The off topic thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Cruyff14

I didn't mind her point about Japan, because the argument is valid in that sense. Using it to draw conclusions about our own immigration policy was ****ing stupid though.

I didn't mind her point about Japan, because the argument is valid in that sense. Using it to draw conclusions about our own immigration policy was ******* stupid though.
Yep definitely went full racist bogan after the question from Wilkonson about should the borders be closed. Before that she made a pretty interesting point that could open a can of worms, but at least it was a truthful point

Why should she be sacked? She's entitled to her opinion, even if it is bloody stupid. We still live in a free country so rightly or wrongly, she should be able to share her (stupid) views without losing her job.

Plus, now everyone knows her for what she truly is.

Why should she be sacked? She's entitled to her opinion, even if it is bloody stupid. We still live in a free country so rightly or wrongly, she should be able to share her (stupid) views without losing her job.

Plus, now everyone knows her for what she truly is.
The people who should be facing the sack are the idiots that decided she should be given airtime on TV for anything more than being a reality TV host.

Seriously her and that bloke special guests on one of the most watched morning TV programs? Geez we must be struggling for well spoken people if that's the best the Today show can come up with

Btw, it's not racist, it can't be. Muslims aren't a race, they're a religious group. She is a bigot an an idiot though.
She's not racist so much with the exact comment. But deep down she most definitely would have racist views and this was just scratching the surface of her true self

The people who should be facing the sack are the idiots that decided she should be given airtime on TV for anything more than being a reality TV host.

Seriously her and that bloke special guests on one of the most watched morning TV programs? Geez we must be struggling for well spoken people if that's the best the Today show can come up with
Well yes, that's probably true.

She's not racist so much with the exact comment. But deep down she most definitely would have racist views and this was just scratching the surface of her true self
Perhaps. Does she hold the same views for middle eastern people in general or just those of a muslim persuasion? I'm nitpicking with the wording but if it's just muslims she wishes to leave out, and doesn't mind letting non muslim middle eastern people in, then it's technically not racist.

But you're right, probably somewhere there there would be that mindset.

Well yes, that's probably true.

Perhaps. Does she hold the same views for middle eastern people in general or just those of a muslim persuasion? I'm nitpicking with the wording but if it's just muslims she wishes to leave out, and doesn't mind letting non muslim middle eastern people in, then it's technically not racist.

But you're right, probably somewhere there there would be that mindset.
Someone saying shut the borders to one group of people definitely thinks some pretty warped views of races as well. Whether it's middle eastern people or indians or sudanese someone who vocalises a view like shut the borders is going to have some ordinary views there too

You have no way of knowing that. If she's genuinely worried about these terror attacks, why does that automatically mean she has warped views of races that have shown no big threat to society (Indians, Sudanese etc)?

And yes, there is violent problems with some factions of those races in Australia but she seemingly thinks the large terrorist attack is much more concerning than the small minority of trouble makers in those other races.

Again, I don't agree with her at all but people love just jumping to conclusions to label her with terms that are either factually incorrect or without basis.

You have no way of knowing that. If she's genuinely worried about these terror attacks, why does that automatically mean she has warped views of races that have shown no big threat to society (Indians, Sudanese etc)?

And yes, there is violent problems with some factions of those races in Australia but she seemingly thinks the large terrorist attack is much more concerning than the small minority of trouble makers in those other races.

Again, I don't agree with her at all but people love just jumping to conclusions to label her with terms that are either factually incorrect or without basis.
Come on mate you seriously dont think she's just worried about terrorism and isn't somewhat simple minded after hearing her comments?

Not sure if she's from Melbourne but if she was she'd have some racist views about africans with the sort of trouble going on there with youth gangs.

Come on mate you seriously dont think she's just worried about terrorism and isn't somewhat simple minded after hearing her comments?

