The numpty questions thread

In the Jack Crisp transcript, he mentioned his uncle played 15 games for Richmond. Does anyone know who it is?

I looked it up and there were 15 players who played 15 games with Richmond, none of whom had the surname Crisp.

In the Jack Crisp transcript, he mentioned his uncle played 15 games for Richmond. Does anyone know who it is?

I looked it up and there were 15 players who played 15 games with Richmond, none of whom had the surname Crisp.

Mark Summers I believe.

Grim – I don’t know but if I was to have a guess….

Damn… I don’t have to guess now…. (may I have my 30mins back?)

• I’d start by thinking it would be most unlikely his mum/dad’s brother would have been born in or before 1933 – therefore reducing the number by eight.
  • Of the remaining seven one is a current Richmond player and four played with more than one club – eg why would have ONLY 15 games with Richmond be suggested?
  • This leaves 2 players – Glynn Hewitt, born 1953 and Mark Summers born 1966
If I was to guess… and I am, I’d go with Summers [ZoBlitz I think would back me up... :D]

Re: Matthew Leuenberger

Just a general enquiry but...

When Leuy's fit to play and we take him off the LTI list, does that mean we have to demote crisp or can we choice between crisp and mckeever?

Quite sure we have to demote the player that took his spot, in this case being Crisp. That's not such a bad thing, because unfortunately Crisp is injured at the moment. We do get a rookie elevation after this round (like all clubs), be interesting if we use it straight away or not, and who on (some people around here have suggested it could be Wriggley).

I could swear that i saw Crisp playing in the shots that Ripper put up in the Ressies thread.

Can someone please explain the different type of kicks to me? Eg torp, barrel, drop punt etc. Are torp and barrel the same thing and how are they different from a drop punt? Is it the way the ball is dropped to the foot?

You and me both GG...you'll hear some commentator yell "Oh he's kicked a torp, he's kicked a torp!!"

o_Oo_O..er..what the?? ...they all look the same to me!:confused:

Next time I see you GG2, grab a footy and it'll be easier to explain.

A drop punt is a kick off the boot laces or instep connecting with the bottom part of the ball. The ball should spin backwards - ie. the laces and opposite "points" of the ball rotate backwards, end over end.

A snap is where a player usually "kicks across their body" where the boot connects, usually, higher up the ball, to get it to roll forward.

A torp, torpedo, or barrel is the same thing. It comes off the outside of the boot (so if I'm kicking with my right foot, it comes of the right side of my boot) and on an angle where the furthest points of the ball do not rotate, but the ball spins around its long axis - it literally looks like a torpedo, cutting through the air.

A helicopter by the way (my specialty) is a dud kick, where the ball doesn't spin end over end over its "points" like it should, but the "points" spin round and round, flat, like a helicopter blade.

A check side or banana is also kicked on the outside of the boot, but is designed to come off the outside of a boot on an angle, or to spin away on an angle.

I didn't do the kick builders program so don't quote me. ;)

Torp/Barrel (same thing, aka Polkedo or Torpinghorne):

Drop punt (the "standard"):

Cracker - thanks GG1 and Bob! GG1 you explained them perfectly (assuming you are right of course! :p ).

PS - Bob, I don't think I can bring myself to watch a Buckley video...

Cracker - thanks GG1 and Bob! GG1 you explained them perfectly (assuming you are right of course! :p ).

PS - Bob, I don't think I can bring myself to watch a Buckley video...

No problems. One of Vossy's best ever goals is in the Buckley video that Bob posted though - worth a look. :thumbsu:

I find myself in Hobart this week in a place without Foxtel, meaning I need to find a pub or somewhere nearby to watch the game on Saturday arvo. Does anyone know anywhere good, or is there a particular board on BF for asking for this kind of info? The Fox Footy finder is normally great, but doesn't list Tasmania... Didn't really want to make a thread about it on the main board, but that may be the only way.

"Copped a huge falcon from Reddo after being pushed into it. Had to have hurt, and I felt so bad for him. Copping a falcon tends to make you look like a bit of a joke, even if it isn't your fault."

Was typed in another thread - the numpty question is ... "What is a 'falcon'?"
That was from my post. I can field this one.

Falcon: To be hit in the head/face with a football.

Here is a particularly intense one from this year

Named after Mario Fenech (AKA the Maltese Falcon) who played Rugby League for the Rabbitohs. A teammate passed the ball right into the side of his head one day and the "Falcon" was born.

Trying to find the footage but having no luck. I laugh every time I see it - Mario trips just as his teammate passes the ball.

The second funniest thing I've seen re: Fenech. This is number 1:

The numpty questions thread