The off topic thread #2

• Thread starter Thread starter Jatz

i luv asians, all i said was that they are the main reason why the property market has skyrocketed recently in adelaide.

It's not really what you said, but you got an infraction so you may just want to leave it alone and move on.

No it's not. 80k is **** all even in Kyabram.

With kids, mortgage, cars, holidays etc you need more than that to be comfortable.

Myself & the wife make 130k / year between us. Not that much at all in Melb Eastern Suburbs. And bloody Centrelink are attacking Family Tax beneneft again.

I ended up turning down that job offer - something just didn't feel quite right about it to me.

Bit annoying about the money but I swore I'd never take a job purely for the salary. Back to slaving away for me haha.
Good on you mate. There will be plenty more opportunities I am sure, particularly if you've been head hunted?

What industry are you in?

Still in banking. At a big 4. Cruisy role leading a team full of people with ambition like I had 10+ years ago.

They need very little managing and I can delegate heaps to them as I 'work from home' at least 2-3 days a week. It's a nice gig with a young family.

The NYC job was with Goldman Sachs. Massive investment bank. Long story how I got it and what I did which might bore you. But think Wolf of Wall Street if you've seen it (minus the at times over the top craziness).
Wow. You've done well for yourself, good on you mate.

i luv asians, all i said was that they are the main reason why the property market has skyrocketed recently in adelaide.
In fairness chef, foreign investors - particularly in Vic, are the reason why house prices have skyrocketed.

Myself & the wife make 130k / year between us. Not that much at all in Melb Eastern Suburbs. And bloody Centrelink are attacking Family Tax beneneft again.
I don't earn that much, but my other half and I aren't on too much less than you guys. Missus earns a fair bit more than me. No kids though obviously helps us a lot.

My wife works part time, 5 days a fortnight. She makes 45k a year doing agency nursing. I make 85k a year in my role and it really isn't enough with a mortgage, investment property & 2 kids!!

I work ful time and don't earn much more than her haha.

Mortgage is on its way soon though haha :weary:

I work ful time and don't earn much more than her haha.

Mortgage is on its way soon though haha :weary:

She does agency nursing which pays a very high hourly rate (something like $80 an hour if she works on Sat / Sunday ) but doesn't include full time benefits. She gets nothing when we go away on holidays :(

There has been some more progress with our apartment - hurrah!

It appears our carpark issue has been resolved, the builder said this today - "I had to get the line marking done last week including the car space numbers, so we forced the clients hand in making a decision on re-allocating the single bedroom apartments to the stackers." Spoke to our solicitor, he just wants something more concrete in writing, so he has contacted the builder to get the his solicitor to put it in writing.

The MFB need to do their inspection which has to be done by the 27th. Thinks it should title and settle not long after that.

Valuation is being done soon, the louvers haven't been installed on our balcony, but the builder seems to think it won't affect the valuation.

So hopefully we are in by the end of April. Here's hoping! So close to it all being wrapped up.

What was in the contract of sale again Cruyff14? Stacker or regular car space? Hopefully gets sorted formally soon. Shouldn't have an effect on the valuation I believe.

Exciting times :D

What was in the contract of sale again Cruyff14? Stacker or regular car space? Hopefully gets sorted formally soon. Shouldn't have an effect on the valuation I believe.

Exciting times :D
"Not a stacker and a full carspace"

Well as mentioned, the builder got the lines done and forced the developer's hand and gave all one bedders a stacker, and the two's a carpark. Our number is painted on to the ground of a carpark so we should be right :D

"Not a stacker and a full carspace"

Well as mentioned, the builder got the lines done and forced the developer's hand and gave all one bedders a stacker, and the two's a carpark. Our number is painted on to the ground of a carpark so we should be right :D

Yes very good outcome. Sounds like you're all set to go, just waiting for it to settle now.

Yeah getting there.

The only other major thing we need to buy is a fridge. We know what we want, will just get it once we have a date etc.

anyone on here got a well informed view of the Melbourne property market? . Houses only.
Was going to ask the same thing.

With me living over here in NZ am I still entitled to the FHOG and stamp duty exemption for under $600k?

Could technically "live" in the place for the first six months too as I'm working from Melbourne every 2 months. If I really needed to I could get onto the AU payroll the company has but I'd rather not involve work too much

Was going to ask the same thing.

With me living over here in NZ am I still entitled to the FHOG and stamp duty exemption for under $600k?

Could technically "live" in the place for the first six months too as I'm working from Melbourne every 2 months. If I really needed to I could get onto the AU payroll the company has but I'd rather not involve work too much
good luck finding a place close to civilisation in Victoria for under 600k. You could live in a palace beside FAITH in Adelaide tho.

Nothing wrong with living in the country. Love it.

I'm a country boy mate. Nothing wrong with that at all but I never wanted to stay on the farm. JD doesn't strike me as the country type.

Yeah, im a farm boy too but didnt want to stay on the farm either. Not much difference between town and city life though nowadays. Both pretty civilised.