are AFL TOTC players. This is GOAT class company folks!

What could have been if he arrived at Arden Street 5 years earlier in time for the 1950 grand final?

Massively underrated. Does not get the credit he deserves as a footballer.

Was amongst the very elite in of the competition in the late 50's and early 60's, in an era when the likes of Whitten, Barrassi and Farmer were dominating the competition, and to give the uninformed some perspective, he beat those blokes as the best player in the Australian carnivals to win the Tassie Medal twice (actually he tied with Whitten in 61).

All 3 are AFL TOTC players. This is GOAT class company folks!

What could have been if he arrived at Arden Street 5 years earlier in time for the 1950 grand final?
He was so vocal in trying to relocate us to the GC that I think some amongst us are happy to forget him. Had several robust chats with him about relocation and he was convinced it would be a fantastic move for us. We differed significantly on that subject.
I have had a bit to do with him and he is great company (for a dentist). His legacy to the VFL-AFL is enormous to. Had great vision in setting up the basis of the national league.
True champion footballer, good bloke but tried to sell the club.

He was so vocal in trying to relocate us to the GC that I think some amongst us are happy to forget him. Had several robust chats with him about relocation and he was convinced it would be a fantastic move for us. We differed significantly on that subject.
I have had a bit to do with him and he is great company (for a dentist). His legacy to the VFL-AFL is enormous to. Had great vision in setting up the basis of the national league.

Yeah, I know, and his legacy as a player has suffered because of some of his recent administrative work.

He's not one to blow his own trumpet either, so his playing exploits have been somewhat anonymous for a few decades.

Yeah, He was very vocal, I remember him in an interview on the radio saying 'We should've chased the pot of gold on he Gold Coast"

Wonder if he's changed his stance, and what he thiks about how the club is situated off field, would be interested to find out!!

Yeah, He was very vocal, I remember him in an interview on the radio saying 'We should've chased the pot of gold on he Gold Coast"

Wonder if he's changed his stance, and what he thiks about how the club is situated off field, would be interested to find out!!
Spoke with him not too long ago and he still stands by what he said. He thinks we missed an opportunity to secure the clubs forever. I keep reminding him it would not have been our club. He is still a strong North man.

Resource The NMFC History thread