Oppo Camp The Non-North Footy Discussion & Matchday Chat Thread (NNFD&MCT) VI

Dogs chase big sponsor

JAY CLARK

WESTERN Bulldogs remain on the hunt for a new principal partner to replace Mercedes Benz less than three weeks before their first game of the season.
The Mercedes Benz X-Class logo was absent from the backs of the Dogs’ senior playing guernseys in their scratch-match loss to Hawthorn last week after the luxury car manufacturer last year decided not to renew its three-year agreement.
The club is in talks with potential partners before a blockbuster start to the season against Collingwood on Friday, March 19.
It is a tricky time to be on the search for a major sponsor amid the COVID-19 crisis.

I thought they were called the Western Peter Gordon’s already.

We can't knock their off field work mate. Their admin in recent years has left ours for dead.

You’re probably right. I wouldn’t think Mercedes was hard up for a dollar though, makes you wonder why they wouldn’t renew, not value for money maybe. They might’ve done another Susan Alberti.
They were promoting the X Class ute, which is now discontinued.

There wouldn’t be to many dogs fans in the market for Mercs
Just like a lot of their supporters who jumped on the bandwagon in the wake of 2016, Mercedes have now come to the realisation that it'll be at least another 60 years before they win anything so they're taking their money elsewhere.