Resource The NMFC History thread

I've inherited, from my late Pa, a shopping bag-full of North memorabilia from the 70's - mainly Footy Records and newspaper clippings, at first glance. Not sure what happened to all the stuff before the 1970's - I'm guessing it got thrown out. :( I'm keen to scan and post on here if anyone's interested in having a look? I know it's not as old and intriguing as some of the things that have been shared, but given there's not much happening football-wise at the moment, it'll keep me out of mischief.

I would definitely be interested. I have a real interest in the old footy grounds and Arden Street seems to be the most difficult to find old photos of. As time goes on the memories of the ground certainly fade unfortunately. If there were some photos of Arden Street in all its glory they would be great to see.

How I wish iphones were around back in the day and I could take snaps of football played at the suburban grounds.

Barry Cable.jpg Thanks for the response, Old Shinboner.
I think this photo is of Barry Cable, looks like his build and mop of blonde curls. Is this taken in front of the Grandstand at Arden Street? Sorry, I wasn't even born then so I can't be sure, but hopefully someone will have a bit more knowledge than me...

Cheers, kangaroo7, showing my ignorance there. :D I just looked up Barry Cable's Player Profile in the 1977 Grand Final Football Record - I didn't realize he was 5'6 1/2", or 168cm. But, like I said, I wasn't around back then, so much of my knowledge from that era is via my old man's anecdotes.

I have a lot more stuff to post, but getting around this BF resizing of images so they're under 1MG is very time-consuming, and annoying. :confused:

Found some more information on the photograph posted of Keith Greig - apparently it was the winning picture in North's first Media Competition, and shows 1976 Captain Keith Greig clearly marking above Ricky Quade of South Melbourne in a home and home round match. Winner was Mr. Chris Stuckey of The Sunday Observer and the prize was a colour television set. :thumbsu:

...And on the reverse of that:
View attachment 36661

I don't know if this has been done before but I have located the full autographs of the 1949 NM team. They can be found in the Argus of 27 August 1949 on page 2.

I don't know how to post them onto this site but they can be located on Trove - digitalised newspapers looking in the Argus.

Players autographs include from that season- Eric Parkes, Colin Thornton, Keith McKenzie, James Bradford, Jock Spencer, Allen Crawford, Roy Eliason, Leo Francis, Laurie Shipp - basically the whole team from that time.

It's a terrific group of signatures, let down by my inability to put them on this thread.

On the page before in the Argus (from recollection) there is a 1949 team photo with the players named.

Incidentally here is the losing 1950 GF team for NM for which a lot of those autographs pertain.

B: Pat Kelly Jock McCorkell John Reeves
HB: Ted Jarrard Reg Ryan Les Reeves
C: Keith McKenzie Kevin Dynon Les Mogg
HF: Gerald Marchesi Frank Jeeves Don Condon
F: Bob Brooker Jock Spencer Tim Robb
Foll: Col Thornton Les Foote (c) Jim Malone
Reserve(s): Vic Lawrence Jack Hedley
Coach: Wally Carter

Thanks Old Shinboner! :)

Sorry, I have been able to find very little in the way of old photos of Arden Street. I reckon my Grandfather would have had heaps of stuff, but unfortunately I don't know what happened to most of it. Only the papers from the 70's and early 80's have made their way to me. I still have heaps more to post; I just don't want to hog/flood the thread and bore everyone silly. I have many newspaper articles, but once I upload them onto BigFooty they become hard to decipher. I will persist, however. :)

I still have heaps more to post; I just don't want to hog/flood the thread and bore everyone silly.

Could just never ever happen.

the more history you post in here the better the thread gets.

:( thanx for posting the above @RoOGrrl, a picture of my most hated white maggot ever, the illustrious Mr Kevin Smith, a more ferret headed, north hating umpire there has never been, i have nothing but bad memories of this former poor excuse of an ump, and up till now had completely forgotten about him, anyone else remember his handywork ???

Resource The NMFC History thread