The on topic thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Jatz

Yeah I'm not sure what you're on about Cruyff. Just reporting a story that could have affected a lot of people.

Looks like a few of Leicester's youngsters will be in quite a bit of trouble, including Pearson's son.

Kuns easily the best player in the league and has been for numerous seasons now.
Hmm I dunno. It's out of him and Hazard. And I reckon Aguero needs to get out on the park a bit more. 74 apps in the last 2 seasons as opposed to Hazard's 101.

He certainly isn't 'easily' the best player in the league.

dont think there's anyone in the league on the same level as kun. it's a shame the rest of the team crumbles around him on the european stage cos he dragged us to the round of 16. only missed games cos of that knee problem too, unlike all the soft tissue nonsense before. i can definitely see him breaking the scoring record next season or the one after.

as far as forwards go, there's only 2 superior to him in my book. suarez an equal.

U20 World Cup on over in NZ at the moment. The competition usually unearths a couple of diamonds:

2013 we saw the likes of Bruma (Por); Pogba, Zouma, Kondogbia, Digne (Fra); Juan Quintero (Col); Jese Rodriguez, Suso, Oliver Torres, Deulofeu, Saul Niguez, Alacer (Spa); Calhanoglu (Tur); Stones, Flanagan, Ward-Prowse, Barkley & Kane (Eng) all use the tournament to either secure big moves or as a platform to step into their respective first teams at club level the following season.

This year it seems Brandt (Ger), Correa, Simeone (son of Diego) (Arg), Lopes (Por) & Pereira (Bra) will be the ones to watch. Anyone else worth keeping an eye on?
Who's in the England squad? Is Ibe going over?

Hmm I dunno. It's out of him and Hazard. And I reckon Aguero needs to get out on the park a bit more. 74 apps in the last 2 seasons as opposed to Hazard's 101.

He certainly isn't 'easily' the best player in the league.

Fair enough, to me he is. My favourite non Chelsea player and we came so close to signing him a few times:(

You mean one season. Since Suarez left. :)
Sorry mate, he's better than Suarez(and Bale) IMO.

No chance mate. Great goal scorer but doesnt do everything else that Suarez does. Suarez is a freak. Only Ronaldo and Messi in front of him. Kun is better than Bale though.

I guess its a bit of each to their own with those too, for me I'd have Kun in front as we always struggled to keep him on a leash while we didn't have the same problem with Suarez. Both fantastic players though.

..in what way?
How so?
I just read it as

'Arsenal winning means Liverpool doesn't have a conjested schedule so can actually send their stars to Adelaide'

If it's bias to anyone it's towards Adelaide United as the same consequence would effect Brisbane, but Brisbane barely get a mention.
I read it as because of Aston Villa's expense, Liverpool are coming out because they don't have to play additional matches in Europe etc.

Each to their own I guess.

I read it as because of Aston Villa's expense, Liverpool are coming out because they don't have to play additional matches in Europe etc.

Each to their own I guess.

I'd say Fox Sports Australia probably republished that article from The Adelaide Advertiser for the benefit of the 50,000+ readers who spent a lot of money on tickets to see Liverpool play in 2 months time, and might have been concerned that the match would be cancelled.. What's wrong with that?

Yeah I'm not sure what you're on about Cruyff. Just reporting a story that could have affected a lot of people.

Bless him, he's been delirious celebrating the FA Cup all day and has probably just realized he hasn't had a sook about Liverpool in 24 hours! Must've been a shock to the system.

This is an interesting debate.
2011-13 I feel Aguero was better, and now that Suarez has left, Kun is better now.

But is 1 season (2013-14........Well, 2 if you include this season, but it's in La Liga so not eligible for the topic at hand) where Suarez was better really worth the argument?

Yeah, Suarez was better for 1 season. And yeah, top 4 in the world that year I feel.But before then, was he even top 4 in England?

That's an interesting point, RVP and Bale were bloody sensational for a while there too.

Personally I agree in saying Kun is, and has been, the EPL's best over the last few years. Granted he hasn't been able to stay fit long enough to truly express this but when Aguero is on there's not one other player I'd take over him.

Suarez a better creator and more influential between the lines, Aguero a better finisher and more reliable 1 v 1 against the keeper is how I'd put it.

Having said that, Suarez's last 2 seasons in England were outstanding. 30 goals in 44 games to Aguero's 17 goals in 40 (2012/13) & 31 goals in 37 to Aguero's 28 goals in 34 (2013/14).

From the seasons they were both in England, there's very little in it but I'd split it as:
2011/12 Aguero > Suarez
2012/13 Suarez > Aguero
2013/14 Suarez > Aguero

I'd have Aguero just edging Hazard as the best player in England right now though. Outstanding footballer and it looks as though the worst of his injury issues are behind him which is good for the league and great for City.