The oldest Cheer Squad and Histories of such

Port Adelaide
The PAFC cheer squad had its origins in 1965, becoming a proper squad with all the necessary rules and regulations in 1966, they Have supported the PAFC, since that time and were actively part of Ports AFL bid. The Cheer squad now has two arms in Adelaide , though most members are members of the PAMFC cheer squad and the PAFC c/s.

at one time in the late seventies early eighties the PAFC cheer squad had in excess of over 800 paid up members...hmmmm..loud and proud !

Ahhh I remember those days in the early seventies as a C/S member..coming to Melbourne on the train for pre season trial matches.. one year in particular, 72' V sth Melb at the lakeside oval of theirs...what a hoot !!! Cant remember exactly how many came over but it was in excess of 60 or so !!

Though not a member now, Im sure one of their current members can enlighten us somewhat more on their present situation.

PA1870

I was a Port Adelaide Cheer Squad member in 1965. I think it was a guy called Tony Noble who started it off. It was a very small group when I joined. It had only been going for a few weeks.

In 1966, as you say, it became more organised. There was guy called John Wilson who emerged as the chant leader. He was an amazing character and I was in awe of him. He had shoulder-length hair at a time when all "respectable" people had short-back-n-sides. And he wore a coat that was covered in black and white ribbons, badges etc.

What a bloody legend this guy was. In those days the chant-leaders were very charismatic figures ... or so they seemed to me at age 10 or 11. They used to actually stand inside the fence to lead the chanting.

These were also the days of snowing and streamers. Ron Elleway, the Port Adelaide full-back, used to complain because it was hard to kick-off after a point with all that paper in the goal square.

FAN-bloody-TASTIC.

But I hope you weren't trying to imply that Port's cheer squad was the oldest. No way in the world. It WAS the first cheer squad in S.A. and always led the way in that state. By the time the 1966 Grand Final came around, Sturt had a pretty formidable one too. But they were always copiers rather innovators.

But the Port Adelaide Cheer Squad was really just copying the cheer squads from Victoria anyway. The V.F.L. cheer squads had their informal origins in the late 1950s but started to become organised in the early 1960s. They exerted their influence on S.A. fans through television replays of V.F.L. matches and the occasional visit to Adelaide by the Victorian Cheer Squad for interstate matches.

My first real experience of a cheer squad was in 1965 at the Adelaide Oval, at a match between Victoria and South Australia. For some reason I was barracking for Victoria. (I always was a bit of a rebel) and I sat next to the Victorian Cheer Squad. It was a miserable wet day and it was one of those rare occasions when S.A. actually won. I think the score was something like 12.11 to 3.1. Very embarrassing. But the Victorian Cheer Squad was absolutely awesome. I was impressed. I was hooked. I found myself thinking, "Why doesn't Port have something like this?"

Lo and behold ... within a couple of weeks, Port DID have a cheer squad. I joined for the last few games of the home and away round and actually helped Port into the 1965 Grand Final.

The Cheer Squad was behind the goals at the River End in the 2nd Semi Final against South Adelaide. Port led for most of the game and were well in front at 3 quarter time. Then South made a late run and actually hit the front well into time-on. Port came again and went into attack. Umpire K.G.Cunningham awarded a free kick to Peter Mead (who later became an umpire himself) only seconds before the siren. He was about 40 yards out on a 45 degree angle. As he went back to take his kick the siren went. Spectators ran on to the field. The Port Cheer Squad gathered on the oval between the fence and the goal line. As Mead's kick came soaring in the tall South players were trying to get a run up to punch the ball clear, but they couldn't, because the Port Cheer Squad, including my good self, were standing in their way. GOAL. Port were into the Grand Final ... which we won.

