the Old MCG

• Thread starter Thread starter brad

The new Ponsford "stand" (second level) is quite good though. For GA price you get a nice comfy padded seat and no need to be in the elements, unless you smoke.
When did this happen and how do i get it?

I only know to get GA bottom deck behind the goals at the Dome instead of sitting up with the God's on Level 3.

I used to love the top deck of the old ponsord stand....that was the best view around i reckon for footy...also had good leg room

The old G had a better atmosphere easily.....the new one is okay but i actually prefer watching footy at the dome with the roof closed now to be honest

Just been watching some old matches from the year 2000 and even earlier (needing my footy fix in this final footy free weekend).

Looking at the MCG packed to the rafters (2000 GF, ANZAC Day, Rd20 2000 Essendon V Carlton etc) I believe the MCG looked better appearance wise with the old Members Stand, old Northern (Olympic) and Ponsford Stands full to the brim right up to the very back and top, in comparison to it what it looks like today.

I'm not saying the MCG isn't as good with it's facilities as that is clearly not the case. More seats are undercover, there are now escalators in the new stands, probably better variety of food and more bars etc.

BUT with the old MCG I believe it had more charm, appearance and a uniquness that doesn't match up today.

Anyone agree or remember what it was? Those damn metal seats and wooden planks in the Ponsford.

What are your memories of the old G?

the coldest i have ever been is on the wing of K-Park in 1991 (or 92) watching Geelong v Mebourne....I played U/18's for St Mary's which is the ground right next to Geelong's in Kardinia Park....problem was i only brought a t shirt and it proceeded to piss down rain with a howling wind all afternoon....I stood there and copped it though....I could noy feel any part of my body on the train ride home....GREAT STUFF!....thats what footy was all about....the old guys in the outer yelling abuse....ferals punching on....the outer was real football and now its dead except for a 100m expanse in Skilled Stadium and that will be gone soon too.....very sad

or sit out at waverly pouring rain and minus 10 whilst the rest of melbourne is enjoying a nice 25 degree day. and sitting that far way from the ground you need binoculars to see what is happenning on the other side of the ground.

Definitely lost a lot of its charm and the view from standing room in the GSS isn't as good, as the overhang from the first level is greater. But overall I don't have a problem with the redevelopment; get a big crowd in and the atmosphere's still great.

I don't like what they've done with Kardinia Park/Baytec/Shell/Skilled Stadium. There used to be an outstanding view of the game from the outer wing, which has been entirely taken over by the new stand, and visiting supporters are now crammed into the forward pocket which is a poor vantage point.

Aren't we all getting a bit soft these days. I love the new MCG, but I have to agree that much of the atmosphere is missing.

I'm so old I can remember going to the footy with my dad to venues like Arden St, the Junction Oval and the Lake Oval and building towers of empty beercans to stand on so I could catch a glimpse of what was going on.

If the match was boring Dad would jump in a cab and go over to another match instead. Gosh, the old days when all matches were played on Saturday afternoon.

I remember having a kick on the ground after the siren, people having banners and signs all over the advertising, throwing toilet paper, the drunks, the fights and thinking that the damp, dark toilets were modelled on ancient crypts or something.

And whatever happened to the humble dufflecoat? I remember mine was so laden down with badges and crap I could hardly stand up in it.

However, as a parent these days I fully appreciate the new facilities. In fact I can't actually imagine taking little kids to the footy as it was back then like my Dad did.

See, I told you, we're getting soft.

I'm so old I can remember going to the footy with my dad to venues like Arden St, the Junction Oval and the Lake Oval and building towers of empty beercans to stand on so I could catch a glimpse of what was going on.

I remember having a kick on the ground after the siren, people having banners and signs all over the advertising, throwing toilet paper, the drunks, the fights and thinking that the damp, dark toilets were modelled on ancient crypts or something.

And whatever happened to the humble dufflecoat? I remember mine was so laden down with badges and crap I could hardly stand up in it.

However, as a parent these days I fully appreciate the new facilities. In fact I can't actually imagine taking little kids to the footy as it was back then like my Dad did.

See, I told you, we're getting soft.

Undoubtedly. I grew up sitting in the old Southern Stand in the early '80s (then standing when I got older) and loved it. I loved looking at the WW2 graffiti scratched into the walls from US servicemen, I loved the atmosphere, you name it. I loved how if you wanted a good spot you actually GOT THERE EARLY. As soon as the Southern Stand was replaced (and yes it was inevitable), part of that charm was eroded.

The old Southern Stand at the MCG before 1991 was my favourite stand anywhere.

Not just the MCG either. I'm sure plenty of people remember the old toilets behind the goals at Geelong, lovingly referred to as the "polar bear enclosure". Yeah it might have been grimy and whatever but it had soul.

I remember one game against St.Kilda in 2000 (pretty sure) when we were getting killed 80points plus, and it was absolutely pooring with rain. With the likes of Mark Bradly running around in the wet... it was hell.

Think it was in '98. Everitt ripped us a new one. I was sitting behind the goals in top level of the Southern that match, didn't get wet. What a miserable day.

Come off it mate, your a dee's fan. You would of sat in the members under cover with a tartan blanket on your legs. ;)

Actually, the last time I sat in the Ponsford was about 5 years ago on a rainy Queen's bday match where Tarrant single-handedly mauled us. Ridiculous ratio of Collingwood ferals to Dee fans. I learnt my lesson and never went back.

This is the MCG I would love to see.....

Believe it or not Ladies & Gentlemen, but this is the MCG back in 1878.

Mcg_1878.jpg

I cant believe they heritage listed the Waverly Members and demolished the MCG members.

Im glad the SCG Members and Ladies are heritage listed, close tie with Adelaide Oval for the best looking grounds in Aus.

MCG is now just generic, but still awesome in terms of size and facilities.

I cant believe they heritage listed the Waverly Members and demolished the MCG members.

Im glad the SCG Members and Ladies are heritage listed, close tie with Adelaide Oval for the best looking grounds in Aus.

MCG is now just generic, but still awesome in terms of size and facilities.

LOL.

I reckon Adelaide Oval is the most picturesque cricket ground in Australia.

The trouble with the G,is it's used for football.
Maybe we could've kept it's old charm and built a mega stadium for football.

Nah,love the G too much.

A bit of a bump, but I loved and miss the old MCG. It had more of a charm to it, when you could view the city from inside the ground, and it felt more like a true football ground than it does not. I like what we have now, but the old wooden seats (which beat bucket seats), the lack of a roof in the Ponny and Olympic Stands, and even the different coloured bays made the ground more distinctive.

Does anyone know where all the old seats, and other paraphernalia from the old stands, are kept? Were some sold, a la Victoria Park? Or demoloshed completely?