Not sure if she's from Melbourne but if she was she'd have some racist views about africans with the sort of trouble going on there with youth gangs.
Why not? She's a young mother and just watched them put sheets over a 2 year old. I don't have kids but I reckon that would scare the shit out of me, especially when this kind of attack in nigh on impossible to stop.

She's simple minded but that was a pre exisitng opinion before these comments haha.

I think at this precise time, a lot of people are wary about letting Muslims into their countries. I'm not saying that's right or wrong, but it's just how a lot of people feel. I wouldn't say most of those people are racist for having those concerns though. Obviously there's a perceived distinction between Muslims and ethnic minorities who are not Muslim at this moment

Why not? She's a young mother and just watched them put sheets over a 2 year old. I don't have kids but I reckon that would scare the shit out of me, especially when this kind of attack in nigh on impossible to stop.

She's simple minded but that was a pre exisitng opinion before these comments haha.
Simple minded is generally what a racist is.

Playing the fear card is a cop out. Domestic violence should also scare her, should all males be shipped out of the country? Home invasions from gangs in Melbourne should scare her, should Sudanese migrants be banned?

Think her simple mindness will lead to her making a few racist calls and picking and choosing when to play that fear card proves that she's deep down a xenophobic racist

anyone hear about that guy in Germany who ran onto a train in Germany and started chopping people up with an axe...cops shot him but wtf. They found an isis flag in his bedroom.
Yeah shocking. I think what we are seeing is copycat attacks at the moment. With a bit of luck they will ease off - but radical Islam is here to stay unfortunately.

Btw, it's not racist, it can't be. Muslims aren't a race, they're a religious group. She is a bigot an an idiot though.
It is racist because it's anti-Arabic. She's not proposing a questionnaire to keep out any white practising muslims, it's just those pesky Arabs.

I don't know this woman but I suspect there may be racism at hand. Playing on people's fears etc. But on the other hand I would be wary about closing down this sort of debate. Do you want a situation like what is happening in Europe? You want to keep safe - your children to be safe and your society to be as one (which can include immigrants obviously).

Different times we are living in now

Happy to be wrong but didn't she say she wanted to keep Muslims out, rather than keep Arabs out? It's a distinction with a difference. She may well think they're one and the same but unless she said she wanted to keep Arabs out, she hasn't spoken out about a race, rather a religion.

Take the Jews for instance. If someone hates the Jews, that doesn't make them racist. Religions aren't a race.

But anyway, as I said, it's nitpicking.

I don't know this woman but I suspect there may be racism at hand. Playing on people's fears etc. But on the other hand I would be wary about closing down this sort of debate. Do you want a situation like what is happening in Europe? You want to keep safe - your children to be safe and your society to be as one (which can include immigrants obviously).

Different times we are living in now
We've already had disjointed white youth join ISIS, these things will happen unfortunately with or without closed borders

Happy to be wrong but didn't she say she wanted to keep Muslims out, rather than keep Arabs out? It's a distinction with a difference. She may well think they're one and the same but unless she said she wanted to keep Arabs out, she hasn't spoken out about a race, rather a religion.

Take the Jews for instance. If someone hates the Jews, that doesn't make them racist. Religions aren't a race.

But anyway, as I said, it's nitpicking.
She wants muslim migrants not allowed in.

Muslim migrants come from certain countries. Therefore she's picking on a religion. Dont think there's going to be a way to implement what she is after cutting out just a race. Eg Iranian guy wants to move to Australia and commit a terrorist attack. Simple way around her genius idea, tick the christian box and get in and then preach hate or kill people. Or simply don't allow any Iranian in regardless of religion and there's no way around for any potential terrorist, any potential muslim who isn't a terrorist & also any non-muslim Iranian, that is racism isnt it?

We've already had disjointed white youth join ISIS, these things will happen unfortunately with or without closed borders
Indeed. You can't shut yourself from the world either. It's all about integrating these people when they get here. Some will still become radicalised though - but that's the choice you take.

Exactly this. And so to will some born and bred Aussies become radicalised. The human race is its own enemy not an immigration policy