In 1966 we got our act together. We collected membership dues and managed to make enough to make a fence banner that said "PORT ADELAIDE - OUR MIGHTY MAGPIES". It was a modest effort compared to the ones that the cheer squads in Melbourne had. Collingwood had a banner that said "THE GREAT HIGH FLYING MAGPIES - THE MIGHTIEST CLUB OF THEM ALL - COLLINGWOOD - OUR TEAM OF BLACK AND WHITE CHAMPIONS" I only ever saw it on TV but it seemed to stretch about half-way around the ground. Within a couple of years the Port Cheer Squad had raised enough money to make our own mega-banner. It said "POWERFUL PARYLYSING PROUD PERFECT PORT ADELAIDE - OUR MASSIVE MAGNIFICENT MARVELLOUS MIGHTY MAGPIES". By the early 1970s it had been replaced by another one which said ... in very huge lettering ... "THE INVINCIBLE MAGPIE MACHINE - ANNIHILATION EXPERTS". By this time I was no longer a member. I left in 1969 when I discovered the joys of getting pissed and standing at the back of the mound.

But I did sit with a group calling themselves the Port Rebel Cheer Squad in 1971 (I think) in the stand at a match against Woodville at Woodville Oval. It was there I first heard that wonderful chant:

ARE WE GOOD
ARE WE GOOD
ARE WE ANY BLOODY GOOD
YES WE ARE
YES WE ARE
WE'RE THE BLOODY BEST BY FAR

Ah yes. Memories.

Now I know a lot of people are going to read this. And they're probably going to reply with something like, "Who cares about cheer squads anyway? You losers are irrelevant. You're all just overweight dole bludgers, *insert appropriate vitriol here* ... etc etc etc ".

But y'know what?

I couldn't give a FLICK what you "respectable" tax-paying SPECTATORS think about us. Just sip your beer with your opposition-supporting mates, applaud when appropriate, bag your own players when appropriate ... and leave the real terrace culture to those of us who regard footy barracking as a way of life ... not just a spectator sport.

What a great post Alf!!! A PORT MAN AT HEART IT SEEMS!!!! Well...Port Magpies anyway!!!!

Great to see Alf! And im sure youd be proud to know Port are yet again on top of the SANFL ladder!

G'day Macca. Great to hear the old team's doing well ... as always.

And who knows? With your main danger in the AFL looking like we might miss the 8, this might even be the year for the Big Double. Can you imagine? Port winning the SANFL and AFL premierships in the same year. It would be a nice consolation prize for an old Port fan like me.

Originally posted by AlfAndrews
G'day Macca. Great to hear the old team's doing well ... as always.

And who knows? With your main danger in the AFL looking like we might miss the 8, this might even be the year for the Big Double. Can you imagine? Port winning the SANFL and AFL premierships in the same year. It would be a nice consolation prize for an old Port fan like me.

The big double!! That would be completly amazing!! Port Power and Port Magpies Premiers 2001!
Has a nice ring to it

I wouldnt be on BigFooty for a month tho...i think Alberton would be celebrating for a month afterwards and im afraid i would drink myself stupid in that time!!!!

Alf,

B]Father Tony Noble[/B] if you dont mind !!!!!

Yep sure is and he heads up something to do with the Anglican Church in Victoria I think !!!!!!!

Thanks for your input into this post...I remember the Rebel cheer squad, I was only a youngster of 12 then, but there was disenscion in the ranks
and the rebels were formed !

No, I wasnt claiming Port to be the oldest, I was just throwing Ports hat into the ring as a starting point and to get some feedback...PRESTO !Father Tony Noble .

John Wilson is still a member of the C/S, his younger brother Harold took over the reins from John and ran it for years, he helped guide it into the AFL ( equally long Hair) and Johns is still as long !

Now the middle brother Ian runs it in the AFL !!!!!!!!!!!.

I think Harold is now soleley involved with the PAMFC cheersquad as everything got too hard with the AFL C/S, he's got a bucket load of kids 5 I think and it just got too expensive to go to everything.

regards

PA1870

I wish we could still put up those long banners around the fences. They looked great 30-40 years ago and they're a million times better than the advertising signs we have today.